We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
Ranked #3 of 88 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne vic
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. We arrived really early and left our bags while we explored the town. We came back way before check in and the owners Sebastian and Aud were out but made sure we had a key to our room which was ready. We caught up with them later that night and they were so cool. Seriously Sebastian is one of the coolest hosts ever. He went through the map of Bordeaux over a glass of cognac with us and recommended the best places to eat. My fiancé is a chef at a two hatted restaurant in Melbourne and we are hard to please but Sebastian is a true gourmand with great food knowledge and his recommendations kicked a##!

Our room was beautiful and breakfast was divine. We really felt welcomed and comfortable here. The location was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrinaMelbourneVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    34
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
174
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovendegem, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 1 night in July at this new B&B, just 5 minutes walking from the city centre of B&B. We have no complaints or whatsoever, everything was perfect!!! Sebastien & Aude do a good job and Sebastien is a very nice person to talk with. Our fantastic room was situated on the top floor and just had a new airconditioning, which was needed, because it was almost 30° outside that day. The only problem of this B&B is that you're not able to park your car in the street. You can park your car on a parking spot, just 20 metres from the B&B (free after 19h, but expensive during daytime) or at the car park a bit further, the latter is secured 24h. If i come back to Bordeaux, i would definitely come back to this place, it's the perfect spot to visit Bordeaux!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthiasVlassembrouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We only stayed for one night, this was very unfortunate as we loved the B&B and Sebastian was an excellent host, greeting us with cognac and providing us with a map and recommending some fantastic restaurants for dinner that would still be serving (we arrived quite late). We were also brought breakfast in our room at a time that suited us, which was lovely to have with the balcony doors open. The location is also perfect, with parking right across the street and only a 5 minute (picturesque) walk into the main city areas. We hope to return in the very near future for a longer stay and would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becks309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hosts Sebastien and Aude might be new to B&Bs but the excellent way in which they welcome guests will ensure the success of this comfortable and character-packed establishment. On our arrival we were invited to share a cognac with Sebastien, a fascinating and natural raconteur, as he told us of the highlights of Bordeaux. From there the hospitality just continued on and on. After two thoroughly enjoyable days at Au Coeur de Brodeaux we were genuinely sorry to leave. Conveniently located and packed with charm, this establishment is definitely worth seeking out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I staryed with Sebastian and Aude for three days in early June 2012. They are a delightful couple and could not do enough for us. Aude even escorted us to the local supermarket to purchase some St Emilion wine to take back to England. Sebastian and Aude speak fluent english and they were very pleased to share their advice on what to do in Bordeaux with us.
Our room was lovely and the bed extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the little Juliet balcony which is so classic french. The shower was really good with plenty of hot water and a good flow.
The location was very central and yet quite quiet so we would certainly recommend this hotel to any of our friends travelling to Bordeaux.
I left some luggage at the hotel and Sebastian, on my request, parcelled it up and sent it to Australia for us which was way beyond the level of service that I would have expected. Sebastain and Aude brought their two young daughters, Agate and Abilene down for breakfast which was charming. Our whole stay was akin to staying in a good friend's home which when you have been travelling for a couple of months is quite delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had one night in Bordeaux and was delighted I chose au Coeur de Bordeaux as my 'home' for the stay - as that is what it felt like. If you are looking for an authentic experience in a beautifully restored building, with good-sized stylish ensuite rooms, a wonderfully warm welcome and a delicious hosted evening meal, then seriously, do not go anywhere else! It is apparent the place is home run because it has a heart and soul and Sebastien, the owner, couldn't have been more charming and helpful and interesting to talk with over dinner. Clearly I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and I hope to have the opportunity to return one day.

As an aside, I notice a negative review on here with regard to noise levels from the road. I stayed in a room over the street, yes there is traffic on the main road nearby, but not a lot on the street itself (a small price to pay if you want to stay in the heart of a city!) I slept soundly with the doors to my balcony wide open all night!

Thank you to Sebastien and Alexandra for looking after me so well.

Jane Preston

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Au Coeur de Bordeaux for an overnight trip to the City during a holiday in the Bergerac area. We didn't want to stay at a chain as we were in a City with character and wanted a hotel with character.

Nice room very tastefully decorated with a unique style. The bed surprisingly was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel. Very central to the gastronomic delights of the City.

Sebastion, the owner, is the perfect host whose charm impressed my partner no end.

Its worth noting that either from the Airport or the Train Station the local buses stop almost at the end of the street for a cost of Euro 1.40.

Previous reviews mention the noise. We didn't hear anything more than you would expect from a major city centre hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NickG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 174 in Bordeaux
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes

Property: Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
Address: 28 rue Boulan, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres d'Hotes: In the heart of Bordeaux, this former charming hotel refurbished with taste and antiques offers 5 rooms incl. 2 suites. For Business or Leisure, the upscale quality at an affordable price and the alternative to impersonal hotels. Balconies, wifi, private bathroom, air conditionned. Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Cave a Vin : Registered wine seller, we offer a selection of hidden gems from small bordelese properties's at affordable prices. Upon request, we organize French Tapas with matching wines evenings made out of local produces (foie gras, selected cured meats and cheeses) and sensitization to wine tasting techniques. Join us and live to beat of Au Coeur de Bordeaux (The Heart of Bordeaux) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing