We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name Fits - Le Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Name Fits - Le Grand Hotel”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you want a truly French experience, stay here and delve into old world service and charm in a new world state of luxury. We took photos of our lovely accommodations, and they look exactly like the ones posted by the hotel; everything is sumptuous and beautiful. The fabrics adorning the walls, the bed linens, the robes, the shower curtain and towels, everything you touch or see is elegant! Be aware that, like in many fine, European hotels, the standard rooms are tiny, but gorgeous. You feel like you're in a palace, more than a hotel.

We had the delicious buffet breakfast in the dining room and it was a wonderful, daily experience. The views from the second floor dining room show the vibrant area around the hotel. The Opera National de Bordeax is directly across the street and is busy with people entering and leaving all day. The modern streetcar stops directly in front of the hotel and it will whisk you off for your personal city tour or over to the discount shopping mall on the waterfront. Step out and walk to shops, sights, the flea market, and great dining. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIBMretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are thrilled to count you amongst our guests! Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us all on Tripadvisor!

Thank you as well for your warm feed-back in regards of our team, they will be thrilled to read that their efforts are so much appreciated.

We are looing forward to welcoming you back to Bordeaux!

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    380
    141
    80
    33
See reviews for
167
772
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Spent a few days here. Loved the gorgeous, ornate French style, but the rooms are a bit dark. Staff very nice and accommodating. Great location that cannot be beat! Right in the middle of Bordeaux, across the street from the Opera House.

Room Tip: Ask for a rom with a street view. Junior suite is a nice upgrade from the smallish standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment you shared with us on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the services and the staff, thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.

The entire team will be thrilled to hear that their efforts were up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit,

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Sometimes people use the word "grand," and it seems so trite. But this hotel is very grand, indeed. The fabrics and decor are marvelously rich. The staff tries to address you by name when you come and go. It is walking distance to many things, including the Opera, the tourist office, shopping and the wine center. The rooms are very luxe, and there is a fancy Nespresso machine in the room. The bar features a long menu and live music. The fine dining restaurant was closed as was the rooftop pool due to low season. Our stay was interrupted by a very loud alarm, directing us to evacuate. It would have been so nice if this disruption was handled better (like scheduling it differently if it was a drill or advising us to return to our rooms once it was done). It was still a lovely hotel, located centrally.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa!

The team will be thrilled to learn that their service was friendly and professional and you enjoyed being with us. Thank you for your recommendations!

Please accept our apologies for the fire alarm which was a test and someone should have inform you that you could go back to your room safely.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon,

Yours sincerely

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We are staying in room 449 and loving this hotel. Although the room is small and a bit dark, it is very elegant and has everything you need. The staff at this hotel are exceptional, very friendly and most helpful. Great location with tourist office one block away and tons of restaurants all very close by. The only issue we have with the hotel is that it is very difficult to find and drive to as there is no signage so we spent way too much time seeing the hotel but not knowing how to get here. The breakfast included in our room rate is outstanding with tons of choice and all delicious. There are 3 beautiful bar areas in the hotel and the outdoor patio on the square is lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelagent2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & SPa!

The team will be thrilled to learn that their service was friendly and professional and you enjoyed being with us. Thank you for your recommendations!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I think this is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in, it was so gorgeous inside (and out) and although our room was a little small, they organised an amazing dinner for us and a taxi to get us there. The food at the hotel itself was pricey but lovely and the spa (you have to pay extra) was gorgeous and we had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these enthusiastic comments we had the pleasure to read on Tripadvisor!

What a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our property.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a very beautiful hotel. We wanted somewhere special to spend Valentines Day and my birthday this coming Sunday. Arrived yesterday, perfect welcome, beautiful room, delicious cocktails in The Victor bar, fantastic meal in restaurant nearby - woken at 0930 by drilling and hammering. No warning of work when we checked in. I enquirer if we could be moved and was informed that it is work on rooms on the third and fourth floor so we would just experience the same noise if we were moved. Really not acceptable at these prices. Have been assured it will not continue over the weekend but drilling still going on as I type. Very, very disappointed both by the ongoing noise and the hotel's reaction. We are here for three more nights.

Room Tip: These would all be 4 or 5 if not for the drilling and the hammering which apparently everyone is cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miloumypyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pease Pottage
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Rooms were very comfortable and hotel had a lovely ambience. On our first day there was a fragrance being pumped into the corridors which was lovely - would have liked to buy some for home! Excellent Molton Brown toiletries. Some reviewers have mentioned about the hotel being dark although we didn't have a problem with the lighting. True, the bedrooms themselves are not brightly lit but the lights over the mirrors and in the bathroom were absolutely fine. For a 5 star hotel it would have been nice to have some complimentary bottled water in the room.

Service from all staff was excellent. Would have liked to try the main restaurant but ran out of time - maybe next time. We also can't comment on breakfast as we chose to go to one of the plethora of nearby cafes instead.

Bar was nice and live music added to the atmosphere although was a smidge slow on service. Also, management might like to suggest to the guys providing the live music that they vary their set a bit more - we were there on 3 occasions during our stay and heard their version of 'Skyfall' plus a few others a number of times! (They were very good
though.)

Location is excellent being opposite the Opera House and therefore close to plenty of restaurants, shops, bars and points of interest.
Would highly recommend and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 174 in Bordeaux
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Property: InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing