We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #32 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

A nice quiet hotel. The room was very comfortable and bathroom large. We had helpful service from the staff when asking about where to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    199
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
228
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel is very well placed, being right in the centre of Bordeaux - less than a short walk from the tourist office, Grand Theatre, Bar a Vin (wonderful place if you're into wine!), almost beside a tram stop. It is on a quiet side street, so noise at night is not a problem.

The hotel has secure parking (book in advance if you need it) and be prepared for a bit of manoeuvring as the space is quite tight. A good satnav will bring you to the door.

The hotel staff, I found, were helpful though not effusive. My room was very small - a double for single occupancy at €90; a couple would have found it a real squeeze! Friends who had booked a 'superior' room were very pleased with theirs however. Breakfast was adequate though not stunning with the usual French fare of coffee and bread/croissants, cold meat/cheese and various yoghurts/pastries. The hotel does not have a restaurant but this is no hardship, given the vast choice within a five to ten minute walk, with many even closer.

Not an option if you wish to luxuriate in opulent splendour, but ideal if you're seeking a good, comfortable base for your visit to Bordeaux and its surrounds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayoabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hotel Majestic was great. The only downfall was we could hear our neighbor showering in the morning. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom was large for European standards. The hotel was within walking distance to everything you wanted to see. The breakfast was so/so. I would recommend finding a paul's and going there instead as cheaper and better. They sell out of reserved parking spots fast and public parking is twice as expensive, so if you need parking, book far in advance.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lldohmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Facilities were generally quite good except for the AC in our room which did not work.
Some of the staff members were a little rude and seemed intent on keeping the hotel as "silent" as possible. Talking in the lobby at 7pm was discouraged!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
264 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Sound location in heavily promoted part of the city. Good rooms. Fairly smileless service. Adequate breakfast. Not a place to relax and linger.

Room Tip: Go for 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Awesome location in a quiet street in the centre of bordeaux, friendly staff, big clean room and good breakfast. Taxi from train station cost us 15 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The central location of this hotel is great, in a couple of minutes you can walk to the river front or the Grand Theatre. Bordeaux is a lovely city to walk round. We opted for a standard size room which was fine although the bathroom layout was rather odd in that your knees were pressed up against the side of the bath when you sat on the loo! The hotel staff were pleasant. We didn't take the breakfast which at €12 per person was rather expensive for standard French breakfast fare - there are plenty of smart cafes nearby as an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Englishviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
Hotel des 4 Soeurs
#80 of 173 in Bordeaux
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
0.0 mi away
Hotel de L'Opera
Hotel de L'Opera
#97 of 173 in Bordeaux
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Property: Hotel Majestic
Address: 2 rue de Conde, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bordeaux
#14 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing