We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not that great value”
Review of lierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
lierre
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We booked this hotel out of others in Bordeaux for being a small, frenchy looking and feeling hotel. We got that, but i have to say the room was a bit too small (we had a garden bedroom), even though the furniture, walls and bathroom had a great calm, relaxing, french feeling, but also modern and very clean. Another negative aspect was that the hotel price didnt include breakfast, but as far as we could see (we had to cross the breakfast room from the garden to reach the exit of the hotel), breakfast wasnt that big of a feast, and so we'd be very mad if we had paid extra for 1 croissant 1 piece of bread and some cereals. On the bright side, the location of this hotel is great, easy to walk around the city center with restaurants, and croissanteries nearby for a great breakfast and a few minutes walk from the airport shuttle bus stop at Place des Quinconces. I'd try to find a better deal (the hotel rate wasnt that cheap for a small bedroom and no breakfast...) should i go back to Bordeaux, even though there's nothing wrong with the hotel, but breakfast included is always a bonus i look for while booking an hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreVz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed in this charming little hotel for one night on a quick stop over in Bordeaux and found it to be exceptionally good for a 2 star hotel. Our accommodation was in one of the clean and simple garden rooms, which while small, was perfectly adequate. The room was was well presented, the bed was comfortable and the shower room was spotless. What more could you want for a very inexpensive hotel in a prime location in Bordeaux? Breakfast in the morning was the standard French non cooked fayre, nothing imaginative but absolutely fine to send us off on the next part of our journey, fed and watered for the morning. Parking on the street was not advised so we had a bit of a detour finding the public parking spaces, my advice would be to park in one of these first and walk to the hotel thereafter. Great value for money and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mopo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had a nice three night stay in this hotel. The staff was accommodating and friendly. We sprung for the 10 euro breakfast, but its the french breakfast which is similar to our continental breakfast. It was convenient due to the lack of coffee available nearby or in the hotel room. The area was a ten minute walk north of center city where the majority of cafes and stores are, but there were a variety of restaurants on our street and around the block. We loved the wine and cheese place just up the street with a cheese cave and excellent wines. We also liked the indian place two doors away. The public garden and Palais Gallien are very close by as well. We noticed that we could hear people walking around on the level above us, but that ceased when they went to bed, so it wasn't a problem. This hotel seems to have a lot of French travelers so it was very quiet. We would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stilts1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Small but clean and tasteful decor. The hotel is in the same street as several restaurants, and close to the very impressive Bordeaux "golden triangle" which houses the magnificent Grand Theatre and deserves a visit. The hotel is in a quiet street and we had a restful 2 nights. Breakfast was standard continental, non cooked but tasty at 9.50 euros each. We opted for it only once. Given all recommendable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18634Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My friend and I really loved this little hotel - B&B for the 4 days we stayed in Bordeaux. Its reasonably prices and very cheerful. Our hosts were lovely to us even though they spoke little English and our french is rather awful. The room was clean, and light and airy with light coloured wooden floors, pale green walls and a small balcony. The bathroom was clean, compact and had all the basics.

Breakfast is held in a little room on the ground floor - hot drinks, croissants, fruit etc. There is a fabulous restaurant a few stores down the street from the hotel that specialises in cheese meals. Racelette is fabulous there. Its always booked out with the locals and is very small, so I would recommend you go early in the evening and be prepared to be ushered out as more people come, or organise a reservation so you can linger on the wines.

For those who don't like steps this wouldn't be ideal for you, as all the rooms are up stairs - we were on level 3. We didn't have much with us, so didn't mind carrying.

We flew in and caught the bus into the city for a couple of euro. The hotel is located in a great spot as we were able to get off the bus at the end of the street and walk to it. Then its only a few blocks from the river, which is great to walk along. We hired the bikes which are located everywhere - meant we could just drop the bikes off, when we didn't need and pick up when we wanted. We went out to St Emilion on the bus one day - absolutely worth the day trip if you love wine and cheese, and wish to see a small French village.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The location is excellent and the hotel is close to central Bordeaux. We found La Maison du Lierre to be adequate but not really a 2 star hotel. It is run more like a B&B. The rooms are very small. There is no lift and it is a strain to carry heavy bags up to the third floor bedrooms. Free Wifi is advertised but it was very patchy. There are difficulties in accessing the hotel which is closed during the extended lunch break as a door code is required and the management seem unwilling to give this to guests beforehand. The receptionist suggested that we call the hotel the morning of our arrival to be given the door code, notwithstanding the fact we had an early morning flight and this was impossible. The breakfast room is pleasant and a good breakfast was provided. It was a little disconcerting that the person serving breakfast was also the receptionist and there were times when guests decided to take matters into their own hands and help themselves to breakfast from the kitchen when the receptionist was gone for a fairly long time. Parking in the street or nearby was impossible and we were forced to drop off luggage and park our car some distance away in a very expensive underground car park. Despite all of this we enjoyed our two nights at Maison du Lierre largely due to the fact that it was such a good location close to restaurants, sites of interest and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We did not stay in this hotel by choice- we were booked into it by contacts in France. Having read the reviews, we were dreading staying there. However, previous reviewers seem to have unreal expectations of a two star hotel. We found the Maison du Lierre to be basic, but clean and friendly. Breakfast was adequate and the location was excellent. Not for the unfit - we had to lug our suitcase up several flights of stairs. Not for those who really like their comfort, but certainly not as bad as painted!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireland_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Bord'eaux
La Maison Bord'eaux
#91 of 175 in Bordeaux
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 175 in Bordeaux
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cour Carree
Hotel La Cour Carree
#19 of 175 in Bordeaux
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#12 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#5 of 175 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lierre

Address: 45 Rue Huguerie, 64200, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Beach Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $138 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — lierre 3*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your lierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Lierre Hotel Bordeaux
La Maison Du Lierre Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing