We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Nearby Hotels
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$178
$124
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac(Bordeaux)(Great Value!)
$72
$69
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Aeroport(Merignac)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$64
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Bordeaux Lac(Bruges)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveler rating
240
510
197
64
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
510
197
64
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wine and cheeseevery eveninggreat locationcroissantsplace gambettagrand hommestriple roomcity breakthe hotel offerspublic parkingthree starcentral locationsmall balconywithin walking distancewould stay here againtourist officecomfortable hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in Central Bordeaux at the beginning of August. On arrival and over the 2 days, the reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is so close to all major attractions, shops, restaurants (there is even one next door) etc as well as being a short walk to the tram station and bus stop for the airport.
Our room was small but ok for 2 nights-I would not have wanted to spend much longer in it. The bed was comfortable and there was a good shower.The room looked out over the back of the hotel and was not noisy. However it was SO hot and there was no air con. Even having the windows wide open (so people from other rooms could see in) made no difference so this was uncomfortable. We stayed out late to limit the amount of time in the room.
Breakfast was a range of cold items but I can't really forgive tinned fruit!
I would return as the location was excellent and I believe some rooms do have air con so would ask for one of those-or go in the winter!
There was use of a computer in the reception area which was good although the logging on process was frustrating.

Room Tip: Ask for one with air con
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanitaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Many thank for your comment.
We are happy to know you have enjoied your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have air conditionning in all the rooms but we have fans at the reception to provide in the rooms.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

......... but just too old and worn !! Having said that, the Hotel Continental well served our purpose of a 2 night stay in a good location of Bordeaux. Our immediate impression was surprise at how small and worn it looked but we got a good welcome at reception. Turning to the lift to go up to our room we had to wonder if it was a joke as it looked ancient, not just old, but it functioned - if a little slowly. The room itself was small but had double windows which opened out to a tiny balcony allowing us to sit in the sun and fresh air overlooking the street below in which to enjoy our complementary welcome drink of a half bottle of Vin Rouge. This was a turning point and we quickly came to overlook the shortcomings, another of which was the lack of a room safe (reception will put any valuables in an envelope and put them in a central safe). The toilet and shower were, at best, acceptable. The breakfasts were fine considering they were included in the room price, not charged extra. The WiFi did not work in the room but we got sufficient signal in the reception area so used it there. Our two previous hotels had been a Radisson Blu and a Novotel, both very modern, so this was always going to be a bit different and probably unfair to compare. Hotel Continental is an old traditional hotel but we feel has it's place too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBCTouristas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Many thank for your comment.
We are glad to know you enjoied your stay in our hotel inspite of some little disapointements (lift & wifi).
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just leaving after three night stay. The staff were helpful and friendly ,room clean ,breakfast good , wifi connection adequate and an ideal location to see Bordeaux. pleasantly surprised after previous reviews.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Many thanks for your comments.
We are glad to know you have appreciate your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you again in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked this hotel primarily for its excellent location in Bordeaux and as we were only staying for one night I didn't want to break the bank. All in all I have to say we got what we paid for and I think the recent negative reviews are probably a bit harsh. Yes the hotel doesn't deserve its 3* rating but it's typical of many 2* hotels in Europe and is perfectly adequate. The room is small but the bed is a good size and comfortable. We could have done with air conditioning though. The lift is quite slow and can be a bit frustrating at times. The entire hotel is probably in need of a facelift.
Staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was fine, WiFi is available but you have to log in everytime you want to use it which is a nuisance. There is a public car park close by.
For a short stay in Bordeaux this hotel is fine and fairly priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning, although you will pay a little more.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We thank you for your comments and are dhappy to know that you enjoyed your stay among us.
Hoping to welcome you during a next stay in Bordeaux.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

In theory this is a 3* hotel. In practice it's only quality is the fantastic location. The hotel is old, the elevation takes ages to arrive and equally long to take you to your floor. The rooms (most of them have not been renovated) are tight, old, basic, lacking any charm whatsoever, don't have air conditioning nor does the tight little back courtyard allow for any air to enter the room. Just to our luck it was 25 degrees outside, 37 inside our room. The breakfast is very basic with industrial croissants, canned fruit, sock juice coffee. If you're looking for the charm of Bordeaux in your hotel this hotel will offer you the opposite (we fled the next day and only didn't do so the first night as we arrived after 10PM). If you're looking for comfort, charm, a nice and pleasant stay then definitely avoid this place.....

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel altogether.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conti33, Gérant at Hotel Continental by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We took well comnnaissance of your comments and we are sorry that your stay is not as high as your waitings.
All our rooms are not unfortunately air-conditioned and we offer to our clients of fans. It is true that mid-August we had an exceptional heat wave and that it was really warm very in Claret.
The bread and viennoiseries are delivered every morning to the hotel by a bakery and we have changed lately of mark of coffee.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

B. MALINGE
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews