We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, easy walk to city center, free parking”
Review of Hotel Le Chantry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Chantry
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a very clean, decent 2-star hotel. It has gated, free parking in back, which we appreciated. We stayed 3 nights, and would recommend this place because of the balance of value, convenience, and amenities. This is not a super-fancy place, but met our expectations. We were surprised it had an elevator, but preferred the outside sprial staircase. We had no issues with the 10- to 15- minute walk to the city center; it's quite safe with little traffic. The room is basic, but comfortable and clean, and reminds me of a college dorm room with the built-in desk. the only issue one afternoon was waiting for the receptionist to remotely open the gate to the parking lot...it took about 5 minutes. (There's no pool; I couln't un-select the rating below.)

Room Tip: Suggest a room in back facing the parking lot; not for the view but probably wuieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticTravelers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 659 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Hotel is 10 mins walk to the start of the city centre, only the female receptionists can speak some English the male ones don't seem to bother to speak or try to help! Room is reasonable with air condition however tv has no English channels.
No.1 bus from the airport stops right opposite the hotel and for going back to the airport you have to walk out to the hotel turn right and walk round to the next street on your right.
Bordeaux the city itselves is just ok we found it a bit dirty e.g. Female urinating on the street, lots of beggars come round to ask for money etc and not many places open on a Sunday despite some museums etc stated the opening hours on Sunday. We don't think we will be visiting again...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pangster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Comfortable and clean with helpful staff. We had no complaints at all with any aspect of our five night stay. It was lovely to return to our expertly cleaned , air conditioned rooms. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanneking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

WE FOUND:
Good location. Decent size, comfortable room. Good bathroom, shower and cubicle. All kept very clean. Good continental breakfast at €8.50, constantly replenished. Good air conditioning. Typical hotel fixed hairdryer. Clean towels every day. Lift. No other service except small simple snack and drink machine. Usual hotel problem of not enough hooks and shelves.

OF FURTHER INTEREST:
Local service bus Nr 1 from airport is excellent at €1.40 and about 35 minutes. Stops virtually opposite, within sight. Ask for Menage. (Despite remarks elsewhere, there is plenty of room for luggage on bus unless in a very large group). Returns from adjacent street. Self service laundry within 100m.
Recommend Cafe Postillon 100m with simple 3 course "formule" meal at €10.50 - owner has excellent english. Large (hidden) Meriadek shopping mall 150m opposite includes large supermarket. We had an adequate meal in "Frunch" on the ground floor. Meriadek tram stop 250m from hotel. Beautiful city, fine trams.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bramhall440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Lovely hotel situated within very easy walking distance of the city centre. The website says its an estimated 10min walk - I would say 10 min stroll to the middle of the city. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you, however if you are looking for a clean, convenient and friendly place this is the one for you. Rooms are of a good size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom has all you need with the best power shower in the world. For a two star hotel I really can not fault it. It was a last second decision for us to visit Bordeaux for a weekend and I can honestly say that I was surprised by the level of service here. (We have had much worse in 3* and even 4* hotels.)
The hotel can also arrange for day trips for you - there is a noticeboard as you walk to the lift and it seems quite nice. Unfortunately I only noticed this on our last day.
There is also a lovely little bar as you walk to the city, with a view on one of the "city gates" - Le Globe. Staff are ever so friendly and happy to try their hand at a bit of English. Prices are very reasonable and they also do some tapas (which for some reason they kept giving us each evening when ordering a bottle of wine - free of charge!) if you need a late night snack. They are open late in the evenings so great for a last stop on the way to the hotel. Well worth it!
Bordeaux is lovely and we will surely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet all round - just make sure you chose from smoking or non smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel is in a great location for Bordeaux city centre. Just 5 minutes walk and you hit the city centre's cafes and shops. We were really pleased as most hotels with similar prices were at least 3 miles out of the city centre which we would have been no good as we wanted to be able to stroll into city centre in the evenings.

The room was very basic but very clean and functional. We only wanted the room for sleeping in and after a long journey it was lovely to have such a huge clean bathroom to relax and freshen up in. Only downside was after arriving at 10am we were told that we wouldn't be allowed access to the room until 2pm - the timing of which they staff stuck to rigidly as we returned back at 1:30pm hoping for a bit of leniancy (as we were exhausted after the trip) and they still refused access until the exact time.

Hotel also offers breakfast for approx 8 euros. Do it! Significantly better than what the same amount would get you in a cafe. Really good choice of buffet cereals, pastries and hot and cold drinks. Was very pleased.

If you're looking for a grand hotel, then you best look elsewhere however the hotel and rooms were technically flawless and the hotel is definitely not the 2 star rating it has been given. More like a 3. Bit like a Travelodge but with more character, helpful staff and better breakfasts!

Hope this helps and you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicia_taylor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We caught the bus from the airport and it stopped right outside the hotel. We arrived at 1.15pm but wernt allowed to have our room until bang on 2pm! But things improved. The room was on the top floor, so no noise. The room was large with tv, and a good sizes bathroom. There was no tea/coffee making facilities or a fridge (these would have been handy). The staff were all helpful. The position was very good, it was ten minutes walking straight down the road into the town. There are plenty of eating places and a laundry on the corner of the block. There is a large supermarket a few minutes away. All in all this was a good hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWEEDY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#30 of 175 in Bordeaux
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#14 of 175 in Bordeaux
998 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chantry

Address: 155 rue Georges Bonnac, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $82 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Chantry 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Chantry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chantry Hotel
Le Chantry Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing