We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #63 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“No frills but quiet and clean”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I just stayed for the one night on my way from Valladolid to Rotterdam - it is right opposite the station, does a pretty good basic breakfast and the standard type of room is clean, functional and quiet. Lots of bars and brasseries in the area and the tram system close by. Polite and fast reception - no keys but a six digit PIN number to remember!

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    354
    213
    64
    27
See reviews for
122
214
161
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This Etap is a fairly standard one, and in terms of facilities you get what you expect. However we have stayed in Etaps before that were a bit chipped around the edges, whereas this one is clean, well-kept and comfortable. The staff were great, and helped us with one or two minor problems. Buffet breakfast again is standard (French petit dejeuner) but good value as you can eat as much as you want.
The location is excellent if you are only staying for a night. It's right by the railway station and there are trams into town and a bus to the airport, so travel is very easy. There are also several restaurants in the immediate vicinity so you don't have to go into town if you don't want to. However it's not too far a walk into town if that's how you want to get there during the day - 20-30 mins. I wouldn't recommend the walk at night as the road into town is a bit seedy - take a tram.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very good location within 5 minutes walk from Bordeaux - Gare Saint Jean station and tram station, many restaurants, fast food shop and bars near by.
Around 20 minutes walking distance to city centre, good for sightseeing, shopping.
Rooms are clean with tower, if there have boiling water kettle will be much better especially under the cold weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varied
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a basic 'prefab' or 'pod' type hotel with all rooms uniform and walls a bit thin. So long as you know what you are getting into, this is a good place. The front office staff were nice, the rooms were very clean and new. You can sleep up to 3 people in the standard rooms and the price is very good.

Very close to St Jean train station and a short tram ride or pleasent walk from centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotteuse75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our trip was not planned but was in response to my sister and her husband being in a road traffic accident. They were in two hospitals 80 kms apart ie one in Bordeaux and the other in Marmande an hour away by fast train. We arrived at the gare st jean and this hotel is opposite. We booked in explaining that we did not know how long we needed to stay and they readily agreed we could extend after the initial period. We did this three times staying for nine nights in total. The cost was E67/£56 per night including breakfast. The station is opposite the hotel and from there trams take you to the city centre in 10 mins and the hospital complex in 25 mins. Buy a 7 day tram ticket for E11.30 as the cheapest option. The staff of the hotel are friendly and amenable. The only negative was that on two occasions breakfast items were not available but we were last down for breakfast. Nearby are a number eateries and bars. It's a bustling area but it did not prevent a good night's sleep especially as we were on the 6th floor. We would definitely stay again. The hotel is at the terminus of the airport bus route.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for no noise intrusion and a magnificent view. The price is the same for a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NivramWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good basic Hotel , good breakfast , good price in front of the Gare St Jean . Not so far from this beautiful city center , maybe 20 min a walk . For me is perfect .
Ricardo Dourado
Brazilia Brazil
Bom hotel basico , proximo a estação de trem , bom cafe de manha , otimo preço não muito longe do centro de Bordeaux, uns 20 mincaminhando . Preferir um hotel a estação de trem . pra mim foi otimo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardodouradobsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 173 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint-Jean Euratlantique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Gare Saint-Jean
0.1 mi away
Aquitain Hotel
Aquitain Hotel
#85 of 173 in Bordeaux
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean

Property: Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
Address: 60 rue Eugene le Roy, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing