We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location while being central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Cour Carree
Ranked #25 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
350 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Quiet location while being central”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Other reviewers are correct in saying that if you are carrying large suitcases or have any issues with steep and narrow (spiral) stone steps, this boutique hotel is not for you. There are on average 3 rooms per floor and while the website states they are soundproof, they aren't. We could hear our neighbors above, in the hallways and to a lesser extent, next door. The rooms are small, about 120 square feet, to say there is a "sitting area" is stretching it a bit, there was a single chair in the room and a built in desk-table.

While this may sound negative, we did enjoy our stay in this newly remodeled (proprietor advised us they had only been open 3 months, used to be the Hotel Ariane) hotel, the windows were double glazed, so you heard nothing from the street, very quiet. The bed was relatively comfortable, the pillows were a bit too thick (had neck aches in the morning), the staff were excellent and accommodating.

Iterating 2 comments from other TA posters, it would be nice to have the shower holder placed higher on the wall, so you can shower hands free under the water instead of it hitting at chest level, and perhaps a soap/shampoo dish would be nice too?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    158
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
40
208
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 48h in Bordeaux and spent night in this pleasant boutique Hotel.
The hotel itself has got character and was decorated with taste (modern chic).
The room was a good size and the air con worked very well and was quiet ! (which was enjoyable in the hot weather).
Our bedroom overlooked a quiet tiny street, with no noisy bars or clubs around.
The city center was only minutes away on foot.

A word of caution to people with reduced mobility : our bedroom on the 2nd floor was accessible by a narrow and steep flight of stairs. No elevators at hand !

A piece of advice : do not bother with the hotel breakfast, which was cheap (7€) but average and gave little choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_from_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really liked this place, which is probably more of a guest house than a big hotel. The location is good, within walking distance to the centre of the city. The decor in the rooms is clean & minimalist, and the bed was extremely comfortable!
The staff are fantastic- they were very friendly, helpful & genuinely welcoming. I feel they really appreciated our custom, which is not always the case these days.
Bordeaux is a fabulous city. I wish we could have stayed longer- we'll be back, and we'll stay in this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A little difficult to find at first, but once we'd arrived we were given a warm welcome at reception

Hotel is fairly new and the rooms we had we generous in size and functional.Word of warning, some of the upstairs rooms are accessed by steep stone spiral staircases and not suitable for elderly folk.

You can walk to centre of city in around 15 mins

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longbsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
0.3 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cour Carree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cour Carree

Property: Hotel La Cour Carree
Address: 5 rue de Lurbe, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESIGN HOTEL OF 16 ROOMS, IN THE HEART OF THE CITY ! Situated in the heart of the city center, between the Place des Grands Hommes, the Allees de Tourny and the Place Gambetta the hotel benefits from a peaceful location in a quiet side street. The building, which is two centuries old, has been entirely restored to revive the charm of the place and to create an intimate and welcoming atmosphere. The traditional Bordeaux stone has been combined with high-quality modern facilities as well as a contemporary and elegant interior. In the heart of the building, a courtyard with its soft light, invites us to relax and enjoy peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Cour Carree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing