We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed after the Marathon du Medoc”
Review of Le Grill Bordelais

Le Grill Bordelais
Reserve with
Le Grill Bordelais is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #280 of 2,431 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Berkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just what we needed after the Marathon du Medoc”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After we five middle aged athletes completed the Marathon du Medoc, we were in need of some good quality protein and red wine to aid our recovery! Le Grill Bordelais did not disappoint. After some cold meats to start we all plumped for the 300g entrecote served with the most enormous bowl of piping hot fries and green salad. Steaks were all cooked to requirements over a charcoal grill which can be seen from the restaurant. Simple food done really well with a good selection of sensibly priced wines.

Restaurant was full and buzzy. Service was good and it was a nice touch to bring out a chocolate brownie with sparkler to mark my wife's birthday.

As we all began to sink into the west comforted by the wine and the heat from the charcoal grill our aching limbs relaxed and we all agreed it was a perfect end to a really great day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TomSawyer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    66
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Masters of barbecued meat”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a great meal at this restaurant and did not have to take out a mortgage to do so. The meat is excellent, whichever sort you choose, and cooked over an open charcoal fire. The grill of the day arrives with crisp hot chips and a simple green salad - absolutely perfect. A wide selection of wines sensibly priced. My husband raved about the Chateau Cantaloup. In total this is a restaurant to be recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meat!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Does what it says on the tin. We are not usually big meat eaters but this place does it well, simply grilling over an open fire. Chips are good to.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank forgerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere...”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Remind the opening times... They do not like to continue serving after closure time :-)
Problem is that everything is too good. We had the Grill of the day. Very nice and simply served, with a good Bordeaux wine and a Cafe Gourment Dessert.

Price Grill; 10€
Wine; 20€
Dessert; 7€

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VHFNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good find for grilled meats”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a great little place for my husband to satisfy his craving for a simple "steak-frites" and for me to have wonderfully grilled duck breast. The meat is prepared over a charcoal grill and the frites are fresh and tasty. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleN0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grill Bordelais also viewed

 

Been to Le Grill Bordelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing