We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and in an awesome part of the city”
Review of Porte Cailhau

Porte Cailhau
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.51*
and up
Self-Guided Bordeaux City Sightseeing Tour in an Electric Vehicle with La Cité...
More Info
$35.85*
and up
Bordeaux Segway Tour
More Info
$34.66*
and up
Self-Guided Bordeaux City Sightseeing Tour in an Electric Vehicle
Ranked #12 of 206 things to do in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Port Cailhau, thirty-five metres tall, was integrated into the city walls. In 1864, it was rented by a public letter writer and a person whose job was to weigh salt. They were both evicted in order to renovate the monument. There is a magnificent view of the oldest bridge in Bordeaux, the Pont de Pierre, from here.
Northern New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Pretty and in an awesome part of the city”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We happened to stumble upon this jewel of an attraction while walking into some popular regions of the city and it was a nice piece of architecture. We truly got the feel of Bordeaux and its history just by looking at the Porte Cailhau for a couple of minutes. This attraction is in an awesome part of town!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    236
    45
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“More beautiful from the outside”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Porte impressed us from the outside; we managed to take a few good photos of it and enjoyed reading the poetry about Eleanor's marriage which united the English and French thrones, but once we climbed up the stairs, we were slightly underwhelmed. The first level was free, and quite informative, but nothing that's probably not on Wikipedia already. To go upstairs, there was a fee and like other reviewers, we didn't think it was worth it.
The spiral stairs are very narrow, so people with mobility issues may find it a bit of a challenge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FordPrefectII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is an impressive monument -- both during the day and at night. We created a walking tour of Bordeaux, and this was one of our stops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerteventura
Level 6 Contributor
889 reviews
365 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
“Very impressive but not in the same league as the Grosse Cloche”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

As the title says this was an impressive and quite unique sight but it was not quite in the same league as the Grosse Cloche. Walking through the Porte Cailhau takes you into a very nice area in old Bordeaux.

My individual reviews have to be seen in the following context.
We had a long weekend in Bordeaux recently and really enjoyed it. The sum of the whole experience was greater than the sum of the individual parts. The many sights in the old part of the city are quite close together. We enjoyed walking around supplemented by the excellent and very cheap tram system. We felt that none of the sights, with perhaps one or two exceptions, were outstanding. What was outstanding was the number of very interesting and worthwhile things to see in such a compact area. Apart from the individual sights, the old part of the town was both very attractive and atmospheric and even some of the more outlying areas were quite attractive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
369 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“A small monument”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nothing much to get excited about. See the attached photo. That is it. A climb up the narrow stairs got us to the reception. A further climb beyond that requires a fee, but we decided it was not worth it. The guy at the reception was falling asleep due to boredom.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porte Cailhau also viewed

 

Been to Porte Cailhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing