We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Bordeaux River Cruise
from $23.56
More Info
UNESCO Cruise
9 Reviews
from $14.02
More Info
from $65.07
More Info
from $61.70
More Info
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
289
142
46
33
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
289
142
46
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organised trip wine tasting du vin beautiful city bread crew boat uniworld passengers lighthouse aboard viking gironde demonstration vineyards geography pauillac
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exceptional service, friendly staff, wonderful optional excursions, excellent food, and totally relaxing. The suites were spacious and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank johnaU2407EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We took the evening wine tasting cruise on our first evening in Bordeaux (7-9:30 p.m.), and it was an excellent, relaxing time. We got to see a bit of the river and of the city, and got to experience three wines from a single estate, along with very nice cheese/cured meats/bread snacks. A representative from the winery gave an introduction to each wine, and was happy to provide additional information. We chatted with some of the other passengers in French and English, and found the whole experience enlightening and very relaxing.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank FoxyBuckeye2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

I'm not sure why there are negative reviews about this trip. We had a lovely time on this vessel that was extremely stable. The staff on board were excellent with a very professional standard of service.
When "She who must be obeyed" decided that the main course would not suit, the waiter very discreetly arranged for the chef to make a vegetarian option, that she later described as the best veggie meal she had ever had. So overall the food and drink was outstanding,as was the service and I would not hesitate to recommend this experience.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

This is a long review but if it saves you some disappointment, it will have been worth reading.
We wanted a special holiday to mark forty years of marriage. Would it be another sea cruise or a relaxing river cruise in Europe? Having previously been seduced by the beautiful scenery along the Danube, with vibrant ports of call along the way, and having visited many towns along the Rhine, we felt we should go somewhere different, so settled for a river Cruise in the Bordeaux region of France. As I read the holiday description in the brochure, my mind conjured up an image of slowly meandering along a peaceful river with rising banks each side, playing host to parade grounds of vines in close order formation and standing smartly to attention, grazing animals, farm tractors busily going about their work and the myriad of additional sights one might expect in a rural setting.
Oh dear, how wrong could I be. My fault entirely by not doing more research but the Gironde is a working tidal river, shared with merchant ships, along mostly flat terrain and bordered on both sides by a screen of trees, broken up occasionally by a residence or small town but more than occasionally by industrial complexes, petro-chemical installations, landing stages, cranes and massive electricity pylons. Low water levels meant that the boat’s propellers stirred up the river bed to produce a delightful wake in a rich mud-coloured texture.
The positives: we were absolutely delighted with our river transport, the Ms Cyrano De Bergerac, one of the CroisiEurope fleet, which was only six years old and pristine in every way. Five stars across the board - cabin, food, crew all superb and all credit to CroisiEurope, who know how to deliver. Some people might find it tedious that every ship announcement had to be made in French, German and English but we felt it added something to the holiday. While on the subject of nationalities, we ‘Brits’ adhered to the boat’s dress code of “smart casual throughout” so were a tad surprised to see German males coming to dinner in shorts, t-shirts and deck shoes and later, dancing in the same attire during the entertainment. Standards!! (LoL) We were fortunate that there were small cruise ships visiting Bordeaux at each end of our cruise and that meant we were treated to the spectacle of the entire middle section of the main bridge being raised, to allow these ships to continue on their journeys. Leger Holidays did manage a few positives – a trip to the stunning Chateau De Chambord, en route to Bordeax, a scenic drive alongside the Loire, an optional excursion to the delightful town of Saint-Emilion and a lunch stop during the return journey at Amboise but, for us and other passengers we spoke to, they will feature more in the negative comments.
The negatives: The boat starts and ends the short cruise at Bordeaux. We were deposited in Bordeaux about three hours before we were allowed on board so we had plenty of time to explore the city. On the day before disembarkation we berthed at Bordeaux mid-morning and it was then “free time” until leaving the ship immediately after breakfast next day. Those that didn’t need to explore every nook and cranny in Bordeaux remained aboard. The cruise itinerary is obviously restricted to towns that have adequate mooring facilities. We visited Paulliac, Blaye, Bourg and Libourne and with the exception of the latter and possibly Blaye, didn’t rate them that highly. Leger excelled by taking us to Blaye on an included excursion and then telling us “Don’t worry if you don’t get to see everything, we’ll be back here on the boat later” Words fail me. The Leger party were the ‘poor relations’ on this holiday. In our cabins were audio devices with headphones so that you could listen to the entire commentary of the guide during the various excursions. They never left our cabin as Leger didn’t sign up to the vastly superior and exciting CroisiEurope excursion itinerary, choosing to simply take us somewhere, drop us off and then pick us up again later to drive back to the boat. It was galling when hearing what the (independent) English speaking passengers had been up to on their excursions. Leger seem determined to minimise costs and maximise profit. Okay, that’s what business is all about but to maintain a solid customer base, you have to provide value for money. “Join our included excursion to the Medoc, a renowned region off the beaten track where the most famous of all red wines in the world are cultivated” equated to driving along mile upon mile of road with thousands of acres of vineyards as far as the eye could see and the occasional stop to photograph the chateau of a rich wine producer. Driver – “Let’s see where this road takes us” or even better “Do you want to turn right or left at the next junction?” Again, words fail me. Finally, and the major disappointment for most of the passengers. Leger brochure – “Join an optional excursion to the world-famous ‘wine’ village of Saint-Emilion, and to a local wine estate where you can sample the wines”. Excellent, one doesn’t visit one of the premier wine producing regions in Europe without sampling the ‘produce”. Wrong if you go with Leger! No explanation given and not a hint of an apology by the driver but simply informed in a matter of fact way that there would be no wine tasting – just transport to and from Saint-Emilion. Several passengers withdrew from the tour in disgust but, wanting to see the town, we suppressed our anger and stuck with it. A good decision, as the town is a “must visit” if you are in the area.

To summarise, an expensive holiday that failed to provide full value for money. We could have enjoyed a decent sea cruise for the same outlay so although there were many pleasing aspects, we have returned home feeling significantly less than fulfilled.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

The afternoon trip on the river was wonderful, understood Bordeaux from another angle.
It is a beautiful city with an amazing history and most interesting to be viewed from the river, The boat trip was smooth and interesting commentary, could be a little more explaining of area and buildings.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews