We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location at Bordeaux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A little outdated but nice hotel at nice location.Close to the cafes etc.No a\c at the lobby area and corridors (was humid at July then)but in rooms whichg are clean and simple.Tried spa and pool a bit small and not high end.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COZYTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff were quite welcoming and almost everything about the hotel made you feel at home. It is a charming place with dark wood and beautiful décor everywhere. The concierge among others were also helpful in arranging visits to wineries and giving us advice on things to do in and around the region. The Spa area is very nice including the Pool which is cozy. The bar area on the roof also adds to the pleasant stay. Other than the charming hotel itself the best reason for staying here is that you are in the center of town and can walk everywhere to events and places you want to visit or eat at. One thing I should say is that you should find elsewhere to eat as the restaurants in the hotel are not very good, i.e, none of them. There are so many wonderful places to eat nearby so no reason to eat here anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItMatters85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which is always welcomed in order to make improvements and modifications which would add to guests' comfort and satisfaction.

I am very surprised of your feed back concerning our restaurants. The Brasserie is one of the best of Bordeaux and our 1* Michelin restaurant is renowned to be one of the best gastronomic restaurant of the South West area. We will of course closely analyse all the points outlined, thank you for taking the time!

With our very best regards,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel located in the central pedestrian section of Bordeaux. The lobby and lounges are beautiful. The hallways on the room floors could probably use some updated wall-coverings and carpeting. It was very hot while we were there (around 90F), and the hallways and first floor was not well air-conditioned, but the air conditioning in our room was fine. We stayed in a larger (upgraded) room which was sufficiently spacious and nicely decorated. Our luggage was a bit delayed being delivered to our room, so the receptionist offered us each a free glass of wine. The updated bathroom was a nice size, but the shower diverter needed to be repaired twice during our stay in order to operate the shower. We visited the spa for massages and the massage I received was one of the best I've ever had! The women's locker room, however, was a bit small and had a funny odor to it. The rest of the spa, including the massage room, the Roman bath area, and the sitting rooms were well-appointed, clean and relaxing. The breakfast buffet was extensive with a crepe and egg station and the service was perfect. The Night Beach on the roof was fantastic and guests could take advantage of it to relax on the cushioned lounges and beds during the day or enjoy the lively, outdoor bar scene at night. The views from the roof were outstanding. Overall, a great place to stay in Bordeaux!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kroller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here when Newcastle played Bordeaux in The Europa League (so did the team!). Got a triple room for £150 so for £50 each we were staying in a very top end hotel with staff who were superb - especially on reception. Football match was rubbish but Bordeaux was a great place to visit and locals very friendly. Night finished off with a bottle of the finest Bordeaux (obviously) served in the hotel lounge.

Room was a junior suite I think - 3 TVs and a massive bathroom - loads of top end toiletries to pinch too! Coffee machine was way too complicated though...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CChris1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent Location, Room was small but perfect..Fun to sit in the outside restaurant and just watch
the people walk by..Concierge booked our Wine tours and they were outstanding.. Lots of wine bars within Walking distance.. Terrific restaurant in the hotel itself.
We plan to return.,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at his hotel, and really loved it. We booked a deluxe room, and found our first room too small. After discussion with reception, we were moved to a larger room in the same category. They were quite accommodating once we registered our complaint. The rooms are typical of an older hotel, but the most comfortable bed/bedding ever and the location is perfect!

We found all of the staff extremely friendly and professional... So nice in a strange city. The breakfast was outstanding and after the first morning, they remembered our names. We also tried the rooftop deck, lovely views.

I do recommend this hotel, but be sure to talk to the reception if you are not satisfied with your room!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first to assure you will be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Situated in the heart of Bordeaux, this 100+ years old establishment has the lot - charm, comfort, style, je ne sais quoi. The room we had, whilst not huge, was decorated with wall fabrics with matching upholstery, beautiful lamps and fittings - the colours are superb. The bed was embracing. Bathroom and shower excellent, concierge service excellent and if you don't wish to walk the few metres to one of the many nearby brasseries, sit outside the entrance and enjoy delicious entrees and main courses anyway. Reception and car parking are readily and efficiently dealt with. This hotel oozes character. Breakfast is wonderful with fresh produce and pastries. The price is quite fair for the quality of the product.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience and how highly you valued the service as well as the rooms. Our staff strives to leave everlasting memories with all of our guests, and I am thrilled to hear we achieved that on your recent stay.

I have shared your positive feedback with all our staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future, and I personally hope to have the pleasure of meeting you at that time.

Sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 177 in Bordeaux
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 177 in Bordeaux
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#5 of 177 in Bordeaux
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 177 in Bordeaux
545 reviews
1 mi away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $309 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing