We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Ranked #28 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a triple room one day in advance. Every booking includes a standard breakfast service, lunch box (we didn't try) and a welcome drink. We needed to ask ourselves for the welcome drink and were basically offered a soft drink. A comment on wine & bordeaux made the receptionist giving us a bottle of wine ;-)
Big asset of the hotel is of course its very central location, perhaps the best in Bordeaux. Hotel building also looks nice. Rooms are outdated, beds are not super comfortable, but okay for one night.
Overall we were satisfied. Price is correct. A triple room for three friends basically was the same price as a hostel...

Note: the hotel does not have a parking, but is located right next to the underground parking "Grands Hommes" (approximately 18 euros per day).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Many thanks for your comments.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 953 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in Central Bordeaux at the beginning of August. On arrival and over the 2 days, the reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is so close to all major attractions, shops, restaurants (there is even one next door) etc as well as being a short walk to the tram station and bus stop for the airport.
Our room was small but ok for 2 nights-I would not have wanted to spend much longer in it. The bed was comfortable and there was a good shower.The room looked out over the back of the hotel and was not noisy. However it was SO hot and there was no air con. Even having the windows wide open (so people from other rooms could see in) made no difference so this was uncomfortable. We stayed out late to limit the amount of time in the room.
Breakfast was a range of cold items but I can't really forgive tinned fruit!
I would return as the location was excellent and I believe some rooms do have air con so would ask for one of those-or go in the winter!
There was use of a computer in the reception area which was good although the logging on process was frustrating.

Room Tip: Ask for one with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanitaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Many thank for your comment.
We are happy to know you have enjoied your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have air conditionning in all the rooms but we have fans at the reception to provide in the rooms.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

......... but just too old and worn !! Having said that, the Hotel Continental well served our purpose of a 2 night stay in a good location of Bordeaux. Our immediate impression was surprise at how small and worn it looked but we got a good welcome at reception. Turning to the lift to go up to our room we had to wonder if it was a joke as it looked ancient, not just old, but it functioned - if a little slowly. The room itself was small but had double windows which opened out to a tiny balcony allowing us to sit in the sun and fresh air overlooking the street below in which to enjoy our complementary welcome drink of a half bottle of Vin Rouge. This was a turning point and we quickly came to overlook the shortcomings, another of which was the lack of a room safe (reception will put any valuables in an envelope and put them in a central safe). The toilet and shower were, at best, acceptable. The breakfasts were fine considering they were included in the room price, not charged extra. The WiFi did not work in the room but we got sufficient signal in the reception area so used it there. Our two previous hotels had been a Radisson Blu and a Novotel, both very modern, so this was always going to be a bit different and probably unfair to compare. Hotel Continental is an old traditional hotel but we feel has it's place too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBCTouristas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Many thank for your comment.
We are glad to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel inspite of some little disapointements (lift & wifi).
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just leaving after three night stay. The staff were helpful and friendly ,room clean ,breakfast good , wifi connection adequate and an ideal location to see Bordeaux. pleasantly surprised after previous reviews.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Many thanks for your comments.
We are glad to know you have appreciate your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked this hotel primarily for its excellent location in Bordeaux and as we were only staying for one night I didn't want to break the bank. All in all I have to say we got what we paid for and I think the recent negative reviews are probably a bit harsh. Yes the hotel doesn't deserve its 3* rating but it's typical of many 2* hotels in Europe and is perfectly adequate. The room is small but the bed is a good size and comfortable. We could have done with air conditioning though. The lift is quite slow and can be a bit frustrating at times. The entire hotel is probably in need of a facelift.
Staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was fine, WiFi is available but you have to log in everytime you want to use it which is a nuisance. There is a public car park close by.
For a short stay in Bordeaux this hotel is fine and fairly priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning, although you will pay a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We thank you for your comments and are dhappy to know that you enjoyed your stay among us.
Hoping to welcome you during a next stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

In theory this is a 3* hotel. In practice it's only quality is the fantastic location. The hotel is old, the elevation takes ages to arrive and equally long to take you to your floor. The rooms (most of them have not been renovated) are tight, old, basic, lacking any charm whatsoever, don't have air conditioning nor does the tight little back courtyard allow for any air to enter the room. Just to our luck it was 25 degrees outside, 37 inside our room. The breakfast is very basic with industrial croissants, canned fruit, sock juice coffee. If you're looking for the charm of Bordeaux in your hotel this hotel will offer you the opposite (we fled the next day and only didn't do so the first night as we arrived after 10PM). If you're looking for comfort, charm, a nice and pleasant stay then definitely avoid this place.....

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We took well comnnaissance of your comments and we are sorry that your stay is not as high as your waitings.
All our rooms are not unfortunately air-conditioned and we offer to our clients of fans. It is true that mid-August we had an exceptional heat wave and that it was really warm very in Claret.
The bread and viennoiseries are delivered every morning to the hotel by a bakery and we have changed lately of mark of coffee.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I had the unpleasant experience of staying in this hotel for two nights in August 2012.
The information provided about the hotel was misleading, so we were unprepared for the following experience:

There was no air conditioning, had to open the window to let in the 30 degree air.
No minibar/ fridge.
It was very noisy, all night from the street life, and early in the morning, every morning the bin truck would come and do the street.
All the walls in the room were covered in laminated thin wood panels, that made you feel like you were in a shipping container, and was about as small as one.
No room to swing a cat, nor to put any of your stuff, you could not pull the chair out from under the desk to sit on it.
Very ugly room, uncomfortable bed and pillow, differed from the advertised picture.
The power to the TV was turned off after 10pm every night, we plugged it into a different socket to make it work after 10pm, something to do with the walls being paper thin.
The free WiFi internet was extremely slow and unreliable, they may as well not have provided it. They also turned off the internet after midnight, something to do with treating the guests like children.
The lift didn’t work some of the time, just didn’t arrive, made carting luggage around difficult, we were glad we didn’t get stuck in it. Once you got into it, you never knew which floor you were going to be let out on.
The shower was dirty, the floor was dirty, the sheets were dirty, there were stale biscuits under the bed, in fact, every bit of the hotel room/cell was dirty. Even the liquid soap in the shower looked dirty, so we used our own. The toilet was so dirty I was afraid to touch the button.
Heard the person in the next room snoring, that’s how thin the walls were, not like other hotels in France that have solid brick between rooms.
On checkout they were rude, no customer service, probably worried about their face cracking if they smiled a little.
Forget the free breakfast, but you should all know by now that the French are not known for their buffet breakfasts, its free, but of poor quality and variety, just continental.
So I also used the toilet in restaurant area, no toilet paper in one cubical, no toilet roll holder in any of the cubicles, no soap, no towel, and the light automatically turns off after 60 seconds, I don’t know about you but that’s not long enough to snap one off.
I don’t know how it’s possible to make a guest feel embarrassed, but they succeeded, and everyone else there looked miserable.
I suppose this is why they make you pay upfront, rather than the better hotels where you pay on departure.
So please book another hotel.

Room Tip: rooms booked outside of this hotel will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Let us start by thanking you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay at our property.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
We are really sorry that you ayiez no been satisfied with your room.
When our clients determine a problem of cleanness or that he room does not like it, we try hard to change them of room and to give them to them another room.
As you specify it, (cleanness of the room and of the toilets of the room of breakfasts) we assure you to have taken necessary measures to avoid that this type of incident does not reproduce any more.
We hope to keep your confiance for another stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#14 of 175 in Bordeaux
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
0.2 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Bordeaux Clemenceau by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental by HappyCulture

Address: 10 rue Montesquieu, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price Range: $88 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Triangle, cultural and historical center of Bordeaux, the Continental is a legendary hotel in the Gironde. A few steps from the major brands, discover this sublime boutique hotel for your stay in Bordeaux. Every day, discover our HappyTime "Wine & Cheese" from 6pm to 8pm, you are our guests ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing