We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in convenient position”
Review of Aquitain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquitain Hotel
Ranked #85 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good hotel in convenient position”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was upgraded four years ago and is well presented and practical. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
39
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here, and will start by saying there was some touching up and renovating happening while we stayed so things might look a little different after. Room was on the 2nd floor, which made lugging bags up the spiral stairs a little tough (I think an elevator was one of the things being put in). Easily within walking distance from the station and about 25minutes walk out of town. Room was adequate with no fancy trappings. Wi-Fi worked a charm. Decent option of you plan to do day trips from Bordeaux.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CurryCricketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The location is good if you're travelling through by train. The hotel has steep circular stairs that would make it impossible for many people. The rooms are clean and basic (no screens on the windows, no air conditioning). But the beds are comfy and the shower decent and extra blankets are available if it's cool. I found the place depressing but I was only staying for a night so it worked for me.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms with multiple beds so if you're travelling in a group it's very convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

As a transit, or short break hotel this is excellent. Helpful staff, good location ( the tram is first rate). The Walls are slightly flimsy but no real noise problem and the breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauntlettandhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you are travelling to Bordeaux by train, this is a small hotel you should consider. It is only a two mintue walk from Gare St. Jean yet it is very quiet and private. The staff are efficient and helpful, and the hotel seems very well managed. The upper room where we stayed was spacious with a good view out over the city, though the stairs going up were a bit steep. The front desk offered to carry our bags, however. Breakfast was generous and well laid out, and the experience overall was very positive. The excellent Bordeaux tram service runs from just outside the station if you don't want to bother with a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean. We booked it to be near the station but otherwise can't see much to recommend it as it wasn't particularly good value or particularly nice in any other way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is an older property that has been updated. Good two star place located very near Gare St-Jean Train Station. Not many restaurants nearby but it's quiet. While it's not in the "City Center", (where the restaurants are) it's easy to hop on the Tram (E1.40) to access the city "hot spots". We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#107 of 173 in Bordeaux
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#99 of 173 in Bordeaux
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint-Jean Euratlantique
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 173 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquitain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquitain Hotel

Property: Aquitain Hotel
Address: 47 rue Eugene le Roy, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquitain Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aquitain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing