We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed one night at the Best Western Royal Saint Jean as we were flying from Bordeaux Airport and the hotel was convenient as the bus to the airport left from outside the conveniently placed St Jean Railway Station. We were welcomed by a delightful Chinese receptionist who was most helpful and had high hopes for the hotel. However our room was very small with tired decor and very sloped ceilings in the bedroom and even more so the bathroom. We were on the fourth floor which the lift didn't reach as it only went to the 3rd floor (my husband is 6ft 3") and kept bumping his head as did I am 5ft 6"! The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows very hard. I also woke up covered in insect bites. The room did have air con which was a bonus. Unfotunately we were in such a hurry to leave we left our passports in the safe and didn't realise until we were in the line to check in our bags at the airport. I rang the hotel and was greeted by the most unhelpful receptionist who clearly had little interest in helping us out and eventually reluctantly said she would get someone to check the safe. She was rude to my husband when he arrived at the hotel to retrieve the passports and when he offered to go up to the room to get them to avoid any further inconvenience, she told him he couldn't and he had to wait for a very annoyed cleaner to bring the passports downstairs despite a taxi waiting outside for him. I would avoid this hotel, there are quite a few others around the railway station which I'm sure would be much better.

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor rooms as very little headroom and very little space in both bedroom and bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalstjean33, Directeur général at Best Western Gare Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Madam,

We are very sorry that your stay wasn’t as well as you expected.

Be sure that if we had known the incidents, we would fix everything as quick as possible.

Fisrt, you tell us that the room was small. We could change the room if you had mentioned us after your arrival.
We had given this room because it has a beautiful view and we thought you will like it. That was not the case and we are sorry about that.

Regarding mosquitoes, we have taken provided for this purpose that you could ask to reception team.

The same for the pilows. we could provide you softer if you have asked.

To finish, when you did your check out, you have not mentioned the disadvantages you have met. If you have told us your experience, we would offer you breakfasts to compensate you.

About your passport, when you call about your papers forgotten in the trunk, we had, first, be assured that they still were in the room, before to ask you to come back, that's why it was so long.
Your husband waited in reception 3 mm, time for the maid to come down and give them to him directly.
For us, it was the quickest way to manage the situation. But you didn’t like waiting and we are sorry for that.

Be sure that we try to give our best to each guest.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you and to offer a better experience in our hotel.

Best regards,

Sophie Billard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Gare Saint Jean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our visit. We appreciated the proximity to the train station and found tram access to the important landmarks great. Breakfast was good (although a bit overpriced) and staff were very helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lib04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Good location if you need ready access to the train station. Otherwise far from ideal as the neighborhood is somewhat sketchy. Postage stamp sized rooms that can barely hold their queen beds. The bath tubs deserve special mention. They are narrow. When I showered and faced the long axis of the tub, my size 10 feet were forced together by the slope of the tub sides. If I faced the tub sides, my toes rode up the side I was facing. Showering at the St. Jean was a life-threatening experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Only a 20 stroll from city centre and right by the train station made this a great location for us on a quick stop over. Staff was also very helpful, and service great. Rooms were clean and good sized. Fast wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cammi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is very near St Jean SNCF station and is on tram route C. I had a good nights sleep despite trams passing, good sound proofing.
The bedroom had air cooling which was a must with temperatures above 30.
All the staff spoke English and were very helpful.
There is at least one good restaurant within a 5 min walk of the hotel.
The breakfast was good and there was a good variety.
I would stay at this hotelagain.

Room Tip: I had no problem with my room so can offer no advice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A reasonable hotel in an average area. Its nice and clean and the rooms are reasonable with a bottle of water each day , free internet ( wifi or with a computer lead).The rooms are small as is the bathroom.There is only 1 English Tv chanel , which is unusual in Europe. Breakfast is a silly 14Euros as there are much cheaper nearby .( there are however free apples in reception). It does become a pain walking or getting the tram into the centre so it is a little too far out (20 mins) from the Centre.There is also a free in room safe which takes a netbook.
Bordeaux is lovely and theres lots to see and do , but despite trying lots of places never found a good restaurant. The surrounding vineyards are also a must , but suppose you are only here because of their proximity anyway. Most Veneyards can be accessed via local transport , but we did book a trip. The river trips are boring and theres better to see and do onland. Oh and dont foget that you can get to Cognac by train (about 45 euro).

Room Tip: Room 204 is a little larger with a small balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Beware that once you book you cannot cancel. The managers are inflexible on this no matter what your reason. Despite my reservations the hotel staff were helpful and welcoming. The rooms are not as small as you might expect reading the other reviews but I had a room facing the back which was fine for size though the view was of another hotel's wall. The hotel is close to the train station and so convenient for the Jetbus to and from the airport, and good for the tram links as well. The coffee machine in the room is a nice touch. Good wifi access. Good size table to work on. Bordeaux is a beautiful city, spend the time exploring the old city on foot if you can. Great restaurants - L' Entrecote near the Grand Theatre, Le Bouchon Bordelais at Rue de Pont de la Mousque are my top two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parklifeinmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.6 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#26 of 174 in Bordeaux
936 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
895 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gare Saint Jean

Address: 15 Rue Charles Domercq, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $103 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gare Saint Jean 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansion of the 18th century offers guests a new reception, a lounge bar, a breakfast room and a library. The hotel highlights the heritage of the Bordeaux region through the creation of a cellar area that is conducive to the discovery of local wine estates, all in a cozy atmosphere, cozy with a modern twist. Located 10 mm or 30 mm tram walk along the banks of the Garonne, the tourist heart of Bordeaux. A courtesy tray with Nespresso coffee machine in the room, free wifi, a buffet breakfast of homemade products, business corner accessible 24h / 24h and a library for relaxation and reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Best Western Bordeaux
Best Western Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing