We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quirky Comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Invitation Au Voyage
Ranked #26 of 88 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Quirky Comfortable B&B”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We discovered this place on the web and were intrigued so decided to spend our two nights in Bordeaux there. It is a small B&B, but set up inside more like a regular hotel. The welcome from the owner, Fabrice was extraordinarily warm. Our room was small (like most French hotel rooms), although some are bigger, but comfortable and tastefully decorated. It had airconditioning which worked well which was a relief because Bordeaux was having a heatwave. Breakfast which is included in the rate is taken downstairs at a large shared table so you get to meet other guests which was nice.

L'invitation is very centrally located, is secure, sparklingly clean, comfortable and the assistance of the owner in finding things like good restaurants is most welcome. It is an excellent choice for a stay in Bordeaux.

Room Tip: The front rooms appear to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
44
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fabrice was an excellent host - helped us out in many ways, including recommending a very good restaurant. Lovely restored building, nicely decorated room. Highly recommend it. It was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culcheth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pick this B&B based upon other reviewers' comments and we were not disappointed. Tuck away from the main street, but in easy walking distance of the main locations, our room was beautiful, bed very comfortable and very where very clean. Breakfast simple but good and Fabrice is a very attentive host.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Warrington_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fabulous place to stay right in Bordeaux. 17th century historical building, Very tastefully decorated with superb amenities ! Fabrice is very helpful and a superb host. Enjoy , Bordeaux is a wonderful city !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had such a great stay in Bordeaux and only wish we could have stayed for a few more nights. But we certainly packed in a lot while we were there and this was helped along by the owner Fabrice who gave us lots of good local tips and information and was exceedingly helpful. He was very friendly and approachable and made us feel very comfortable in the apartment. The apartment itself was two bedrooms although the children's room with two bunks was an annexed room at the back of the apartment. It had its own heating and the children were very comfortable. The main apartment was well equipped and modern and very clean. There was no balcony on this apartment but not much of view to be seen down the little street anyway. There was a comfortable pull out sofa bed in the lounge for my daughter which was nicely made up for us on our arrival.
car parking is available just around the corner, quite a few flights of narrow stairs to get up to the apartment so we only took what we needed up for one night. No washing machine but it wasn't advertised with one, just for info rather than a criticism.
Breakfast was provided and was very nice, with plenty of nice jams to go with the bread and croissants. Cold breakfasts are very common in europe so don't be expecting anything cooked. There was sufficient for everyone and Fabrice was very attentive.
Great town to visit, give yourself at least 2 or 3 days and get out on foot and enjoy walking around from this excellent apartment in a very good location for exploring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and Fabrice, the owner could not have been more helpful. We had a beautiful, light, large front room with a balcony overlooking the street. The room could not have been nicer, comfortable beds, adjustable room heating [not a feature in many French hotels], large bathroom with separate toilet, wardrobe with ironing board and iron, microwave and fridge. The only downside was that as we were there over the weekend, the street was quite noisy with party-goers. The breakfasts were nice with home baked pastries, bread and croissants, yoghurt, orange juice and tea or coffee. There are numerous restaurants nearby and the tram stop is only a short distance away although it is quite easy to walk everywhere in Bordeaux. It is also only a couple of blocks from the Museum of History, which was fascinating---worth several visits as it is so big.

Room Tip: Away from the street for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubbspainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A charming building full of interesting objects, tastefully furnished with extremely comfortable beds. Our room overlooked a central courtyard and was extremely quiet. Ideally situated in the centre of the city for sightseeing and visiting the surrounding vinyards. We stayed two nights so the secure parking was a bonus. The owner is very charming and helpfull with a wealth of knowledge of Bordeaux and is only too pleased to spend time with you to recommend places of interest, restaurants etc., I can recommend his recommendations the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.1 mi away
La Halte Montaigne
La Halte Montaigne
#2 of 88 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.8 mi away
A blue lodge in Bordeaux
A blue lodge in Bordeaux
#16 of 88 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Cachee
La Maison Cachee
#9 of 88 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Villa - Bordeaux Chambres d'hotes
0.4 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#8 of 88 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'Arene Bordeaux
L'Arene Bordeaux
#33 of 88 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Invitation Au Voyage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Invitation Au Voyage

Property: L'Invitation Au Voyage
Address: 40 rue Paul Louis Lande, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical center of Bordeaux, we welcome you in a XVIII century "Hotel Particulier". We totally renew our House in 2012 to offer you the best stay in our 2 rooms and 2 junior suites.We hope that we will have the pleasure to receive you and to give you our best tips to discover Bordeaux ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Invitation Au Voyage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing