We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, lovely staff and decent food”
Review of Seang Thai

Seang Thai
Ranked #190 of 3,023 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 9, 2018

Other reviewers are right in that the menu is mostly Westernised Chinese food, but has some Thai dishes. The food is served quick and the portions are decent for the relatively low prices. The best part of the experience is the staff, who are friendly and attentive. They made us smile as they joked around with us. Everyone got a Kinder Bueno for dessert, which was a real nice addition. Thank you!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank autumnistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2017

We went to this restaurant expecting Thai food but it is really a Chinese restaurant with a smattering of Thai-style and Vietnamese dishes. If you want a Thai papaya salad or even a ubiquitous Pad Thai, you won't find them here. The staff all appear to be Chinese and some of the decor is Chinese. It's not at all clear why the restaurant has been branded as Thai.

However, the restaurant was extremely busy when we visited. A sign out front says that the restaurant can seat 100 persons and they were full, turning away would-be customers.

The staff are friendly and helpful, which is the strong point of the restaurant. They also speak English and can provide menus in English which was helpful for us.

I found my food to be OK, but not outstanding, whilst my wife thought hers was delicious. I wouldn't return.

As a Chinese restaurant, I might rate it as 'very good' but as a Thai restaurant I can only rate it as average. And that rating is more based on the excellent staff than the food, as there really wasn't much Thai food to pick from.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

We had a very ordinary Chinese style meal at this restaurant. The food did not reflect the interesting flavours or the attractive presentation that we've enjoyed at more authentic Thai restaurants in various countries. We would never return to this restaurant and cannot recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel-Lightbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

If you are looking for a low price asian restaurant with good enough food, you will certainly enjoy this restaurant. If you are looking for real Thai food then you should certainly go somewhere else.
Unbeatable quality price ratio since prices are really affordable.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Elia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

I couldn't figure out why this is billed as a Thai restaurant. Menu reads like a Chinese restaurant. Service efficient and friendly but the food was just ok. Very basic inside. Ok for a cheap, fast eat.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 263johnnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seang Thai also viewed

Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Seang Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing