We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but not so clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Residence Bordeaux Centre
1 review
“Nice location but not so clean”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The flat is well located but not so clean
some hairs in the bathroom
some dust on the funiture

but the small jitchen was very useful in order to take the breakfast, or cook dinner.

the decoration is quite basic but enough for an hotel !




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Damien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    61
    69
    46
    79
See reviews for
43
91
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We were a family of 4 - travelling with our 2 kids. Overall I would say that this place is great if all you are looking for is somewhere cheap to crash. Do not expect the apartment to function as a self catering unit since the kitchen is terribly equipped eg no tablespoons, only 2 teaspoons were provided, no cooking utensils except a whisk! When we asked for a corkscrew we were told to take our bottle to Italian restaurant across the street to open the bottle. Apart from Nancy who greeted us on arrival, all other staff were very unhelpful. Overall a 2 out of 5 and that rating is only because the rom cost worked out at 70 quid a night for the 4 of us. Otherwise worth giving this one a skip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shalin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

Perth
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My mum and I recently booked this hotel online for one night in Bordeaux. I emailed hotel in the morning whilst on the train to see when check in was and if we could check in around midday. I was responded to with a definitive 'no' and was told that reception is shut at 12 till 3pm. While we were in the taxi I asked the driver to call ahead as we were going to be a few minutes after 12. The rude woman from the hotel insisted the the taxi driver several times that they shut at 12 and no later. He couldn't believe it! So he pleaded and she gave in eventually. When we arrived we dropped our bags off and left quickly because of the unwelcoming atmosphere and also she was counting her precious minutes.
The room itself was more basic than we expected. It seemed like it was built or teenagers and it was advertised to sleep four but one bed was a fold out sofa and the bedroom upstairs had no door so there would be no privacy if two couples were using this room.
There was no kettle and hardly any kitchen facilities which is not what you would expect in a self contained apartment.
The next day we had the breakfast which was terrible. None of the food was fresh, no fruit just pastry, cereal and some packaged snacks. The coffee was awful and there was no English breakfast tea only herbal.
As I was hiring a car that day I wanted to pick it up at 9 and bring it back to hotel parking until 11 when we checked out. I asked the man at reception (hoping he was nicer than the girl) and he looked at me like I was dumb and suggested street parking as they did not allow parking for only a few hours. It would have really helped as it was my first time driving in France and I wanted some reassurance that I had somewhere easy to park for my first drive. I could have begged and grovelled ( I think that's what they expect you to do in France) but I couldn't be bothered so we quickly packed up and left.
All in all a very unwelcoming place with no idea about customer service! News spreads so hopefully this will deter others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have travelled from Australia to France 6 times, 3 of which were to the beautiful city of Bordeaux! This review is a true and honest description of my unfortunate experience in this Hotel.
If you are not adverse to the stench of cigarette smoke throughout your room...Then this is the place for you.
If you expect to purchase basic appliances ie: Kettle & Toaster (Albeit you have paid for an apartment) Then this is the place for you!
If you expect polite, helpful, and friendly staff...Then this is DEFINITELY not the place for you!
The only public phone did not work, and even after reporting this, 3 days later still not working, no P.C for internet access, so I felt totally isolated from the outside world, as the hotel was a long walk through dark narrow streets, to access these facilities and as a solo traveller I was not game to venture out at night. After 4 nights I had had enough of this very unfriendly environment, so decided to check out. On checkout, I was refused my refund in cash 562.00 euro (I had paid in full upon arrival in cash) and a credit card was snatched out of my hand from a VERY rude female staff member, who gave me the credit slip, with much huffing and puffing! After 1 week the funds were still not in my account,and I was leaving France 2 days later, so I returned to the hotel to explain this and yes, I got the same extremely rude member of staff, who argued and verbally abused me, in front of a hotel guest. Well today at home in Australia, after many emails, and expensive international phone calls I finally have my refund 6 and a half weeks later. I am an aged pensioner, well travelled, and I have to say, this is the worst experience I have ever had on my travels, if this was the only Hotel available in Bordeaux I would move on to the next city! No apology was ever offered to me.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel! Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

began badly,no decent directions to get there.On arrival reception closed and number given to get access did not answer,and then answered with a recorded message in french. thankfully another resident accessed the safe with our and another groups keys. On finally dragging ouselves to our room at 11,30pm we discover a filthy room, bed linen and towels not changed,bottles condoms etc. Could not get hold of city residence staff so rang booking .com and they arranged anther room which reeked of cig smoke. Aconditioning did not work.lobby phone did not work,and dispite all this not an apology offered.Just arude and offhand receptionist named pauline who just said it has nothing to do with me!!! did not even offer a breakfast as a way of apology. Just felt they had already debited my credit card so they didnt feel the need to provide service at all

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very difficult to find in a backyard, the room was ok but nothing more. The could have taken look in the room once a day to see if we needed new towels and toalet paper.
Ok for younger people that need a cheap stay

Erik
Norway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikbrun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrops/Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Arrived at 10am, but despite not being allowed to check in till 3pm, the helpful check in lady, who spoke good English, allowed us to leave our case.
Comfortable bed, 'compact' bathroom, no kettle, just two rings and a microwave, so not suitable for too much cooking!
All in all a satisfactory cheap place to lay your head

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.6 mi away
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
#76 of 174 in Bordeaux
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residhome Bordeaux
Residhome Bordeaux
#73 of 174 in Bordeaux
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vatel
Hotel Vatel
#72 of 174 in Bordeaux
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
#133 of 174 in Bordeaux
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Love House with Spa
Love House with Spa
#53 of 88 in Bordeaux
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Residence Bordeaux Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Residence Bordeaux Centre

Property: City Residence Bordeaux Centre
Address: 14 B Place Paul Et Jean Paul Avisseau, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Residence Bordeaux Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Residence Bordeaux Centre welcomes you in the area of Chartrons, at 5 minutes of tramway line B and so 5 minutes of the city centre. We propose you 58 studios and 22 apartments for 4 people fully equipped ( kitchen, bathroom, TV with Canal Plus, air conditioning.. Wifi unlimited)for your comfort. For one night, one week are several months, choose City Residence and make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Residence Bordeaux Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing