We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for Lunch”

Plume Bakery & Coffee
Ranked #1 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer meals, sandwiches , soups, pastries and some sweets that we make ourselves, from fresh produce. We make our own bread! Not to mention that we have a large coffee preparations card and original drinks.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for Lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Dropped in here for a light lunch, managed to get a small table, all we needed and set about enjoying our soup and sandwiches, lots of choice, home made bread, fresh ingredients with interesting fillings and big enough to satisfy you after a morning of walking.
The staff are very good despite being rushed off their feet, none of them seemed to stop as the place was so busy but they still had time to help with choices.
It was full of locals and visitors and well worthy of it's high listing in reviews.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    184
    40
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an amazing place to enjoy a relaxed lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to have lunch in Bordeaux. The food was very tasty and beautifully presented. It was difficult to make a choice as everything looked healthy. The service was great - we got an explanation for all the dishes and best wine pairings. The place is very cozy and during our visit on Saturday it was full of families, couples and friends - a very chilled atmosphere. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilviaBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat lunch”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a great lunch spot located close to the City Hall and Cathedral part of downtown Bordeaux (Hotel de Ville et Place Pey Berland). The menu changes daily and it's always fresh, homemade and interesting. The owner speaks English and makes you feel welcome. It's also someplace where you can eat outside of the traditional hours of a french lunch. If you show up at 2:30, you'll still get served. It's on a small side street with a few other interesting shops around it. It is well-worth seeking out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious & Charming”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Plume gave us one of our very best lunch-time dining experiences in France. The menu offers an inventive, tasty selection of salads, soups, and sandwiches -- highly original in conception and execution, and deliciously different from standard French cafe fare. The staff, meanwhile, are friendly, welcoming, and attentive. The smoked duck sandwich we gobbled down on our first visit was so good we had to return for seconds the next day, when we also delighted in a superb cold carrot soup. Now all we need is for Plume to open a branch in our home town!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good value and great service. What more could you want?”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you are like me, and want to spend your money on homemade, tasty, good quality ingredients then try this place for brunch/lunch. Just off the main shopping thoroughfare this is a great place to refresh after whatever activity you have been doing, in our case shopping.

We arrived at 12:30ish and it was already pleasantly busy with locals (always a good sign). The waiter informed us in French and then also fluent English that he will take us through the plat de jour options before we are seated so that you can visually see what the options are and choose from the counter, they do not have menus as the menu constantly changes (again a good sign in my book). We then chose our option and sat at a pleasant table inside, though you could sit outside too. The staff were very pleasant, we were automatically given tap water rather than bottled and we had dessert (a great carrot cake but there are lots to choose from - again all home made). We washed our main course down with a great rose, so all in all great value and I would definitely visit again. Go now.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank easytigercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume Bakery & Coffee also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Plume Bakery & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing