We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Fantastic hotel and will return"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After having a some what of a disappointing experience with a Best Western in Paris I was hesitant to book another B/W in France.....but to our surprise this would be one of the best hotels we have stayed in in France over our years of travel.
We decided to spend a couple of days in Bordeaux before heading up to Paris for a week on the last leg of our journey and chose the Royal St Jean because of its proximity to Gare Bordeaux St Jean. An excellent located Hotel with the fluent English speaking staff who were very helpful and welcoming. The Bedrooms are modern and stylish, very comfortable and the largest bathroom we have ever had in France. Free Wifi was a great bonus. The staff suggested we buy a 10 trip tram ticket each which we used daily back and forward from the town centre. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Thank you to Sophie Billard and her staff we will be back as well as letting our friends know in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KerryM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, Gérant at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

What a pleasure to read your comment!

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bordeaux with us. We strive day by day to do our best to make our gests’ stays as unbelievable as possible and it is a great satisfaction to be noticed that we did well, thanks to your comment.

It will be an honor to welcome you again for a next trip to our beautiful region, as well as your friends from New Zealand.


The entire team of BEST WESTERN Royal Saint Jean joins me to thank you again for your kind message.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gare Saint Jean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 522 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very close to Bordeaux's St. Jean Train Station, less than a five minute walk while dragging/rolling bags, and it is on Tram Line C. The staff is friendly and helpful with an excellent knowledge of their city. The breakfast buffet is generous including scrambled eggs and Canadian-type bacon in addition to the standard continental fare. The rooms are comfortable but my bathroom was tiny. The WiFi works well. All in all, it is a good value for the money and the staff makes it an overall fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Moved to the best western,

from another somewhat sketchy hotel across the street.....

the location leaves something to be desired, but very convenient to the train station and the the tram lines.....

The rooms are new, and the Nespresso Machine in the room was a much welcome treat.

would definitely stay here again

a bit small rooms for family though

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shady E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

An excellent Hotel located opposite the Main Railway Station, where the fluent English -speaking staff are helpful and welcoming. The Bedrooms are modern and stylish, well equipped (even has a Nespresso Machine and iPod dock!), and very comfortable. Excellent soundproofing mean't you couldn't hear a thing from the road or the Station. Newspapers are provided to read. Free Wifi was a great bonus, and secure (paid) parking was useful. In the morning the Breakfast Buffet selection was one of the best I have ever been offered in France, all fresh and nicely presented. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarnianVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lovely hotel; welcoming staff who spoke English when required, a very clean room and communal areas, quiet - though we had asked for this, and conveniently located. Lots of magazines and papers available. We thought breakfast was lovely and not too expensive for the variety of items available - smoked salmon's always a good start to the day!
The building has an amazing stair case, it's almost spiral so worth looking at for this feature alone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 296SarahMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are arriving or departing by train this is a great place to stay. Only seconds from the beautiful gare st jean transport hub. The room was adequate. Very Good size, adequate furniture and fittings. Really good standard overall for a three star hotel. Doesnt look like a typical bestvwestern, has a lovely old world feel to it which was nice. Really friendly front of house staff. Do yourself a favour and hire a bike for about six AUD for a half day and ride through the old town, its a great way to spend the day and see a lot of beautiful cafes outside the main square. Its an easy tram ride about four or five stops from the centre of town or about a ten minute bike ride at a leisurely pace. You can hire the bikes from outside gare st jean. We needed some help from a local to figure out hw o un lock it but once we had some help is an eay to use system! Enjoy your stay in another beautiful french city!

Stayed: June 2012
3  Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Best Western Royal Saint Jean as we were flying from Bordeaux Airport and the hotel was convenient as the bus to the airport left from outside the conveniently placed St Jean Railway Station. We were welcomed by a delightful Chinese receptionist who was most helpful and had high hopes for the hotel. However our room was very small with tired decor and very sloped ceilings in the bedroom and even more so the bathroom. We were on the fourth floor which the lift didn't reach as it only went to the 3rd floor (my husband is 6ft 3") and kept bumping his head as did I am 5ft 6"! The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows very hard. I also woke up covered in insect bites. The room did have air con which was a bonus. Unfotunately we were in such a hurry to leave we left our passports in the safe and didn't realise until we were in the line to check in our bags at the airport. I rang the hotel and was greeted by the most unhelpful receptionist who clearly had little interest in helping us out and eventually reluctantly said she would get someone to check the safe. She was rude to my husband when he arrived at the hotel to retrieve the passports and when he offered to go up to the room to get them to avoid any further inconvenience, she told him he couldn't and he had to wait for a very annoyed cleaner to bring the passports downstairs despite a taxi waiting outside for him. I would avoid this hotel, there are quite a few others around the railway station which I'm sure would be much better.

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor rooms as very little headroom and very little space in both bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, Directeur général at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Madam,

We are very sorry that your stay wasn’t as well as you expected.

Be sure that if we had known the incidents, we would fix everything as quick as possible.

Fisrt, you tell us that the room was small. We could change the room if you had mentioned us after your arrival.
We had given this room because it has a beautiful view and we thought you will like it. That was not the case and we are sorry about that.

Regarding mosquitoes, we have taken provided for this purpose that you could ask to reception team.

The same for the pilows. we could provide you softer if you have asked.

To finish, when you did your check out, you have not mentioned the disadvantages you have met. If you have told us your experience, we would offer you breakfasts to compensate you.

About your passport, when you call about your papers forgotten in the trunk, we had, first, be assured that they still were in the room, before to ask you to come back, that's why it was so long.
Your husband waited in reception 3 mm, time for the maid to come down and give them to him directly.
For us, it was the quickest way to manage the situation. But you didn’t like waiting and we are sorry for that.

Be sure that we try to give our best to each guest.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you and to offer a better experience in our hotel.

Best regards,

Sophie Billard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#26 of 174 in Bordeaux
935 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
895 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gare Saint Jean

Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $103 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing