We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climb the tower”

St. Andre Cathedral (Cathedrale Saint-Andre)
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.28*
and up
Bordeaux Segway Tour
Ranked #5 of 201 things to do in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This beautiful 17th century church is one of Bordeaux's main attractions.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Climb the tower”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Climb the tower for the best view of the city.Costs just a few euros and the climb isnt all that bad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    493
    103
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Another large cathedral”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our first stop in Bordeaux was the Cathedral. Part of the outside was rather dark but it also had scaffolding up and was being renovated. It will look lovely when finished especially as it is situated in a large open square. Inside it had nothing to commend it from other cathedrals.
From there, we walked along a street opposite to the heart of the city - not far. Many shops lined the route as well as cafes near the Cathedral. Once in the centre, we went to the Tourist Office.
Unlike others, this one was packed with long queues with different counters for different things.
Some people wanted to book wine tours of which there are many. There are also three different bus schemes, the little Dotto train, a medium size bus and the large Open Top bus all of which we had to book in the Tourist Office although I am sure some people managed to book on board. Our medium size yellow bus advertised a glass of wine with the trip but what they do is give you a voucher to a tasting session at a nearby establishment. The tour itself is very good with headphones in different languages and we got a first-rate overview of the city which we liked very much. Also in this large area was the magnificent Opera House opposite the Grand Hotel where people were sitting at tables outside. Large cities are not all the same and whereas we were disappointed with Toulouse, Bordeaux seemed to sparkle like its wine. We would like to return and see more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic Place”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A visit to Bordeaux would not be complete without a visit .a guided tour with all the facts is a must

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seantheskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Impressive cathedral”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

As most cathedrals are, this one is quite impressive and worth a visit if visiting Bordeaux. Imagine the history behind it. It was built in 1096.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMINYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Impressive ceiling, very atmsopheric. Lots of interesting paintings in the chapels, a pleasant and spiritual stroll was very enjoyable. Outside is being spruced up as was Tour Pey-Berland.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Andre Cathedral (Cathedrale Saint-Andre) also viewed

 

Been to St. Andre Cathedral (Cathedrale Saint-Andre)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing