We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were spoilt A beautiful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely staff - the rooms facing the theatre are wonderful, the location is brilliant and the whole atmosphere of the hotel is for you to enjoy your stay. The rooms we wanted were booked for the first night, so we stayed in another room (very small but lovely) and they moved us the next day whilst we were out into our larger room with a lovely view - breakfast was great, the atrium for coffee / drinks is relaxing and the staff couldn't do enough for us and helped with getting self drive visits to several vineyards - even on a Monday. Thankyou!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the theatre are worth the extra cost. Also booking through Amex gets you a ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenwal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor this nice feedback about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the services of our staff, our breakfast as well as the location of the hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bordeaux and please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you wish to come back to our property.

With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

My Husband and I recently stayed here for 6 nights during a 5 week holiday in France. The hôtel is centrally located with excellent staff. We arrived by train and took a taxi, but could have easily also caught the tram which runs right past the hôtel. The bar and restaurant are a bit pricey; take my advice and eat out at any of the hundreds of eateries immediately around. Access by car is slightly tricky, and requires coded access via a pop up bollard, so get detailed instructions from the hôtel if you have a car. Valet parking costs €35 per night. I found the furnishings a bit dark for my tastes, which made our room feel small, but sleeping quality excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Nice location across from the opera house and near the shopping.
The hotel is expensive. Our room was on the small side, but very nice. We were given a tour of the hotel and shown larger rooms, but they were very costly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstAlaskantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Bordeaux was quite different than Paris! thank god!!! the hotel is beautiful and centrally located to every thing . Very friendly city and top shelf hotel . we had a driver take us to ten chateaus and he was top shelf .His name is Didier Adam.Great driver! great guy!!! and very friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffreyb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

I am very happy to see that your stay at the hotel has brought you entire satisfaction. I will be delighted to share your kind comments with my entire team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back !

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were celebrating my 60th birthday a month early because our travel agent recommended we visit in October due to better weather. Upon our arrival, we were treated like royalty! Check-in was efficient and we were warmly welcomed by a manager. She showed us to our room and we were given an upgrade. It was lovely! It was spacious, decorated in antique French motif, and the all marble bathroom was luxurious. The room was just what we had hoped for in beautiful Bordeaux! I was given a little birthday gift, and we received a congratulatory note on our anniversary, which we were also celebrating. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful - the bellhops, concierge, front desk, wait staff in the restaurant (which has an excellent breakfast buffet!), and housekeeping. Service was outstanding! This is definitely the best hotel in all of Bordeaux - don't miss it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa for such a special occasion. We hope that you will never forget your last visit in Bordeaux.

I shared your kind words with all our teams and they were very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I live just outside Bordeaux so know this hotel very well, and have often passed bye or taken a coffee on the Terrace.

A friend asked me to drive for him on a Classic Car International Rally over 5 days, and one night stop was in Bordeaux with all the drivers and navigators using this Hotel so I accepted the offer gratefully.

I was not dissapointed with our stay, lovey surroundings, attentive staff and a location not to be matched, all in what I believe to be the most Chic City of France.

I note that on Tripadviser there seems to be many Americans staying here I am sure that it is most suitable and provides a glimpse of Grand Hotels in France.

Oh well for the time being its back to Cafeon the Terrace for me but with the views and location a treat.

Oh I am told the American restaurant oppsite is good but I can not verify this

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa for your visit in March and for taking the time to write a so wonderful review!

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding the services of our hotel.

Please be assured that I will share your kind words with our team members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa, we remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance you might need.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Brilliant location, great decor and small but luxurious rooms. Wifi is free however going for a swim, sauna or jacuzzi will cost you an extra 30 euros (50 for 2). This was a great disappointment after arriving back from dinner looking forward to relaxing in the spa for 15 minutes before it closed.

As long as you know in advance its probably not a big deal, I personally wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mekanoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guests_relation, Responsable relations clients at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Bordeaux & Spa.

It was a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our location in the very heart of Bordeaux and the decoration of the hotel designed by Jacques Garcia.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by the fee to access to the Spa.
Indeed, to access to the Spa there is a fee of 30€/person or 50€/couple for the entire stay. However, there are other possibilities to have a free access to the Spa:
-If you have a treatment in the Spa (massage, facial treatment...).
-If you book an executive room or a suite.

The fitness center as for it is complimentary for all the guests of the hotel.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 175 in Bordeaux
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#6 of 175 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
1 mi away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 175 in Bordeaux
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel

Address: 2-5 Place de la Comedie, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Spa Hotel in Bordeaux
#4 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $294 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Bordeaux
Bordeaux Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing