We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel Particulier
Ranked #7 of 90 Bordeaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming family run hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Bordeaux is a beautiful and fun city with excellent food and great proximity to many of the world's great wines. Highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting. Excellent and friendly service and really cute rooms within walking distance to many great restaurants and sights within the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    112
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
184
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

So much of this place I loved. I wonder though if two sorts of stays go on in this place. Those who are in the grand bedrooms with antique furniture and those who are not. We were in one of the 1 bed apartments (Place de la Comedie - ho, ho, ho) which was on the first floor up the modern bright red, black and grey stairwell at the back - no dreamy pastels and old stone here. No lift either. Bordeaux had a storm the day before we came and a funny smell stubbornly sat in the stairwell the whole of our 4 night stay. In our appartment, a little atrium led to a living area consisting mainly of a kitchen in a cupboard (sink, hob, microwave and fridge) , those ridiculously high table and chairs which are super stylish but a swine to get on and off of and a sofa bed (medium comfort level.) TV had slightly flakey reception - EuroSport one night but not the next. Two fans to cope with the heat. The one bedroom had a good bed but only about 8 inches between the end of it and the wall which led to crab impersonations to get to the wardrobes. The worst though was the RIDICULOUSLY small bathroom. A person at the sink blocked access to the loo and the shower unless they shuffled to 1 side.

Two specific things though made me quite sad.
One of the curtain poles broke at breakfast so we told them about 10.30. About 5pm on our return, nobody had even looked at it to see what was needed. The very helpful man at reception sorted it (thanks lots and lots) but the need to go back a second time for help - not good.
The second was on our last but one day we got a 4cm square blood stain on our white duvet cover. Obvious to see. When we came back in the evening, the duvet had been turned so that the stain was underneath. I assume this was done to avoid changing the cover. Really bad in my books.
Oh and the towels went from fluffy and full to thin and hard.

The location is quite convenient. We parked our car outside, unloaded, then parked in the public carpark just down the road. But that was 19 euros a day which I think a bit steep. There is also a small but perfectly formed Monoprix in the next door shopping mall where the carpark is. Sells everything.

I can see why lots of people love this place. I am just not one of them now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great centrally located hotel. Beautiful rooms, well appointed with very welcome air conditioning and large windows that opened on to a small balcony. nespesso coffee available at a really reasonable price. Beds so comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful and the whole hotel was scrupulously clean and well cared for. It isn't cheap but well worth the money. The building is amazing and the courtyard a great place to relax. We had no complaints and would definitely come again if in Bordeaux. The children particularly. Loved the quaint lift. I highly recommend as a stylish place from which to explore Bordeaux.

Room Tip: The Richard Wagner had a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautifully restored old townhouse right in the urban centre of Bordeaux. A mixture of the old restored scattered tastefully woth modern desgin elements? Only 5 rooms plus an apartment. A great location from which to explore Bordeaux by foot and on the great new tram system- no need for a car. Highly recommended as a place to stay! For French standards a great breakfast included

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at L'Hotel Particulier and were impressed with our spacious suite which was tastefully furnished and had a very comfortable bed and excellent towels in the bathroom.
The staff were particularly friendly, professional and nothing was a trouble.and their recommendation for local restaurants were spot on.
Breakfast was very good and you felt more like member of the family than a hotel guest,overall a very pleasant experience right in the heart of the old city of Bordeaux.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravellers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lleida, Spain.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place, nice rooms, lovely staff, BUT: the front street doesn't allow cars circulation, so you'll have to park the car at the nearest parking place (375 long metres) carrying all the bags and when you finnally reach the hotel, you realize there are no elevators.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulises357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Our room was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. We had the option to have breakfast in the dining room, which was lovely.. plenty of fresh breads and pastries, fruit, yogurt, and eggs cooked to your liking. The location is close to city center with many restaurants, cafes, and shops within walkinh distance. The train station was also easily accessible, which was important to us as we wanted to spend a day in Saint Emilion. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganAnn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 174 in Bordeaux
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#8 of 174 in Bordeaux
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Particulier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Particulier

Property: L'Hotel Particulier
Address: 44 rue Vital Carles, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Particulier 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas and Alizée San José, brother and sister, are very happy to introduce their establishment to you. Behind the imposing carriage door, five guest rooms and six apartments (Standard, Superior and two-room apartments), enjoying an exemplary style and comfort.With an ideal location, it is situated two steps away from the Bordeaux Cathedral (Cathédrale Saint-André de Bordeaux) and in front of the magnificent Hôtel du Quartier Général. The rue Vital Carles is well-known for its central location, its history and historical monuments.Brother and sister offer a new concept of tourist accommodation. Right in the city centre, L'Hôtel Particulier offers the possibility to choose between apartments and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your L'Hotel Particulier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing