We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
Ranked #3 of 92 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this B & B. Sebastian and Aude were extremely hospitable and we really enjoyed the dinner on the Monday night we arrived. The rooms were beautiful with lovely balony, large shower and very clean. The breakfast and dinner were delicious. Overall, we would definitely recommend this B & B in an excellent location so anyone thinking of spending some time in Bordeaux.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonaB1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 298 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

A lovely hotel with very tasteful décor, a very warm welcome from Sebastien, Aude and staff, very friendly and lots of information given. A little gem in Bordeaux and not sure if it is wise to share how good it was with everyone else ! Thanks for the cognac Sebastien we had a lovely weekend with you x

Room Tip: Possibly not on the ground floor as you may hear people coming in and out
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avril H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Au Coeur de Bordeaux for 2 nights in April 2013 and had a very nice stay. The b&b is located in a historic building with traditional French architecture, but is nicely decorated with a traditional and modern theme.

Shortly before our date of arrival, the owners sent us an e-mail with many helpful tips about the property and local area, and were also quick to respond to our questions. The staff also sat down with us upon our arrival and offered tea and coffee, as they reviewed with us a map of the local area, highlighting key attractions.

We stayed in the Suite Haut-Brion & Sa Clarence, which was exactly as pictured and comfortably fit our group of 3 adults. The room is located on the 1st floor (equivalent to 2nd floor in American terms). I really liked the high ceilings and exposed brick, which both added to the overall ambiance.

The daily continental breakfast generally included croissants, fresh fruit, a prosciutto and cheese platter and homemade yogurt, which was very good.

As other reviews have mentioned, the spiral staircase is very steep and narrow, so may be difficult for people with mobility issues to manage. However, Aude offered to help us with our luggage, both when we arrived and left.

The location of the b&b is fairly central, but on the edge of the historical centre. It's about a 10-minute walk from rue sainte-Catherine. The walk to and from this area is very busy during the day, but very quiet at night after all the shops close. I wouldn't say the area is unsafe at all, but just quiet.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay at Au Coeur de Bordeaux and would consider staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderluster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a delightful experience. A beautiful and tastefully renovated property right in the centre of Bordeaux, close to many wonderful eating experiences, Bordeaux' grand churches, public transport and markets. Endless variety of shopping opportunities within a few minutes walk. However what sets this apart from many hotel experiences is the level of hospitality offered by Sebastián and Aude. Sebastien gave us comprehensive and very entertaining information based on our interests in food, history, fresh food markets, antiques and regional dining. His information enabled us to go to the places we were really interested in and get the best out of Bordeaux. We really enjoyed the fresh juice and home made yoghurt at breakfast and want to thank Celine for taking such good care of us at breakfast and for her knowledge of and enthusiasm for her city.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room which had access to the small sitting room/dining room so it served to exte...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATTHEWS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After many hours of travelling it was marvellous to receive such a warm welcome from Aude & Danielle. The room was as describe on the website and extremely comfortable with everything we needed.
The location is fabulous within easy walking distance to the old centre of Bordeaux and the Gironde.
Access to and from the railway station is simple. Bus 16 drops off and picks up at 'Palais de Justice' bus stop opposite Musee des Beaux Arts which is only 200 metres away.
We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The proprietress is very nice and runs a great place. It is in the city on a small side street. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. There is a safe in the closet. There is a mini-bar so be prepared to pay cash for items used when you check out because she will have the bill already drawn up. The bathroom is very modern with a large shower. Our room was on the street but if the window was shut, there was no noise. Breakfast was simple but a nice way to start the day. There is no elevator and the staircase is a narrow spiral one, so keep your luggage small! The proprietress does speak English and will help you in any way she can. There is a laundry nearby.
The hotel is within walking distance to the city center--you don't want to drive. There are lots of restaurants in that area.
Parking is on the street and hard to come by. We had to park over in the mall's garage a couple blocks away which we had to pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsloustalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent 2 excellent nights at Au Coeur de Bordeaux. The owner Sébastien welcomed us as he would do with his friends or family! Delicious cognac on arrival and great 'must-do' and 'must-see' tips. The breakfast is absolutely amazing : crunchy croissant, fresh baguette, freshly squeezed orange juice, Bayonne ham, cheese and of course homemade clementine or rhubarb jam. Being French I really enjoyed it!
Our room (Armagnac) was just as mentioned on their Facebook page ....gorgeous and warmly decorated with taste. We really felt comfortable ...just as home! The hotel is at walking distance from all main sightseeing places.
Thanks for sharing your warmth of your home with us! You made our trip to Bordeaux very special and memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie_Lili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 174 in Bordeaux
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes

Address: 28 rue Boulan, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range: $137 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres d'Hotes: In the heart of Bordeaux, this former charming hotel refurbished with taste and antiques offers 5 rooms incl. 2 suites. For Business or Leisure, the upscale quality at an affordable price and the alternative to impersonal hotels. Balconies, wifi, private bathroom, air conditionned. Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Cave a Vin : Registered wine seller, we offer a selection of hidden gems from small bordelese properties's at affordable prices. Upon request, we organize French Tapas with matching wines evenings made out of local produces (foie gras, selected cured meats and cheeses) and sensitization to wine tasting techniques. Join us and live to beat of Au Coeur de Bordeaux (The Heart of Bordeaux) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing