We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed June 12, 2013

great location..hotel, a fair price for what you get,clean,breakfast good,staff top class..we .booked a room for 3 people for two nights.just the right size..it rained a bit so we spent some time in our room which was not a problem...wifi ok,cuts out but you can live with that...if your coming from the train station get the tram...1-40 euro...taxi 20-00 euro...trams just outside the station..takes 15min...enjoy...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niksre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Many thanks for your comments.
We’re delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you again next time you’re in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 998 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location, bang in the centre of Bordeaux, lots of eating and shopping options with a few minutes walk and good access to several local sights and public transport (trams). Nice helpful staff. But, the hotel is really run down, slightly grimy and rooms are small and scant. If you get an interior room it will overlook a bleak central outdoor atrium area. Breakfast was passable but you will get better in the local cafes. Bordeaux is beautiful and there are many other hotel options to try that may be better.

Room Tip: Get a street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerCheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We acknowledge receipt of your comments.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We we to the Dordogne area of France. It is a beautiful area. We saw beautiful Chateaus, little towns built in the cliffs, flowers all over and ate great. I must say, if you love fois gras, it's the place to go, but by day 8, we were all ready to go home. It had rained every day and we saw a total of 10 hours of sun. Who can control the weather. We left and were spending our last day in Bordeaux. We got there, it was 52 and rain. We were having trouble with our seats on the return flight. The staff of the hotel, said, "we'll do it, have a glass of wine, don't worry". They were wonderful. They took care of it. The hotel is in a great location to restaurants and shops. The rooms are a nice size and a large bathtub. The cost was 106 euro, which is a great value for a clean hotel with a fairly large room and bathroom. Also includes breakfast.

Room Tip: If you're going, make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delospoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Many thanks for your comments.
We are glad to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel and appreciate the staff.
Looking forward to welcome you again for a next stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were only here for one night but the staff went out of their way to help us enjoy our brief stay in beautiful Bordeaux. They made multiple reservations for us and even opened the kitchen at 4:00 am so we could have some breakfast before our early train. The hotel itself is a little worn around the edges but it's clean and the staff couldn't be nicer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank casey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your compliments will be shared to all the staff.
Looking forward to welcome again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'll start with the plus points which were good location and nice receptionist. The hotel however is in bad need of re-decoration with threadbare carpets on the stairs, an extremely small lift and bedrooms that haven't been touched since the 70's. We stayed her on our last night in France and we had stayed in a B and B in Bordeaux on our first night in France. The B & B was the same price but far more superior than this hotel so I would recommend this as an alternative. I couldn't consider the breakfast fresh- croissants tasted old and fruit salad had run out and I didn't fancy anything else so I can't comment. Overall, I believe there is much better value for money in Bordeaux and the hotel should really think about a revamp!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonaB1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
The hotel was renoveted in 2009 (furniture...).
The bread & croissants are delivered every morning.

We hope this incident will not discourage you from using our hotel for another stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As many of the reviewers have noted, this hotel has seen better days. However, its location, the heart of the old city, can't be beat. My room was small, but quiet & tidy. The hallway outside it was dark & the floor was uneven, not an issue for me, but a liability for the elderly or anyone who's unstable on his/her feet. Breakfast was unremarkable, but was included in the price. The staff were courteous & helpful. Upon arrival, I found a 250ml bottle of Bordeaux in my room. Apparently, the "welcome drink" has been upgraded from a bottle of soda, perhaps because of TA reviews. Unfortunately, however, housekeeping never replaced the glass I used to drink my wine. A clean one for the remainder of my stay would have been nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Many thanks for your comments.
Please accept our apologizes for the glass which was not cleaned during your stay.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you had and Ilook forward to see you again.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a place to stay to explore this beautiful city ,so central to everything ,a short walk from excellent bus service from airport,we were allocated a triple room for our stay which was clean,and comfortable,staff at reception very friendly and mostly bilingual (celene lovely person on reception and very helpful with advice) a small bottle of wine in bedroom on arrival was a nice touch,breakfast was more than god with a wide range of choices only drawback was machine cofee which was slow to dispence which resulted in a bit of a Q
would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel for a visit to Bordeaux whis is a great place to go fror in athmosphere ,history and beautiful 18th century buildings and of course the Wine

Room Tip: we had two visits over a week and would advise to ask for room overlooking front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seantheskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments.

It was a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments will be passed on to Céline.

Looking forward to welecome you for another stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#13 of 177 in Bordeaux
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 177 in Bordeaux
1,151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#20 of 177 in Bordeaux
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental by HappyCulture

Address: 10 rue Montesquieu, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: $77 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Triangle, cultural and historical center of Bordeaux, the Continental is a legendary hotel in the Gironde. A few steps from the major brands, discover this sublime boutique hotel for your stay in Bordeaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing