We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Une Chambre en Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Une Chambre en Ville
Ranked #38 of 88 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
326 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayec in a spacious studio flat with a homely feeling. Cleaned daily. Complimentary tea, coffee, refreshments in the kitchenette. Great location at the heart of Bordeaux. Free wifi. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The studio flat is very spacious, ideal for a couple, but make sure you tavel light because it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
61
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Some people may consider this B&B quirky (actually it is a small hotel with at least seven rooms), but I think it presents poor quality for the 130 euros/night per single room. Frankly, one cannot charge these prices in Paris, London, or New York for such quality. So I find it difficult to understand how they get away with it in Bordeaux.

The general state of the building needs renovation. Rooms need to be painted and bathrooms refurbished. It is also worth pointing out that the hotel does not have an elevator. Walking up three flights of stairs presents a nuisance even without luggage. The rooms have been done on the cheap as evidenced by the presence of IKEA glasses et al.

Breakfast is included in the price. Unfortunately, it was very average. Only the baguette was fresh. The viennoiserie came out of their oven/microwave. Juice and fruit-salad were neither fresh. Since this was it, at least they should have tried to get these things right.

Finally, the hotel does not have a permanent reception desk. They send the code of the door via email and you have to find your own room, which they do not lock. So it was a wonderful surprise when I arrived at 22pm in the evening to find my room door locked. I called them and it took them 30 minutes to arrive. They put me in a different room and insisted that I changed back a few days later. While I cannot blame them that someone else apparently took my room, it does show that their system is flawed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very convenient and central location. Huge rooms with very good amenities. Good standard of furnishings and lovely decor. A really good breakfast. The staff were really friendly and welcoming.
We would definitely recommend this for a Bed & Breakfast experience with a difference.

Room Tip: It's a bit difficult to get a really heavy suitcase right the way up to the top floor unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently stayed here with a group of friends and this was last minute due to cancellation of our train, this hotel made our stay in Bordeaux. It is perfectly placed for eating out and shopping in a lovely french street. The staff were very lovely and nothing was a problem. Breakfast was served in a delightful room and all was very pleasant. We would love to go back with our family.

Room Tip: We had the apartment at the very top of the building which was fine for us, but would be difficult f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebudharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Bordeaux middle of July, where temperatures were above 30 degrees C, so we looked for a hotel with Airconditioning in the rooms. Chambre En Ville advertises that the rooms are with a/c. so this was an easy pick. However, when we came to the hotel and checked in we found out that there was no a/c, despite the promises. In a city that often has very high temperatures, it is simply not acceptable to promise a/c and then not have it. The staff just smiled and said they were sorry!
Moreover, in the morning we found out that we should have ordered the breakfast already when making the room reservation, - so no breakfast at the hotel that morning.
Conclusion: Do not choose this hotel during the summertime.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel during the summertime, - only winther time where a/c is not needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urrugne, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I booked a room in this hotel because it was in a convenient location. When I got there, I had to lug my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs. The person who was in reception didn't offer any help.
On the first day, the cleaning wasn't done and on the second day it was partially done! They also didn't change the towels and blamed us for not having asked for it! There was no sign anywhere which said we had to beg for clean linen! The owner was condescending when we raised the subject! There aren't any duvets on the beds, just a topsheet and a bedspread and you have to take out old blankets from the cupboard if you're cold.The breakfast croissants and baguette weren't always the freshest! I paid 393€ for 3 nights and I think our stay wasn't worth half of that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed in the Grand Suite with my girlfriend and 2 of her friends. It is a lovely and really nicely decorated hotel. It's not styled like a chain hotel but it fits perfectly with the image of the city. Parking was free in a secure car park around the corner and breakfast was really nice. The staff were really helpful with recommendations of things to see around the neighborhood. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gambetta
Hotel Gambetta
#92 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qualys-Hotel La Tour Intendance
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona
0.2 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Une Chambre en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Une Chambre en Ville

Property: Une Chambre en Ville
Address: 35 rue Bouffard, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Une Chambre en Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming decorated guesthouse in the centre of Bordeaux. In an 18th-century house near all major places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Une Chambre en Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Une Chambre En Ville Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing