We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hotel close to the city train station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Warm hotel close to the city train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The reception team are young and nice. It seemed to be a problem with the reservation done, but at the end it was solved.
Rooms are warm and very clean, and they have anything a traveler should need.
Breakfast was as expected; really good and you could choose at your desire.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGENOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    252
    135
    52
    32
See reviews for
63
211
72
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here in October for 5 nights. Hotel is located one tram stop away from the train station and contrary to what one might expect there was no trouble. Tram costs €1.40 and you get an hour for your money. If you walk from the train station it will take just over 5 minutes. Shuttle bus from the airport to the train station takes just over 30 mins and costs €7 one way or €12 return. Well worth the money and a regular service. The hotel is 2 to 3 stops away from the quays and you are bang in the centre of the city. Alternatively a 20 min walk approx. It is very well located. It was a clean hotel although there were sewer smells at times throughout the hotel. This is not the hotel as it can also be caught outside the hotel. Our room, 411, was on the 4th floor and we had a wonderful balcony area. Nice views and nice to spend time having breakfast or an aperitif. King size room cost €165 per night. A little costly especially for the month of October. However it was a treat so ... We did not eat there so cannot comment. Staff were very friendly and polite. This is a 4 star hotel but standards differ in each country. It would need a little more to be a 4 start in the UK and Ireland. However I could not find any fault. It is a standard hotel in a number of ways but we had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have balconies on one side. Ask if you're interested. Costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillybobIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed a week here while working in Bordeaux. I found the staff very friendly and a true mine of local knowledge
From the cleaners who always kept the place spotless and cheerfully
responded to my morning 'bonjour'. To the night time staff who put up with
us unwinding at the bar till the wee small hours of the morning. All of them
were outstanding!
The food was also exceptional, some of the nicest I have ever had in a hotel
anywhere in the world and a credit to Bordeaux!
I would particularly like to thank Natalie on the front desk. A true mine of
local information and always willing to take time to help. From the moment I
checked in I felt at home and amongst friends.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the first floor have a useful balcony. Where you can sit and enjoy birdsong in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed two nights here, in what is a fairly typical modern hotel, with little character. On the plus side, there is secure parking and the trams stop just a few yards up the street and provide cheap and reliable transport into the centre of the town. (Bordeaux surprised us in that it is much bigger than we imagined, and very busy on the roads in and out. The trams were an important aspect for us once in town.) We also found a pleasant white wine on the wine list. The area where the hotel is situated is not at all interesting so you do need to go into town to eat. A significant problem for us was that the air-conditioning was not working (throughout the hotel we were told) and given that the weather was warm and humid, this did not make for a good stay. We should have been told in advance by email (we booked via the internet) or at the very least at check-in. The in-room safes had also failed. The hotel adjusted the bill to reflect the issues but I would have preferred a comfortable stay rather than a cut-price one. I suggest that the availability of air-conditioning be checked if you are making a booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

On a cold and rainy night in late September, we were grateful to have booked a room in this ideally located and cozy haven just minutes from the Gare St. Jean station. Our room was clean, well appointed, spacious, and the king size bed was most comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent for a change.

We especially appreciated the manager, Cedric Le Millan, and his staff who were helpful and highly attentive to our needs. They took the time to offer sightseeing tips and tram suggestions.

Room Tip: Our room 402 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris2010LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a fairly average Mercure, the rooms and bathrooms are fine, the reception area is very nice, breakfast was reasonable although the hot items looked a little uninviting.

The major problem is the noise of the ventilation/aircon system during the night. I even tried turning it off but there was still a lot of noise and intermittent low frequency rumbling noise (plus it was too hot with it switched off). I barely got a wink of sleep unfortunately. Were it not for the noise I would return as you can get pretty low prices via a lot of the hotel booking sites and the location is very convenient for the station.

The building is fairly old and I would suggest the ventilation systems needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed two nights here, not value for money, stayed in a room facing the tram line , heard it rumble most of the night , the hotel doesn't tell you this, but still takes your money. One thing you expect from a hotel is a good nights sleep, you don't get it here, perhaps if you were in a back room may be different. The shower didn't drain properly. The lift gave a back jarring jolt every time it stopped.
However the bed was huge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
BEST WESTERN Gare Saint Jean
#18 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
1.5 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Gare Saint-Jean
0.2 mi away
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
1.3 mi away
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
#38 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Address: 28 rue de Tauzia, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#18 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated in 2010, the Mercure Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean hotel has 99 quiet, spacious and air-conditioned rooms. You can easily reach the heart of the city center from this hotel, which is 273 yards (250 m) from the TGV train station in the Saint-Jean district (a UNESCO world heritage site). It is an ideal place for your business meetings and tourist trips. The hotel offers Wi-Fi, a bar, a restaurant, 1615 sq. ft. (150 m²) of conference space and an indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean Hotel Bordeaux
Hotel Bordeaux City Centre
Holiday Inn Bordeaux
City Centre Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing