We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Deluxe personalized tours

Imagine two couples with a private escort in a Mercedes touring the Bordeaux wine country with... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2019
Wongeats
,
Vienna, Virginia
via mobile
Dordogne region

Our group of 3 couples toured the beautiful Dordogne region with its pretty towns and villages on a... read more

Reviewed July 13, 2019
plkpl
,
Singapore
via mobile
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
155
3
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
155
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john mears wine classes self drive hassle free vacation french countryside hotel accommodations michelin star bordeaux wine country winery visits wine blending two couples itinerary liao tours region scheduling wineries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 160 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2015

I have gone around the world several times but no tour was ever so fabulously put together as by John Mears of Gourmet Touring. Not one detail was overlooked. From booking seriously great vineyard tastings (Yquem, Mouton-Rothschild, Lynch-Bages, Clinet, etc) and picking famed or out-of-the-way foodie gems to meticulously planning every stop while making perfect geographical sense, John covered it all. From meet-and-greet at the airport, easy-to-read guidebooks and perfectly programmed GPS to guidelines about driving in France, every detail was considered and clearly outlined. Navigating around Bordeaux was nearly as easy as getting around home turf. Background to each stop was provided. Each text request for extra directions, restaurant booking and more was replied immediately. It was a fabulously planned week. We relied on John Mears and he came through big time. One could not ask for more.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

This is the first time I've heard of self-directed driving tours, curated by an expert and led by a programmed GPS - it's a fantastic way to travel. John & Gourmet Touring have deep relationships in the region, and they put together an incredible 5 days for us. He was highly recommended to us, and we've already started recommended him as well.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank tedcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2015

Great 3 day experience in Bordeaux. John went above and beyond on his recommendations. Very friendly and easy to talk to. We would recommend him to anyone not looking for the "typical" group tour.
Thanks John!!

Brian

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Brianmcpartlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

First time user of Gourmet Touring and John does not disappoint. Attention to detail from car rentals, hotel accommodations, private tours and our other transportation needs - great job from start to finish. We look forward to coming back next year!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2015

I arranged a 3 day self driving tour with my family of 8 in early June. John was very responsive with his emails and phone calls so it was painless arranging the Bordeaux leg of the trip. Although it is advertised as a premium touring experience, the price of the tour was very reasonable. I didn't have a big budget and John helped me to book 2 cars, 2 paid for meals (incl a 2 Michelin star dinner), 1 wine class, 4 chateau tour and a St Emilion City tour. The guidebook John sent me 2 weeks before the trip had every detail that I needed to know about the trip and included a few suggestions on other dinner places which is absolutely fantastic.
John, sorry we didn't get to meet in St Emilion. It would have been nice to catch up!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank gehwee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews