We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We chose to stay here our last night in France as I had to take the train back to Switzerland. The hotel is literally steps away from the station so I was able to sleep a bit longer although my train left early. We found reception to be exceptionally friendly. The room was rather small, but perfectly clean. It was not noisy at all as we were facing the courtyard. Nothing fancy but definitely worthwhile given the very reasonable price and excellent location. Also right near the tram stop which is convenient for getting closer into town and close to the main sights of Bordeaux. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay again if leaving early by train.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gare Saint Jean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 522 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

I've just returned from a 2 night visit to this hotel - the 1st May is a public holiday in France so it was good to arrive at the train station using the airport bus, since there was no other public transport working!

It's around a 20 minute walk to the centre, but on the second day (2nd May) we got one tram since it was raining. The train station location is convenient for a trip to St Emilion which was a highlight of the trip

The hotel is clean and has character - the twin room we had was quite small, but we weren't there to stay in the room all day anyway. The bathroom was good, with decent water pressure. However, every 20 minutes or so until around 3am we were woken up from revelers coming back from the clubs nearby.

The receptionists spoke good English, we didn't try breakfast so can't comment.

Nothing really bad with it, but probably won't make a repeat visit there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellernick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We picked this due to its proximity to the station. We were very pleasently surprised. Friendly efficient staff. Rooms not the biggest but spotless, with tea and coffee making facilities. Its ideal for an overnight or long weekend stopover. Within easy reach of some super restaurants. Bathroom again spotless with plenty of loo rolls, towels and washing soap/shower dispensers. Will serve breakfast if required and also you can even order food in from local restaurants. We went out to eat and finished off our night in the hotel with a lovely bottle of Bordeaux. We paid €79 for the room, but it was booked a good month in advance to get the cheaper price. Breakfast was either €7 for continental or €14 for a more substantial repast. Wine was €22 but it was a good Bordeaux, not bad for hotel prices. Our stay was mid April 2014.

Room Tip: Room 101, no view as such but quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've stayed one night and have a car. The location is VERY close to the railroad station and trams to get to the center of town. We stayed in Room 204 and there is an elevator, Nespresso coffee machine in the room and a stocked small fridge. The entrance to the hotel is being remodeled and they have given us FREE parking as a compensation which would have cost €15 a night. We've joined there "loyalty program" which if you travel a lot is probably worth something--I hope. The staff seems to be young, ambitious women who have been most helpful, accommodating and friendly. They charge €14 for a full breakfast or €7 for a modified breakfast. For us, it's too much money to spend when you can walk out of the hotel and get a croissant for under €1! The room is not huge but it is pleasant. The bathroom is small and since we're large, it means entering sideways but that's common in France.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2eat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Although the satnav was confused by the road system we found the hotel after three circuits. Then we were confused by the renovations hiding the temporary reception.
The room was compact but clean and well equipped, it even had a Nespresso machine. It is about a 15 min walk to the city centre, we didn't realise there as a tram service right outside the hotel, but the walk is worth it.
It must have been OK overall as we have re-booked it for the next trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hertfordlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good Hotel, highly recommended for those looking for Comfort as reasonable price.

We arrived in Bordeaux Train Station last August and shopped around for hotels. We were delighted we choose the Best Western, it was the first time I stayed in a Best Western, and it was a good experience. They reception staff were exceptional. Really helpful and friendly. The room while not the biggest was fine for the price we paid, considering what other hotels in the vicinity were offering. The Breakfast is a must have, I stuffed myself and was very contented afterwards. All in all 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Why is the area around train stations always so bad? Unfortunately that is the case here.
The hotel is clean, the rooms are quite spacious for France, and the staff is polite. The hotel is basically across the street from the train station and has parking for 15 euro per day if you choose to drive. The rooms have minibars as well as small coffee machines and cable tv with a ton of channels. This hotel is a great value.
Exercise caution in the area. The area around the train station has obviously been cleaned up in recent years, as has a lot of the city. Apparently a lot of money came into bordeaux after the entire city center became a unesco heritage site. However I have never seen so many police in a train station -- during a 5 minute fast walk through the terminal during a thursday afternoon I saw at least 5 small packs of officers questioning homeless people and other people lurking around. The gare du nord in paris seems exceptionally safe in comparison. A shame because the station itself is very beautiful and has clearly undergone recent renovations.
I would recommend taking the very clean and convenient tram to the center of town. It is not safe to walk to the center of town, the buildings are terribly dirty/sooty and it is quite a distance as well. When coming back late at night the tram stop is a 2-3 minute walk across a large open plaza in front of the train station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#26 of 174 in Bordeaux
935 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
895 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gare Saint Jean

Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $103 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing