We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely hopeless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Residence Bordeaux Centre
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

began badly,no decent directions to get there.On arrival reception closed and number given to get access did not answer,and then answered with a recorded message in french. thankfully another resident accessed the safe with our and another groups keys. On finally dragging ouselves to our room at 11,30pm we discover a filthy room, bed linen and towels not changed,bottles condoms etc. Could not get hold of city residence staff so rang booking .com and they arranged anther room which reeked of cig smoke. Aconditioning did not work.lobby phone did not work,and dispite all this not an apology offered.Just arude and offhand receptionist named pauline who just said it has nothing to do with me!!! did not even offer a breakfast as a way of apology. Just felt they had already debited my credit card so they didnt feel the need to provide service at all

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very difficult to find in a backyard, the room was ok but nothing more. The could have taken look in the room once a day to see if we needed new towels and toalet paper.
Ok for younger people that need a cheap stay

Erik
Norway

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikbrun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Arrived at 10am, but despite not being allowed to check in till 3pm, the helpful check in lady, who spoke good English, allowed us to leave our case.
Comfortable bed, 'compact' bathroom, no kettle, just two rings and a microwave, so not suitable for too much cooking!
All in all a satisfactory cheap place to lay your head

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

When we entered the room, we noticed the bad smell immediately. There should be a coffee pot but we don't have. The facility is ok because it's an apartment-style hotel. You can buy the raw food and cook in the room. The location is ok. You can buy almost everything from Carrefour City, which is open until 22:00 in working days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

It's strange, I've got so negative impression and see review of other travellers, who are satisfied, so probably I just had wrong expectations, coz I usually stay in common hotels, not B&B or residence. So, it's not a hotel, it's residence, more for long stay. It's not easy to find it, as it is inside the courtyard, not on the street, so I passed courtyard 5 times before I was directed by nice local girl. The reception is not 24 hours, so take care about it in advance and if you are arriving out of working hours call to the hotel in advance.
I arrived to a hotel on Fri eve, 5 min before reception closure and staff was really unhappy to wait me and serve me, so not really polite or efficient (she started the famous 'song': It's France and people don't have to speak English here). The location is ok, 2-3 tram stop from the city centre or 15 min walk, there are lots of nice restaurant nearby.
The hotel doesn't have public areas (lobby, bar), you enter your room from an open corridor. Room looked kinda boring and poor, but clean. It had convertible sofa and kitchenette with all equipment. Wi-fi should be free, but didn't work.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

i don't really understand all the negative reviews! my experience here, considering the price, has been great. lots of storage, wifi, fab mini kitchen that's well equipped, nice bathroom. all clean. only pain was the slight problem of getting the keycard, it's worth calling in advance if you're arriving after 8pm to get the front door and safe codes to save you a hassle. other than that a pleasant stay. my two digs would be slightly uncomfortable pillows and the heating does take a while to kick in so it's been a bit chilly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Amazingly cheap so we werent expecting much but the room was spacious with small kitchen, fridge, etc, tv, table, large wardrobe. Nice bathroom with bath too! Good location near the quay so you can walk into town from here too. Overall a real bargain!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.6 mi away
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
ResidHotel Galerie Tatry
#56 of 175 in Bordeaux
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#28 of 175 in Bordeaux
969 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
Appart'City Bordeaux Centre
#137 of 175 in Bordeaux
492 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#18 of 175 in Bordeaux
853 reviews
2.1 mi away
Appart'hotel Victoria Garden Bordeaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Residence Bordeaux Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Residence Bordeaux Centre

Address: 14 B Place Paul Et Jean Paul Avisseau, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Bordeaux
Price Range: $55 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Residence Bordeaux Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Residence Bordeaux Centre welcomes you in the area of Chartrons, at 5 minutes of tramway line B and so 5 minutes of the city centre. We propose you 58 studios and 22 apartments for 4 people fully equipped ( kitchen, bathroom, TV with Canal Plus, air conditioning.. Wifi unlimited)for your comfort. For one night, one week are several months, choose City Residence and make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Residence Bordeaux Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing