We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to stay if travelling by train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to stay if travelling by train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Although we arrived in Bordeaux by air, we planned a few days in Bordeaux, including a day trip to St Emilion, before joining friends in Riberac - hence we wanted somewhere within easy reach of the main railway station. This hotel turned out to be an ideal choice - within easy walking distance from the St Jean railway station, and an easy tram red into the city centre.
The. Tram stop outside the station has a 'duty' attendant who will help visitors get tram tickets from the blue ticket machine. It's a simple system when you know how, but it helps when the attendant is handy (he is grateful for a small 20c tip!).
The hotel room we had was very comfortable, with double glazing that was most effective. Very helpful staff, and free WI-FI - no cable Internet but a computer in the lobby that s free to use with printer.
Note: if you go by train to St Emilion - be prepared for a 20-30 mins walk UP to the town centre. No bus service! However it's easier coming back down - and the wine with lunch helps!
Highly recommended - we will stay here if/when we return to Bordeaux.

Room Tip: We ad a queen bed room on the 2nd floor - facing the station, but were not disturbed by noise. Excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Customers,

Thank you for sharing your great stay in our hotel with the internet users.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your journey in our establishment and our lovely region.
We would be happy to welcome you again in the future, in case feel free to contact us.

The team of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean and I, are at your service to welcome and satisfy you in the best way.

Sincerely

Sophie Moricet
General Manager of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    247
    60
    18
    7
See reviews for
37
247
48
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We don't expect much in a hotel within walking distance from the train. We got a LOT more than we expected. And, all GOOD.

The Best Western Royal was a really nice surprise. Very nice reception and a small but really complete room. Very quiet and very clean. Lots of hot water and a comfortable bed.
In the morning they serve one of the best breakfasts we had in 3 weeks in France. I can't think of any weakness at all.

A perfect room for the night before a train ride.

Room Tip: If you go on the French site, you can specify a room at the back. Absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to see that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, our equipment and services. We enjoy the fact that you particularly liked our breakfast!

We may have the chance to welcome you again in the future: It would be a pleasure! Be sure that our team is at your disposal in case of need.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Basically what made me go for this hotel is its location. I was planning to visit the outlying area and being that I were to be stuck to public transport, necessity had it that I had to stay close to the train station (knowing through experience the improbable train schedules) . At first I was showing some apprehension, cause following other experiences of French towns, train station neighbourhoods fair low to say the least in terms of congeniality. But as soon as I threaded my feet out of the train station all my fears were dispelled. Bordeaux is a safe place.

The hotel has the added advantage of it being well served by the local tramway and bus routes, so it won't take you more than 5 minutes to reach the triangle d'or where most of the monuments are. Besides I used to like walking to Rue Saint-Remi to have dinner there, going through Saint-Michel quarter which is a very vibrant quarter and then stroll along the quays to finish off the day in a pleasant manner. Besides within walking distance there is La Tupina restaurant which is very popular with locals and visitors alike. Whatever is the case, I found the staff always ready to offer their suggestions.

Here I concur with many of the posts here and the staff are real hosts. As from the outset, home rules were spelled out and the receptionists even insisted upon accompanying me to the elevator, offering any possible assistance which I might require. After that I have settled in, I received a call to ensure that everything was ok with me. Also some details like the coffee-making machine, with the capsules being replaced on daily basis, a complementary bottle of water add to 'welcome home' feeling.

The breakfast at first might seem to be that tad dear but all budgeting considerations are waved off when one finds out that this breakfast more than a snack, it is a meal. It was well supplied by all different kinds of bread, fruit, cereals, cheese, meat cuts, delicacies like the local cannelé and macaron, diary products and more. Then, if one is to look closer to his pockets, he can go for a less expensive option. Of an additional benefit, there is also that breakfast starts also to be served as early as six o'clock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francepassione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, Manager at BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear customer,

we really want to thank you for your kind comment and for the time you took to write it. Be sure our entire team will be advised of it. It is the best reward you can offer us so much important it is in our policy to take care of our guests. We are then really happy you appreciated it.

You seemed to have enjoyed our city of Bordeaux and we hope having the chance to welcome you again in case of another trip to our region!

All our team wish you a good continuation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived here after cycling from Marmande, although our rooms where not ready the receptionist offered us drinks and the Tour de France on TV, which was fine with us. The location was also ideal as we were catching the train next day so all we had to do was walk across the street to the station. Bordeaux city centre is within easy reach by foot or tram.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil3749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for having taken time to write us a comment. We enjoy the fact that you appreciate your visit at our BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean.

As you said we are very closed to the train station and this is good for people who has to take a train. Thanks to the tramway and the two stations near our establishment, only about 10 minutes are necessary to join the city center!

The team and I wish to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After having a some what of a disappointing experience with a Best Western in Paris I was hesitant to book another B/W in France.....but to our surprise this would be one of the best hotels we have stayed in in France over our years of travel.
We decided to spend a couple of days in Bordeaux before heading up to Paris for a week on the last leg of our journey and chose the Royal St Jean because of its proximity to Gare Bordeaux St Jean. An excellent located Hotel with the fluent English speaking staff who were very helpful and welcoming. The Bedrooms are modern and stylish, very comfortable and the largest bathroom we have ever had in France. Free Wifi was a great bonus. The staff suggested we buy a 10 trip tram ticket each which we used daily back and forward from the town centre. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Thank you to Sophie Billard and her staff we will be back as well as letting our friends know in New Zealand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerryM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, Gérant at BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

What a pleasure to read your comment!

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bordeaux with us. We strive day by day to do our best to make our gests’ stays as unbelievable as possible and it is a great satisfaction to be noticed that we did well, thanks to your comment.

It will be an honor to welcome you again for a next trip to our beautiful region, as well as your friends from New Zealand.


The entire team of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean joins me to thank you again for your kind message.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very close to Bordeaux's St. Jean Train Station, less than a five minute walk while dragging/rolling bags, and it is on Tram Line C. The staff is friendly and helpful with an excellent knowledge of their city. The breakfast buffet is generous including scrambled eggs and Canadian-type bacon in addition to the standard continental fare. The rooms are comfortable but my bathroom was tiny. The WiFi works well. All in all, it is a good value for the money and the staff makes it an overall fine place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Moved to the best western,

from another somewhat sketchy hotel across the street.....

the location leaves something to be desired, but very convenient to the train station and the the tram lines.....

The rooms are new, and the Nespresso Machine in the room was a much welcome treat.

would definitely stay here again

a bit small rooms for family though

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.3 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#15 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#12 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean

Property: BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing