We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Burdigala(Bordeaux)
$302
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$272
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$233
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$175
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$131
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$136
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel de Seze(Bordeaux)
$311
$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yndohotel(Bordeaux)
$551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$478
$416
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveler rating
243
518
198
65
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
518
198
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wine and cheeseevery eveninggreat locationcroissantsplace gambettagrand hommestriple roomcity breakthe hotel offerspublic parkingthree starcentral locationsmall balconywithin walking distancewould stay here againtourist officecomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The location is ideal; in the center of Bordeaux, not far from the tram stops at Gambetta and Quinconces. But map the address out or you will never find it. The hotel staff told me it was located five minutes from place de Quinconces but it's closer to 10 minutes and only if you know exactly where you are going. Plenty of cafes near and the Carrefour is right down the street. The rooms are small, but nice and clean. The free wireless is great; when it works. Staff are friendly too. The breakfast is basic but included in the price of the room--just adding some fresh fruit will improve things immensely. The bathroom ammenities consist of terrible smelling, institutional liquid soap--upgrading the bathroom amenities will help too. For the girls: most rooms do not have hair dryers but one can be provided by the front desk, assuming someone else isn't using it. I would recommend this hotel but next time, I'll try one of the other two or three star hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Continental Hotel, Bordeaux, with it's tastefully decorated rooms and friendly staff. We took advantage of free breakfast which was really nice. There was a shortage of pillows in the room (1 per person) but over all the rooms were well equipped and quiet and we would therefore, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTurnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This little gem is everything that everyone has raved about - great price, good location, clean, friendly, and helpful. In short, one of those hotels you actually wouldn't want to tell too many people about it - lest it becomes spoiled.

Enjoy it while it lasts Trip Advisor fans!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ri-write
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I've been bringing groups of artists to France to paint since 1993 but this was my first time in Bordeaux. We were a group of 21 and occupied 15 rooms at the Continental. For me it all starts with the reception you get at the desk - the friendliness of the staff. Beatrice and Corinne were great. But I expected that after three months of emailing them almost every day. The rooms were fine, the hotel totally clean, breakfasts more than adequate for a 2 star hotel and the location was great.
There are some things to know: Some of these have been mentioned by other people as well. There is a renovation project going on across the street at the Theatre Francais. They start their work about 7 AM so if you have a room in the front you will hear it. Still, it's not too bad and never really bothered me all that much. Here's some advice on what rooms to ask for and what rooms you might want to avoid. There is a cafe downstairs that stays open to2 AM. If you have a room right over the street you will hear them. For this reason I recommend not taking room 001 or 002 which are one flight up. I would consider a roon from the second floor on up and facing the front. These are high enough away from the street and have windows facing outside.
Some of the rooms face the back or an airshaft and that could be a problem in the heat of summer with too little air circulation. Not every room has A/C so you might want to request a room that does have it, particularly in the warm months. Not every room has hari dryers so you might be bringing your own from home.
The WiFi is great and never failed; they have a big screen computer in the lobby that they offer for free for one hour per client per day. I mentioned the breakfasts. While the breakfast room is large it's kind of bland. Yet the choice of things to eat surpasses the usual continental breakfast you get at 2 star hotels: Coffee, pastries, ham, apple sauce, yogurt, tea, bread and cheese. Not too bad.
So in summarizing - I would not hesitate in going back with a group but I would be better equipped to select my rooms based on the experience of this trip. I also wanted to mention that they provide take out lunches for their clients - that's a new one on me!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyartist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at the Continental based on Trip Advisor reviews. The location is great, very central in a smart area with easy access to trams, shops, restaurants etc. Staff were friendly and spoke English. Our room was TINY, really only a single room, with a shower room (no bath). The window opened onto a light well and directly overlooked other rooms. It was airless and quite dark. Only 1 pillow each.
Breakfast on Saturday morning was a shambles. The lone waitress was very slow, at 9 am there were no cereals or milk left, no yoghurts, no fruit and no orange juice. Coffee came VERY slowly. On Sunday morning we were up early and in breakfast at 7.30. This time we were nearly the only diners but it still took 20 minutes to bring coffee. Croissants and bread were plentiful
Monday morning produced a much more efficient man
Free internet access in the lobby is a plus

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njwoodhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews