We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay at the Regent Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hotel is very elegant situated in a prime location in Bordeaux close to many areas of interest and some wonderful dining opportunities.

We were travelling in a party comprising 2 adults and 2 17 year old girls occupying a double and a twin superior room on the 2nd floor. Checkin was easy and very professional, reception had no trouble locating our reservation, and the porter showed us to our rooms. As per the previous poster the rooms were lacking in natural light, but were none the less very luxurious. The rooms are built around inner courtyards enabling interior rooms to have windows (ours had 3), albeit limited in natural light. However alternative lighting was sufficient, and the rooms were very quiet. We liked the oppulent padded fabric wall coverings and the very tasteful bathroom with full sized bath and shower, and seperate WC. We also liked and took advantage of the free wifi. We disliked that the double room (advertised as king bedded) was infact 2 single beds placed together with seperate bedding, but this is quite standard in a lot of Europe. Also, although stocked with premium products (wine was very nice), the mini bar was more expensive than all similar rated hotels that I have stayed in.

It will be nice to see the hotel when the spa is completed. The communal rooms are all very nice, with a nice selection of bars and restaurants.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2008

Hotel is in an excellant location opposite the Grand Theatre and beside Rue St Catherine.

I thought the reception rooms were dark and small on the ground floor, the bars were small - it did not feel like a "grand" hotel or five star hotel.

The hotel rooms were small although well equipped with Plasma (ipod dock) etc but one of the smallest bathrooms I have ever seen.

The availability of bikes to rent at the front of the hotel was handy but €20 is steep for rental, likewise €5 for 15 minutes internet access was ridiculous. Concierge was reasonably helpful .

Overall, this is an "ok" hotel which presumably will get its fifth star once the spa and gym open. I think there is no better hotel in Bordeaux in terms of location so if you are looking for great location then this is the place to stay. Just watch out for the extras and dont expect the "Four Seasons Hotel" or anything similiar. It costs €250 per nigh to stay here, its worth paying a maximum of €200 for this hotel per night.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pmggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We were very pleased with the welcome from the staff. Nothing seemed (even though they had trouble locating our booking) too much trouble. However the room was very dark and pretty much no natural light. We moved out of this room the next day beacause of the noise from the spa which they had just begun to construct. The next room was right at the back opposite Notre Dame and had lots of natural light. However we seemed to get forgotten being so far back and had to ring for clean towels and room cleaning. When we tried room service they called us twice to check our room number so it took for ever and was pretty cold when it arrived.The next morning they forgot to put the milk on the breakfast tray and we had to call them twice before they eventually brought it nearly an hour later. We would still give the hotel another try maybe we were just unlucky with a couple of things.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshirejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Outstanding New hotel in Bordeaux ! Design , comfort ,style , staff...evrything is perfect

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ron-Mayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intxaurrdonosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gentleman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank emanuela_cortese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#6 of 174 in Bordeaux
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $359 - $912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing