We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Oakland, CA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value, very friendly”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We needed a hotel near the train station for a one-night stay while we waited to meet up with our Backroads bike tour group. Often the neighborhoods around train stations are a little seedy, and the hotels too, but the Bordeaux station area seemed clean and safe, and the Best Western couldn't have been better.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us directions for walking to the downtown historic area -- an easy 20 minute walk, or a ten minute tram ride. They directed us to the best of the brasseries across from the station for supper. And when my husband needed to assemble the bike we'd brought with us, they let him turn a corner of the lobby into a temporary bike shop. :-)

The room was small (by American standards) but had every modern comfort you'd expect. Good shower, good bed. We were not bothered by street noise. The hotel breakfast was excellent and varied.

In all, this is a great hotel for the price. If you need to be near the train station, I would recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilana_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    258
    62
    20
    7
See reviews for
40
255
50
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently for a short break to Bordeaux and had reservations about the area but found it to be excellent both for the quality of the rooms/staff/food at the hotel and for the transport connections around the city. We will certainly be using the hotel again as it was also very clean and the beds were very comfortable with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear customers,

First of all, we are happy you chose our hotel for your city break in Bordeaux, secondly we are glad that you appreciated the quality of our establishment, our staff, amenities and location. This is our pleasure to satisfy you.

Our helpful staff is at your disposal for any information concerning your eventual future trip to Bordeaux.

We look forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

Sophie Moricet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Honestly, all my expectancies have been exceeded: position, cleanliness, staff, services, sleeping conditions, restaurant - everything! The hotel is very close to Bordeaux Saint Jean station. A walk along the river is so much rewarding the physical effort, turning right towards St Michel cathedral and the central area of Bordeaux...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Michi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment. *

We are glad to notice that our team succeeded in making your stay excellent, we wish you will remember your trip to Bordeaux for a long time, thanks to us and of course to the beauty of our charming city.
Waiting for welcome you again, please be advised that we are all at your service, then do not hesitate to contact us in case of need.

Best Regards

Sophie Moricet
General Manager of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I travel by train and usually look for hotels close to the station. Sometimes the area around stations can be less than desirable and often the hotels are not that great. This hotel is an exception. It was very nice. When you exit the train station, it is a 2 min. walk on the diagonal to the right.The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English very well. The lobby area was clean and bright, with a nice sitting area.As a guest, you can choose to have an express breakfast for 7 euro in the small eating area adjacent to the lobby( with lovely windows for looking outdoors as opposed to many breakfast rooms in hotels which are located on the lower floor) or you can have the breakfast buffet for 14 euro. I chose the express and it was more than adequate.
My room was amazing.... one of the nicest rooms I stayed in on this month long holiday in France. Quiet and spacious, room darkening drapes, very comfortable bed and pillow with fresh linens, English channel on TV, mini bar, free bottle of water , easy log in for free wifi Plus... it had a coffee maker and a tea pot on a tray so you could make your own hot beverage. And.. bonus.. cookies on the tray too. I appreciate those little touches. Front desk also had a large bowl of apples for customers and free newspapers.
I loved this hotel. Everything was clean, fresh, nice decor ... I felt a bit pampered for a change.Plus I only had to walk back across the street to catch the public transport to venture downtown.I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Bordeaux.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutmeg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you or recommending our establishment, this is a pleasure to read your opinion.
We are happy to see that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, our amenities and location. We do our best to satisfy our guests with our friendly staff and the multiple attentions we offer.

The entire team of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean is at your entirely disposition if you need something, maybe for a next trip in France.


Yours faithfully

Sophie Moricet
General Manager of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean, Bordeaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Although we arrived in Bordeaux by air, we planned a few days in Bordeaux, including a day trip to St Emilion, before joining friends in Riberac - hence we wanted somewhere within easy reach of the main railway station. This hotel turned out to be an ideal choice - within easy walking distance from the St Jean railway station, and an easy tram red into the city centre.
The. Tram stop outside the station has a 'duty' attendant who will help visitors get tram tickets from the blue ticket machine. It's a simple system when you know how, but it helps when the attendant is handy (he is grateful for a small 20c tip!).
The hotel room we had was very comfortable, with double glazing that was most effective. Very helpful staff, and free WI-FI - no cable Internet but a computer in the lobby that s free to use with printer.
Note: if you go by train to St Emilion - be prepared for a 20-30 mins walk UP to the town centre. No bus service! However it's easier coming back down - and the wine with lunch helps!
Highly recommended - we will stay here if/when we return to Bordeaux.

Room Tip: We ad a queen bed room on the 2nd floor - facing the station, but were not disturbed by noise. Excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Customers,

Thank you for sharing your great stay in our hotel with the internet users.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your journey in our establishment and our lovely region.
We would be happy to welcome you again in the future, in case feel free to contact us.

The team of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean and I, are at your service to welcome and satisfy you in the best way.

Sincerely

Sophie Moricet
General Manager of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We don't expect much in a hotel within walking distance from the train. We got a LOT more than we expected. And, all GOOD.

The Best Western Royal was a really nice surprise. Very nice reception and a small but really complete room. Very quiet and very clean. Lots of hot water and a comfortable bed.
In the morning they serve one of the best breakfasts we had in 3 weeks in France. I can't think of any weakness at all.

A perfect room for the night before a train ride.

Room Tip: If you go on the French site, you can specify a room at the back. Absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to see that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, our equipment and services. We enjoy the fact that you particularly liked our breakfast!

We may have the chance to welcome you again in the future: It would be a pleasure! Be sure that our team is at your disposal in case of need.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Basically what made me go for this hotel is its location. I was planning to visit the outlying area and being that I were to be stuck to public transport, necessity had it that I had to stay close to the train station (knowing through experience the improbable train schedules) . At first I was showing some apprehension, cause following other experiences of French towns, train station neighbourhoods fair low to say the least in terms of congeniality. But as soon as I threaded my feet out of the train station all my fears were dispelled. Bordeaux is a safe place.

The hotel has the added advantage of it being well served by the local tramway and bus routes, so it won't take you more than 5 minutes to reach the triangle d'or where most of the monuments are. Besides I used to like walking to Rue Saint-Remi to have dinner there, going through Saint-Michel quarter which is a very vibrant quarter and then stroll along the quays to finish off the day in a pleasant manner. Besides within walking distance there is La Tupina restaurant which is very popular with locals and visitors alike. Whatever is the case, I found the staff always ready to offer their suggestions.

Here I concur with many of the posts here and the staff are real hosts. As from the outset, home rules were spelled out and the receptionists even insisted upon accompanying me to the elevator, offering any possible assistance which I might require. After that I have settled in, I received a call to ensure that everything was ok with me. Also some details like the coffee-making machine, with the capsules being replaced on daily basis, a complementary bottle of water add to 'welcome home' feeling.

The breakfast at first might seem to be that tad dear but all budgeting considerations are waved off when one finds out that this breakfast more than a snack, it is a meal. It was well supplied by all different kinds of bread, fruit, cereals, cheese, meat cuts, delicacies like the local cannelé and macaron, diary products and more. Then, if one is to look closer to his pockets, he can go for a less expensive option. Of an additional benefit, there is also that breakfast starts also to be served as early as six o'clock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francepassione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, Manager at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear customer,

we really want to thank you for your kind comment and for the time you took to write it. Be sure our entire team will be advised of it. It is the best reward you can offer us so much important it is in our policy to take care of our guests. We are then really happy you appreciated it.

You seemed to have enjoyed our city of Bordeaux and we hope having the chance to welcome you again in case of another trip to our region!

All our team wish you a good continuation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#15 of 174 in Bordeaux
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,023 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
1.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gare Saint Jean

Property: Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing