We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Exceptional Location”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Booked this hotel at the lastminute and secured a good room at a reasonable rate, (no view from the room just a wall). The room was at the back of the hotel and a bit of a hike up and down some steps from the elevators, but worth the trek. The hotel is a five star hotel and the quality of the furnishings and general appointments both in the room and generally befit the star rating. The real plus is the friendly helpful and professional staff. Whatever you need they can deliver it. The hotel is located a short walk from everything you will need (office of tourism, main shopping strip, great cafes for food). The hotel organised a tour of two vineyards (Chateaus) at our request in about an hour, and the price was reasonable considering we had a chauffeur driven car and personalised tours of two great wineries. One amusing drawback was the wifi worked in one room of our room but not the other. We walked from the TGV to the hotel and this is not advisable, take a taxi or a tram which is nearby.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest

We really appreciate your comments left on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa!

Hopefully you will be coming back soon and we will do our best to make your stay the most enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    379
    141
    81
    35
See reviews for
169
765
64
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel looks fantastic from the outside, and is just as good inside.

The decoration in my room was fantastic and everything worked as it should do. The only thing that spoiled the experience was that no bottled water was provided free in the room, and a small bottle of water from the mini-bar cost 8 euros! That really is taking things too far.

Oh, and the key card did not work, so I had to re-trace my steps to the reception to get another one.

Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonePool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor about your last stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and the hotel location.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit to Bordeaux!

Yours Sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful and is certainly the best hotel in the city of Bordeaux. It is located just at the central square, across from the Grand Theater. We booked a junior suite, and they upgraded us to executive suite upon arrival. The room was rather spacious, with a great city view, very clean and comfortable.
The staff at the reception and consierge were very helpful - recommended restaurants for us and booked them several times.
The only watch-out is that the main square may sometimes be too noisy at nights on Firdays and Saturdays / holidays. The music and shouting may continue till the morning and would distrurb your sleep.

Room Tip: If you want a great city view - ask for the rooms facing the Grand Theater. But then be prepared for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor !

How wonderful that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and we appreciate very much your remarks about our team!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
133 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First up, the Grand is not a cheap hotel but, if you want to treat yourself in Bordeaux, this is the place to do it. Even the standard ("deluxe") rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff are very attentive and, unlike some other top-class hotels, there are plenty of them. The rooftop bar, known as the Night Beach, is a wonderful place for to have a drink and just relax. The hotel has a great gym and a great pool. I didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food but, otherwise, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa!

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor, which of course I have shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back and will ensure that you will have a memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Very central and therefore near all the shops and restaurants of which there are many. Good breakfast choice with expert crepe maker ready to please (I am afraid to say I had the crepes all 3 mornings of our stay). Beautifully appointed room and whilst it was a deluxe double, had a tiny bathroom so it was one at a time only. Good sized little office area though with separate tv so made up for lack of bathroom space. All in all, glad we stayed here as it was excellent quality and in a great position.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Delgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a fantastic review following to your recent stay at Le Grand Hôtel de Bordeaux & Spa.

We are delighted that you found your experience with us to be perfect as in your words.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our breakfast.

Thank you for being so generous with your comments. I will certainly share them with all the team.

Wishing you a wonderful summer!


Johan Gouraud
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
639 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I didnt actually stay here but thoroughly enjoyed reading the Sunday papers in their atrium bar where the service is superb,the chairs and sofas very comfortable and the bar snacks delicious.
An ideal way of spending a Sunday morning

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
508 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Bordeaux is a wonderful city to visit and this hotel is perfectly located for walking everywhere. The rooms are comfortable and contain all of the desired amenities such as wi-fi. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the hotel restaurants offer different levels of gourmet dining and are very good indeed. The staff are friendly and helpful in arranging for guides, tours, etc. The famous Opera House is right across the plaza. One warning: if you drive a rental car you must park outside the plaza and get the hotel staff to lower the barriers for access to the front entrance. Another caution: rooms overlooking the plaza have beautiful views but the noise levels from people enjoying themselves late into the evening are quite high.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#5 of 173 in Bordeaux
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Property: InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#3 Family Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing