We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must during any visit to Bordeaux”
Review of Bar a Vin

Bar a Vin
Ranked #1 of 51 Nightlife in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a must during any visit to Bordeaux”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent 5 nights in Bordeaux and we visited Bar a Vin 2 evenings. Its a fun place to visit, and the staff are most helpful. It was great to try out wines we would normally not try as you can buy the wines in such small ammounts. The fod is pretty good also. Will deffo be back, keep up the good work Bar a Vin we loved you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovemyholidays80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    44
    10
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing quality wine at low prices”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in Bordeaux with 2 of my friends who live there. They took me to this bar and i fell in love instantly. The bar is very modern and very well decorated and is very comfy. The wine list only has Bordeaux wines but what more can you want when you are in Bordeaux which is a region renowned for its wine! The wine is very good and very cheap 2-4 euros a glass. Would recommend this to anyone!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonmarc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great wines great value”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This wine bar specializes in Bordeaux wine and offers a great selection at a very good price. They change the wine list regularly and the price per glass ranges from 2.50euros to about 6.00 euros. It's comfortable, well located right in the heart of downtown and large enough that you can usually get a table without a long wait. It's not a noisy, crammed bar atmosphere, but rather a nice cafe style atmosphere. We love it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“A superb relaxing place”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We found this place completely by accident whilst walking around Bordeaux. It is beautifully decorated inside with lots of places to sit, either at a table or on comfortable chairs.
The staff are very warm, friendly and knowledgable about the wines they offer. We arrived at about 5:30pm and when we left at 7pm, as other guests were queueing for tables. We were not rushed or made to feel pressured into ordering more wine, but when we wanted something, the staff were there to assist very quickly.
The interior is very smart and stylish too.
They don't offer food as such, just small plates of meat or cheese to accompany your wine.
A great place to go for couples or friends who want a nice glass or two of very good wine in a great atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A place to linger.....”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Thus is an unusual place that is all at once a wine bar, tasting bar, and wine education centre right across the street from the tourist office. We frequented it each day while in Bordeaux to sample a wide variety of very good wines without having to commit to full bottles. Our group of 4 bought rounds of different wines (full and generous serves) at what must be, in some cases, subsidized rates, and then shared them. Some of the wines were absolutely top notch, such as St Emilion and Pomerol reds, which were memorable. They also serve cheese platters and other nibbles which are, again, high quality and help with palate cleansing. The interior design is beautiful and the seating luxurious and comfortable. In fact it's damn hard to drag yourself away from this place!! A must do in Bordeaux. Linger....

Helpful?
Thank Hyndsight2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar a Vin also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Bar a Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing