We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dining at a brasserie price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
Ranked #25 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing dining at a brasserie price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The rooms are big, by European standards, and the travel to downtown Bordeaux is easy and less than 2 Euro. You can make it in about 30 minutes using a short bus ride and the Tram. A casino is next door, should you wish to make a donation to the French gambling industry.

But the best offering of this hotel is their dining. I stayed for 3 nights and every night was fantastic. The food is what you would expect in a high price restaurant, but at very reasonable prices. The wine list is extensive and their recommendations make it easy to enjoy a wine perfectly paired with dinner.

The Pullman allows you to enjoy fantastic dining, with great service, for a price of a 3 start hotel. Don't let the location on Bordeaux Lac discourage you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jérôme LIMOGES
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    372
    127
    45
    18
See reviews for
152
343
41
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Oh my! What a bag of contrasts! We stayed here for seven nights. Location - a bit far as had to catch a bus and a tram to get to city centre. Check in was okay, not very friendly. Much of what we did was through self discovery as staff not at all helpful. Room is old and needs a serious uplift. Tin cupboard doors! Tired bathroom. Room service leaves a lot to be desired. Getting ice for the room was a major production, giving you a small glass! Housekeeping is a disaster! It is inconsistent. We had face cloths for one day then when asked for more they did not know what we were talking about. Am still waiting! Only one glass provided for the mini bar fridge! Paper cups to make tea/coffee. On occasion, the rubbish was left on the bathroom counter.....Swimming pool is not easy to find as is tucked away. Although opposite "le lac", we could not get there to walk due to tram construction, which looks far from finished. However, the breakfast room was very pleasant with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast! Staff at the bar in the foyer are extremely rude! On check out, we had to use three different credit cards to find one that worked (after having used our cards all over Bordeaux and Paris without a problem) This hotel does not deserve a four star rating! Will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColetteBeynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jérôme LIMOGES
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our camping trip across France was cut short outside Bordeaux, we were advised to stay in a hotel until our camper van was fixed. When we got to the hotel with bags of wet / sandy clothes and tired children we were met by very friendly staff and a welcoming room. The breakfast was outstanding (the best I have ever had) and the staff were so friendly. Our stay changed from 2 days to 6 but we were advised where to go and what to do. The children loved every minute and thats hard when they are 6, 8 and 17. The pool was never too busy and was deep and clean. Pool, snooker and darts was free. Two TV's in the family room and when our door lock broke we were upgraded and when the TV didn't work we were upgraded again.

The only criticism was the air conditioning.... not cold enough in the family bedrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronweasley60978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jérôme LIMOGES
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here "en route" to Portugal and decided to avoid Accor Group Hotels in the future whenever possible after this stay, as we had to come to the conclusion that in reality the entire Pullman range is just a souped-up Ibis. Poor valet service, free parking which in the end proved to be paying, restaurant with 6 occupied tables and 6 waiters where the staff still manages to screw up and leave tables totally unattended, a real shame. Breakfast mediocre ..... we were confronted with how bad it was on our next leg, where we stayed in fabulous and ueber-valeted Landa Palace in Burgos where we had a suite in the historic building for the same price and where the restaurant, although not perfect was better waited with half the staff and double the amount of customers. Accor: get some decent hotel management or just rebrand the groupe to "Groupe Ibis".

Room Tip: Go to the IBIS next door and save some money.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jérôme LIMOGES
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We used this hotel as a stop over in our holiday trip.
It is well located for this purposenear the motorway but far enough not to have any inconvenience from the noice. Located close to a lake it is very quiet. We encoutered a excellent staff, very helpfull, especially the concierge who helped us a lot.
Travelling into the city center will take you 20-30 min depending on traffic, try to use you own car or public transportation since cabs needs to come from city center.
Rooms are OK pullman style, nothing special to mention.
Excellent breakfast in the morning close to the swimmingpool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Je tenais à vous remercier d'avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos impressions.
Nous sommes enchantés d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié ce séjour et nous espérons vous accueillir de nouveau au PULLMAN de Bordeaux.

Sincèrement,

Jérôme LIMOGES
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Pullman as part of our drive to Spain from the UK. The location was ideal for this purpose and was easy to find (with sat nav). We initially parked outside to unload and after a few minutes was asked if we needed help to carry bags and even park the car. We declined and the concierge almost appeared to be offended! The check in was very good, professional and quick and we were 'upgraded' to lake view rooms. Actually the hotel contacted me after I booked before the rooms and we already had interconnecting arranged as we had 4 children with us which was the first time this had happened and good service.

The rooms were well appointed and the bed extremely good, apart from the air con not quite getting cold enough there was really nothing to fault. There is everything you need including the nespresso machines and free soft drinks from the mini bar. We had a long drive that day and eaten along the way, so only really wanted snack type food for the Children, here is the mixed feelings part....We decided to eat in the bar area and not the restaurant (which looked extremely good). I ordered our first drinks in French and a white wine turned up as a Pina Colada, don't ask me how! but from then in the waitress did not speak to us. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and this was the absolute worst attitude I have ever experienced. We felt extremely uncomfortable as she expressed her feelings to the other staff who just stared at us. We ordered food and had the plates thrown on the table with the waitress walking away at the same time. Not a word spoken before during or after the meal. OK my French is not that good but I tried, however this is an international hotel and the waitress spoke perfect English but chose not to. The breakfast was good and a bit of everything from hold food to a good buffet selection, the service in here was very good and we were well looked after. What a great shame that one member of staff spoilt our overnight stay which would have been 5 star rated if not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambkofta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGGM, Directeur général at Pullman Bordeaux Lac, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jérôme LIMOGES
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
#23 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Mercure Bordeaux Lac
#35 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Le Lac 1
Le Provencal
Le Provencal
#8 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#17 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Bordeaux Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Bordeaux Lac

Property: Pullman Bordeaux Lac
Address: avenue Jean Gabriel Domergue | Bordeaux le Lac, 33300, Bordeaux, France (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#2 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Bordeaux Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers get a good night's sleep at the Pullman Bordeaux Lac, but that's not all they get at this hotel. Lake views, proximity (of course) to world-renowned vineyards, a casino within easy reach... Our hotel has a direct access by the tramway from/to the city center in 15 minutes. Here on business? The Pullman Bordeaux Lac also features more than 2,000 square metres of flexible meeting space. Our hotel offers conviviality, comfort and connectivity ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Bordeaux Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Bordeaux Aquitania Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Aquitania
Sofitel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing