We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazaing value”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #82 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Bordeaux
1 review
“Amazaing value”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The rooms are very small, but the location and the price is just amazing. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank hildre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    90
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
17
90
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great hotel in the center of the old town; is a family business and the couple very helpful, the rooms are spacious and super comfortable and clean. If you need wifi go to the restaurant " Le Grand Cafe" (about two blocks from the hotel) order a cup of coffee (2 euros) and take care of your internet business. While in the restaurant try the salad de la mar ( seafood saled), is large enough for two people and is a complete meal (17 euros), comes with bread and don't forget to order half bottle of the Bordeaux wine. Back to the hotel, please make your reservations and enjoy your stay in Bordeaux. After arriving in the train station take the bus #16 (pay the driver 1.40 euros per person), exit in Gambeta and walk about 3 blocks to the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator. Book a room according to your specific physical needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restauranteelroble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Amazing location with very helpful staff! This beautiful hotel is small, but has so much character. It was easy to find and it was just what we needed. The rooms aren't particularly big and there is no lift, so if you travel with lots of baggage, probably not a good idea. If however, like us, you want a place to rest your head and not to spend your entire stay in a hotel room, it was perfect. Everything is within walking distance, including restaurants, cafes, patisseries, boutique shops and the sights. It was a charm and we can definitely say we will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A very charming little typically French hotel in classical style, clean and comfortable with great power shower and good quality liquid soap for hair and body in dispensers in shower and at basin. Internet is a killer as there is no WiFi. You need to request THE adsl cable in advance or risk another guest hogging it for the night. No English channels on TV either. But if you are simply there to share a bed with your partner, its ok. For breakfast, forget that Nespresso machines exist and dont be surprised if the owner pops out immediately to greet you, switch on kettle and disappear only to reappear as you leave the room. You are constantly under the eye of a surveillance camera so watch your table manners :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My companion and I have just returned from a 5 day wine exploration trip to St Emilion and our trip organiser had practically booked the entire place for our group.

the place is very clean and air conditioned, room size adequate to large for the type and sufficiently furnished with vintage furniture - wardrobe a bit small by modern standards. bathroom in our room was one of the modular ones they install in converted old buildings, quite adequate for our needs but XXL persons should ask for the top rooms.

The breakfast is a continental one but all pastries were fresh and more than sufficient quantities were available of all items.

The two lady owners of the property seemed very reserved and monosyllabic but their true nature appeared when our group returned in the early morning with missing keys or wanting the bar re-opened and they invariably complied without comment.

However for us two, we experienced their true heart of gold when we missed our coach to go to the Jurade Activity in St Emilion and after trying to find us a taxi by calling all the numbers in their possession (Beware, taxis cannot be found at night and weekends in the area) one of them grabbed her car keys and drove us herself to St Emilion and refused any form of compensation.

When departing, we mislaid one of our mobile phones and could not locate it before leaving. fortunately for us, the owners made a more thorough search themselves and sent it to us with the group leader who had stayed on for a couple more days

We will certainly lodge there again when visiting the area as long as these kind and gentle ladies are the hosts

Nadya Felice & Iro Cali-Corleo

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The location can't be beat, the staff are very friendly and couldn't be more accommodating. We don't speak french but we were able to get our point across. our room was relatively quiet and clean however, the bathroom is VERY small and there is no elevator. you get what you pay for and we really couldn't complain.

Room Tip: There is no internet but our room (44) accessed internet across the street. It was also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluefloatybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Hotel is very well located. It is a not a Hotel to go with kids. No elevator, no space at all for the pushchair and they don't have any cradle. The pictures of the website are much better than reality! The Hotel is quite old and is in need of refubisement. However, I must say that the owner is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1SONIA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gambetta
Hotel Gambetta
#90 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
0.4 mi away
Acanthe Hotel
Acanthe Hotel
#43 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#77 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Presse
Hotel de la Presse
#92 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 7 rue Franklin, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing