We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Construction noise from renovations makes hotel untenable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Lac
Ranked #36 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Deauville, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Construction noise from renovations makes hotel untenable”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At the time of my visit, there was remodelling and/or renovations taking place in the hotel. This fact was not disclosed on the Accor website. If it had been disclosed, I would have chosen a different hotel. For business travellers who have to rise before 1000h for their work, the noise will not be a problem. For leisure travellers who stay out late at night, and want to sleep late in the morning, this hotel should be avoided until the renovations are finished, because every weekday at 1000h, the hammering, drilling and banging starts. It reverbrates right through the hotel. The construction also affects some services. The bar and dining are currently located in what appears to be a conference room, rather than a properly appointed bar.. Mercure does not seem to have made any concessions by way of discounting the room rates to compensate customers for inconvenience caused by the construction. This has to be one of the worst experiences I have had at a Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Oktopus_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    188
    73
    36
    14
See reviews for
126
120
23
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stop on the way from Spain. Easy access to and from the motorway. Located on the Exhibition site so very good value for prebooking when no events are taking place. Large newly refurbished room, one of the best of this brand that we have stopped in. Remote from the city so really necessary to eat in. The meal was excellent and reasonably priced for an expense account hotel. Very silent night. parking reasonably secure and free. Free wifi. One niggle- the hot water took an age to arrive. Would stop here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our stay in this hotel. Staff are courteous and friendly. Rooms are large, new and extremely clean. Location wise, it's remote from the city centre but it offers free parking and a ten minutes drive from the fashionable Bordeaux city centre. It's absolutely great value for money. Extreme secure as the hotel including the car park are fenced and closed. Entry us only allowed by intercom. Thank you for the experience Mercure Bordeaux Le Lac. We will come again.

Room Tip: It's a great hotel and worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alshehabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

For this visit to Bordeaux I needed to be in the area of this hotel for a concert nearby. It proved to be a good choice for me. My room was spacious and well appointed with a big double bed, sofa, chair and desk as well as a large bathroom with hairdryer and shampoos etc. There was an electric kettle and tea/coffee making facilities which I consider a big plus. I had breakfast and dinner as part of a very good deal. The hotel was very quiet and well decorated. One needs to take a taxi from and to the railway station as the hotel is about 7km from the centre. In the daytime this is an interesting journey for tourists as it goes along the regenerated riverside promenade from which many of the main buildings can be viewed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Hands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Right next to a lake near the Expo centre which is a massive 1klm long.
Close to shopping . Room was very comfortable and Staff were extreamly helpful indeed . We had a special Accor rate deal which made the hotel very good value for money indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 1 night as a stopover from England to Spain. The hotel is clean and renovated, and it has a outdoor swimming pool that we used, BUT take in consideration that it's too cold. I was tired of driving and it was perfect for me, but it's actually very cold.
It has a Macdonalds and a pizza restaurant nearby, and a lot of hotels close to it. Better go to the nearest commercial mall just 5 minutes driving.
It's not a good choise if you want to visit the city.
ASK for a room opposite to the Karts center, which is very noisy indeed.

I had no coffee facilities in our room, I asked for it and it was solved in 10 minutes.
All rooms have a small fridge and Coffee facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAQUITO-VIAJERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is one of the conference affiliated hotel for the ESRA 2012 conference. It is a 5 min walk away from the Bordeaux Palais de Congress. However if you want to experience Bordeaux and its culture/cuisine, a 30 min public transport travel with bus and tram will take you to the heart of the city.
The hotel itself is clean and spacious considering its budget status. The staff a fairly courteous and helpful. The breakfast spread is kind of limited. There is a non heated swimming in its compound.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are just attending a conference and do not mind a bit of travelling to Bordeaux for extra curricular activities.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooldoc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
#23 of 173 in Bordeaux
901 reviews
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
#26 of 173 in Bordeaux
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#16 of 173 in Bordeaux
731 reviews
Le Lac 1
Le Provencal
Le Provencal
#5 of 173 in Bordeaux
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Lac

Property: Mercure Bordeaux Lac
Address: 8 B rue du grand Barail, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three minutes walk from Lake Bordeaux, the Exhibition and Convention Centres as well as the casino and is also close to major routes (coming from Toulouse, head towards Paris then take exit No.4b, coming from Paris, head towards Bordeaux Lac then take exit No.4). Spacious airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet, Bar De L Echanson restaurant and outdoor swimming pool. Meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing