We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quaint if you dont need internet or expresso”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #84 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice and quaint if you dont need internet or expresso”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A very charming little typically French hotel in classical style, clean and comfortable with great power shower and good quality liquid soap for hair and body in dispensers in shower and at basin. Internet is a killer as there is no WiFi. You need to request THE adsl cable in advance or risk another guest hogging it for the night. No English channels on TV either. But if you are simply there to share a bed with your partner, its ok. For breakfast, forget that Nespresso machines exist and dont be surprised if the owner pops out immediately to greet you, switch on kettle and disappear only to reappear as you leave the room. You are constantly under the eye of a surveillance camera so watch your table manners :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    90
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
17
92
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gharghur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My companion and I have just returned from a 5 day wine exploration trip to St Emilion and our trip organiser had practically booked the entire place for our group.

the place is very clean and air conditioned, room size adequate to large for the type and sufficiently furnished with vintage furniture - wardrobe a bit small by modern standards. bathroom in our room was one of the modular ones they install in converted old buildings, quite adequate for our needs but XXL persons should ask for the top rooms.

The breakfast is a continental one but all pastries were fresh and more than sufficient quantities were available of all items.

The two lady owners of the property seemed very reserved and monosyllabic but their true nature appeared when our group returned in the early morning with missing keys or wanting the bar re-opened and they invariably complied without comment.

However for us two, we experienced their true heart of gold when we missed our coach to go to the Jurade Activity in St Emilion and after trying to find us a taxi by calling all the numbers in their possession (Beware, taxis cannot be found at night and weekends in the area) one of them grabbed her car keys and drove us herself to St Emilion and refused any form of compensation.

When departing, we mislaid one of our mobile phones and could not locate it before leaving. fortunately for us, the owners made a more thorough search themselves and sent it to us with the group leader who had stayed on for a couple more days

We will certainly lodge there again when visiting the area as long as these kind and gentle ladies are the hosts

Nadya Felice & Iro Cali-Corleo

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The location can't be beat, the staff are very friendly and couldn't be more accommodating. We don't speak french but we were able to get our point across. our room was relatively quiet and clean however, the bathroom is VERY small and there is no elevator. you get what you pay for and we really couldn't complain.

Room Tip: There is no internet but our room (44) accessed internet across the street. It was also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluefloatybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Hotel is very well located. It is a not a Hotel to go with kids. No elevator, no space at all for the pushchair and they don't have any cradle. The pictures of the website are much better than reality! The Hotel is quite old and is in need of refubisement. However, I must say that the owner is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1SONIA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is definitely a two stars hotel for ... a hefty price!

Yes, the hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the city but ... boy! The rooms are small and old; the bathroom is tiny (you can barely sit on the toilet seat) and you quickly feel claustrophobic. Service is kind but ... they really don't have much to offer.

For the price of €65-70/night, you might add €20 or so and find a much better place in Bordeaux.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trueparisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Fantastic staff - exceedingly friendly and helpful (although not much English spoken)
Great location - in the heart of town within easy walking distance of everything you'll want to visit - especially the L'office de tourisme and the shops! Be wary of the parking charges though if you have a car (19E per day for Les Grande Hommes, the nearest public carpark and 20E for the Tourny car park) and I don't believe it's possible to get the car outside the hotel.
Rooms - very small (barely 2 foot either side of our double bed) and although the general decor of the hotel was beautiful the decor of our room was very tired (really could do with some love!) but adequate for a short stay. The bathrooms are also tiny but again adequate. The shower was excellent and the rooms were very clean.
Breakfast - served as a help yourself continental buffet for 8E per person and the hotellier was on hand to provide anything you needed. It was basic but again adequate.
On balance, given the room was 72E per night I think the hotel was very good value mainly due to the fantastic staff and location. If staying longer I might consider other options.
Sleep - beware, we had a room at the front of the hotel and it can get noisy outside at night. There is very little the hotel could possibly do about this as Bordeaux has a very active night life but my fiance and I were woken several times and we're not particularly light sleepers.
There is no internet at the hotel but there is many cafe's within a short walking distance with free WIFI - I'd recommend The Globe in the opposite corner of Place Gambetta from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougydingdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hotel de France in Bordeaux is a simple family run hotel in a great neighborhood. It is no frills, but very clean and well appointed. The best is the service.

Some rooms have very tiny bathrooms, so if that poses a problem, tell them when making your reservation. There is no AC (and it is rarely needed), so Thursday through Saturday night has the risk of urban noise if you sleep with the windows open.

Quality / Price ratio is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank more2gofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gambetta
Hotel Gambetta
#92 of 173 in Bordeaux
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#77 of 173 in Bordeaux
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Presse
Hotel de la Presse
#86 of 173 in Bordeaux
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de L'Opera
Hotel de L'Opera
#106 of 173 in Bordeaux
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanthe Hotel
Acanthe Hotel
#37 of 173 in Bordeaux
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 7 rue Franklin, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing