We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
Ranked #26 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large, comfortable room”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December 2013. The hotel staff were extremely helpful when we asked for directions into town and recommendations for wine shops and things to do. The hotel is not centrally located but there are several restaurants within walking distance and a casino around the corner, which also had a good restaurant. It is easy enough to get into town via bus and tram. The rooms were large and pretty clean, I'm super picky. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great, with good hot options such as eggs and bacon and yogurt, bread, fruit, cheese, etc. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpapoz, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Magan4902,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

We are looking forward to welcome you in a near future and wish you and your family a very Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely

Rémy PAPOZ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    369
    126
    45
    18
See reviews for
152
340
41
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had read a number of reviews about this hotel and were more than a little concerned about the distance out of the main part of town and all the hoo ha about the tram line not getting you all the way to the actual hotel. To our relief, it was all a little over-exaggerated. True, the tram doesn't go all the way but that was no hinderence. We arrived by train from Paris and simply bought a tram ticket from the station at Bordeaux (10 in fact, as we were staying 3 days), boarded the tram and got off at the end of the line. We then just caught the bus, which was usually there to meet the tram and if not, was only minutes away. The bus stop was at the front of the Pullman and only took 5-10 mins.
Two nights we got back to the hotel quite late and we didn't have any worries and felt quite safe at all times.
The Pullman was a lovely hotel. Staff were brilliant; no request too difficult. Breakfast was excellent. We spent 5 weeks in Europe and being Aussies, we are spoilt for choice at home with our breafasts, and this was by far, the best brekkie in the 4 countries we visited.
Our room was large, the shower fantastic and the free wi-fi, a bonus. Our only downer was the on-site restaurant where we ate one night....glaring bright lights and absolutely no atmosphere. Just eat in town. Plenty of choice.
I wouldn't bother with the casino at the back either, unless you're a real gambler. You need your passport and it too, lacked a great deal of atmosphere.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Pullman again and when the tram line is complete, it will be even more appealing. Hopefully the hotel will stay as enjoyable as it was for our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpapoz, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Tania H,

Thank you for your very nice review. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our hotel and services .

The Pullman Bordeaux strives to provide excellent service and quality at great value, and I am please to hear we were able to exceed your expectations .

I noticed we had to work on ambiance at restaurant and lobby. I hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the near future

Best Regards and I wish you an happy new year .

Rémy PAPOZ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staff are very helpful, rooms are well-equipped, restaurants are good, bar service is prompt and effective, rooms for meetings are comfortable and the hotel is well-located on the lake and right next to the conference centre. Wifi works well and is free.The only problem I had was that the duvets were too hot and no alternatives were provided so I did not sleep very well - a colleague made the same comment. Room temperature controls seemed to make little difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien B, Receptionniste at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
Dear David L,

Thank you for sharing your comment with us regarding your recent stay at Pullman Bordeaux Lac.
It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy their stay with us,
We all sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Bordeaux in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Océane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed here many times going back to the days when it was a Sofitel.
Having a place in the Charente visits to Bordeaux always include a trip to IKEA and the large Auchan shopping centre it is convenient for us, also convenient for the Casino if you are that way inclined.
Its main downs side -distance from town centre- will be removed next year when the extension to the fantastic Bordeaux tram system is complete with a stop literally next to the hotel entrance.
.Other gripes are the usual chain hotel rip offs -Minibar prices and breakfast costs. Time Accor showed a bit of leadership here as the PR value must outweigh the money they make from overcharging for these resulting in their non use.
We have never been disappointed in the restaurant which never has an excess of choices but does all of them beautifully.
The staff are very nice and speak immaculate English and there is a large and secure car park on the hotel property.
All in all a nice place to stay in Bordeaux if you want a little more comfort than most of down town.

In closing just a little plug for the City itself; Transformed from its days twenty odd years ago as dirty and un appealing its downtown 'zone pietons' , tram links and literally miles of riverfront walking, shopping, eating or people watching make it a great destination for a few days away from London. Short flight, great shopping and a great diversity of eating options.

For the next few months road access is tricky due to the tram extension works but these should be fished by the late spring

Room Tip: Junior suites are very nice and often have reduced prices over weekend unless events at the nearby c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien B, Receptionniste at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
Dear Jaytee02,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux Lac.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us.

Kind regards,
Océane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on group trip to Bordeaux. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious. The bathroom had a shower which worked well but no bath which didn't bother us but might bother others. The check in staff spoke immaculate English. We had some trouble working the TV and were a bit disappointed not to have a view of the lake. The main problem with this hotel is that it is quite a distance from the centre of Bordeaux. At present you have to take a bus and a tram to get to the centre although the tram extension will make this much easier. THere are very few amenities in the area and the hotel restaurant is expensive. Breakfast was fine if unremarkable. Probably our only complaint was that it was quite difficult to get served at the bar which largely seemed unmanned.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the lake you will probably have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateREBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien B, Réceptionniste at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, January 4, 2017
Dear KateREBristol,

Thank you for your positive and complete review following your recent stay here at the Pullman Bordeaux Lac
I am pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay and appreciated the Confort of your room and our location.
We all sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Bordeaux in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Océane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over a long weekend in August. While we were happy with our stay overall, the hotel was a little far from the center of town and restaurant options were few. When the new tram line is running, this should no longer be an issue. The hotel restaurant is delicious (although missing vegetarian options), and we were quite pleased eating there 2 out of the 4 nights we stayed. The pool area is small, but nice on a sunny summer day. We would go back to the Pullman Bordeaux if we get a chance to go to Bordeaux again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singinpapillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Customer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jérôme LIMOGES
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
#23 of 173 in Bordeaux
901 reviews
Mercure Bordeaux Lac
#36 of 173 in Bordeaux
402 reviews
Le Lac 1
Le Provencal
Le Provencal
#5 of 173 in Bordeaux
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#16 of 173 in Bordeaux
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Bordeaux Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bordeaux Lac

Property: Pullman Bordeaux Lac
Address: avenue Jean Gabriel Domergue | Bordeaux le Lac, 33300, Bordeaux, France (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Bordeaux Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers get a good night's sleep at the Pullman Bordeaux Lac, but that's not all they get at this hotel. Lake views, proximity (of course) to world-renowned vineyards, a casino within easy reach... Our hotel has a direct access by the tramway from/to the city center in 15 minutes. Here on business? The Pullman Bordeaux Lac also features more than 2,000 square metres of flexible meeting space. Our hotel offers conviviality, comfort and connectivity ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Bordeaux Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Aquitania
Sofitel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing