We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming accommodation, wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
Ranked #4 of 88 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming accommodation, wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had one night in Bordeaux and was delighted I chose au Coeur de Bordeaux as my 'home' for the stay - as that is what it felt like. If you are looking for an authentic experience in a beautifully restored building, with good-sized stylish ensuite rooms, a wonderfully warm welcome and a delicious hosted evening meal, then seriously, do not go anywhere else! It is apparent the place is home run because it has a heart and soul and Sebastien, the owner, couldn't have been more charming and helpful and interesting to talk with over dinner. Clearly I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and I hope to have the opportunity to return one day.

As an aside, I notice a negative review on here with regard to noise levels from the road. I stayed in a room over the street, yes there is traffic on the main road nearby, but not a lot on the street itself (a small price to pay if you want to stay in the heart of a city!) I slept soundly with the doors to my balcony wide open all night!

Thank you to Sebastien and Alexandra for looking after me so well.

Jane Preston

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    31
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
161
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Au Coeur de Bordeaux for an overnight trip to the City during a holiday in the Bergerac area. We didn't want to stay at a chain as we were in a City with character and wanted a hotel with character.

Nice room very tastefully decorated with a unique style. The bed surprisingly was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel. Very central to the gastronomic delights of the City.

Sebastion, the owner, is the perfect host whose charm impressed my partner no end.

Its worth noting that either from the Airport or the Train Station the local buses stop almost at the end of the street for a cost of Euro 1.40.

Previous reviews mention the noise. We didn't hear anything more than you would expect from a major city centre hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NickG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We a total of 9 persons stayed at Au Coeur de Bordeaux in early June 2012 for a total of 3 nights. Our experience with it was excellent! The owners Sebastien & Aude were just perfect! They took care of every of our needs & queries. The house was tastefully decorated and the location was convenient to all major attractions in the heart of Bordeaux. We had also tried the host dinner prepared by Sebastien and it was simply delicious and value for money! We all look forward to meeting Sebastien & Aude soon! One small point was the ventilation in the rooms but we were confirmed by Sebastien that air-conditioners will be set up in all rooms by late June 2012. It will therefore not be a problem. Keep up with your good works, Sebastien & Aude!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This place is amazing, hands down. If you want to stay in Bordeaux and feel at home, this is where you want to be. Most of the rooms come with a private balcony overlooking a quiet street, are full of hand-picked antique furniture, fabulous decorum, and modern w/c facilities, even a rainshower. What puts this place over the top is the friendly staff. Upon entering, Sebastian -- the owner-- detailed out a perfect tour of the city and restaurant recommendations, all of which were fantastic. Sebastian and his wife consistently went the extra mile by ensuring that we felt completely relaxed. Oh, and breakfast was superb. It was just what the doctor ordered. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Positives:
Renovated building
Good position for the old town
Very helpful & friendly owners who speak excellent English
Breakfast simple and tasty
Comfortable bed and quality bedding
Stylish rooms

Negatives:
10m away from very busy road and Irish pub (who were going strong at 2-3am each night)
Rooms are quiet but only if the windows are shut tight.
Rooms get hot and no obvious ventilation. There is no fan.
Did not sleep well for 3 nights.
Bathrooms could do with extra lighting above mirror.
Front door is difficult to open.

Sorry, Seb & Aude are very nice people but if you don't sleep well then its difficult to recommend.

Tip: Bus route Ligne 1 costs €1.40 to/from the airport takes 30-40 minutes and stops at Gambetta about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineTour69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aucoeurdebordeaux, Owner at Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear visitor,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at Au Coeur de Bordeaux.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your positive comments about our place, location and your experience with us. We have crafted this place with love, building on many years of travel and are glad you like our rooms, bedding, breakfast, staff...

Your comments are very important to us and be sure we have taken them on board! Front door has been adjusted, fans added in the rooms and expect AC to be set before July. This should allow all to spend quiet and fresh nights.

Bordeaux is a lively city and we have taken special attention to install double glazing / soundproof windows. As you rightly mention, once closed, windows are soundproof. We trust with those adjustments, your next stay will be perfect!

We look forward to welcoming you again,

With warm regards,

Sebastien & Aude
Au Coeur de Bordeaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just returned from a very lovely stay. Rooms are very tastefully decorated and very nice bathrooms. The owners are very helpful and recommended a good brasserie for dinner. They made it feel very homely and the homemade breakfast jams were great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Aude, the owner, was absoloutely lovely and so accommodating. The rooms are beautifully put together, everything is of a lovely quality and the whole place has a really homely, calm feel to it. It's on a quiet road in a great location. The only downside is that there are no English channels on the TV but to be honest the majority of the time we were out and about in Bordeaux so we didn't really mind. Fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes

Property: Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes
Address: 28 rue Boulan, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres d'Hotes: In the heart of Bordeaux, this former charming hotel refurbished with taste and antiques offers 5 rooms incl. 2 suites. For Business or Leisure, the upscale quality at an affordable price and the alternative to impersonal hotels. Balconies, wifi, private bathroom, air conditionned. Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Cave a Vin : Registered wine seller, we offer a selection of hidden gems from small bordelese properties's at affordable prices. Upon request, we organize French Tapas with matching wines evenings made out of local produces (foie gras, selected cured meats and cheeses) and sensitization to wine tasting techniques. Join us and live to beat of Au Coeur de Bordeaux (The Heart of Bordeaux) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Au Coeur de Bordeaux - Chambres et Table d'hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing