We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise found....”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bordeaux, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sianoc64
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise found....”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a treat to have found this place. Victoria, the owner, brought fruit and veg from her garden and is such a wonderful host with lots of suggestions. I fell in love with St Emilion, thoroughly recommend visiting there. The house is perfect, large and plenty of room to escape each other, always a sunny and shaded area at all parts of the day. Kayaking down the river with kingfishers racing by, cycling, fishing, all made for a wonderful family holiday. I hope to visit again. Coming back to normality after a holiday is usually tough, but this time it was particularly bad. A huge thumbs up from all the family. Including teenagers, no small feat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: exploring the house on the first day
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thank you for taking time to write your review.I am delighted you had a wonderful holiday and look forward to you visiting again.
Regards Ann and Victoria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjam B
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absoluty beautiful place, great for stargazing”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were a bit confused. It is not everyday that you're expected to drive through someone's lawn to reach your destination. And what a destination it was, absolutely beautiful to behold. Plenty of space for the four of us, always a place in the sun and in the shadow to be found. You could find privacy when you wanted, relax and watch the river flow by. Or watch the birds, or the lizards chasing each other.
The living area was on the top floor, which meant climbing stairs a lot, but that helped walking off all the nice French croissants we ate. The roof terrace was great for watching the stars at night. It was so much darker than at home!
We made a couple of trips up and down the river with the canoes provided. Both the upstream and downstream mills are just far enough away to make for a good trip and a nice view to reward you for your activity.
Victoria was an absolutely great host, bringing us baskets with vegetables from her garden every so often. She also had great tips about the markets and nice places to visit.
I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to step out of the hectic life for a bit and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the wildlife and stargazing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabella4
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Every Moment was a Photographic Opportunity - Truly Picturesque - we loved it.”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were so excited to arrive at last in France on holiday. Travelling from Belfast to Bordeaux only took a few hours on a direct flight. What took longer was getting our car hire as the queue was extremely long at Europcar, even though we'd already paid on-line. Please note, having a Sat-Nav is imperative if you don't want to get lost. Just type in Lieu de Moulin de Neuffons or try Monsegur and you should get there in approx 1hr.

The Mill made our eyes light up with delight when we arrived in Saturday evening. Victoria the owner was there to greet us and show us around. She was extremely friendly and helpful, always leaving fruit and veg for us at a side window. We asked her about a few things including restaurants and places to visit. There is a tourist information office in Monsegur but it's not open on Sunday or Monday. The mill is a photographer's paradise. Every nook is intriguing and enchanting. My husband, son and daughter all loved being here. Ian (hubby) loved the peacefulness, visiting chateaux and sun worshiping, Tom (son) enjoyed the french cuisine and practising his french, Zoe loved the wildlife (including the bats) and markets, while I simply enjoyed everything - food, our 5 star accommodation, visiting chateaux, and snoozing in the shade. The week flew by in a flash. The only thing I would recommend is that one week is too short. Try to book 2 weeks if possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect - it was all very rustic and in keeping with the period
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply outstanding”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From the very moment of arrival our breath was taken away. My fiancee and I visited with family, our first time here, and couldn't be more delighted with the location. Surrounded by an abundance of local vineyards (plenty of opportunities for wine tasting) we got to sample some top notch quality wine.
As for the mill its self, it is just beautiful. Victoria could not be more welcoming, and our every need was catered for. Lovely big bedrooms and nicely furnished living room space, plus outdoor areas and the terrace, with wonderful views and plenty of sun throughout the day. The love and attention gone into the gardening and plant life around the property is just fantastic, and overall it is a tranquil, beautiful place to stay in. We cant wait to come back, and cannot recommend enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerseynic...
St. Ouen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great peace and Space”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An extended family visit to the area to provide our daughter's Kiwi boyfriend with a view of rural France. Our choice was perfect. We all loved the peace the Mill provided. The early morning view from our bedroom was stunning. The kitchen was a wonderful area to provide fantastic meals sourced from daily local markets. Don't miss the night markets. Great events. Thank you to host Victoria for her warmth and guidance.
We hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Huntley...
NW ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility...”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I visited the Moulin de Neuffons again this year following a holiday in 2014 with our children,

The view on arrival is breathtaking and it just gets better from every aspect as you explore the mill and its surroundings.

If you have read my reviews, you will see I am well travelled and the water mill is truly a unique and wonderful place. We noticed passers by regularly stopping their vehicles to take photographs of the river and the property from a nearby bridge.

The river Le Drot is an integral part of life at the mill, as it flows past the island where the property is sited – accessed by private bridge. The children loved to canoe along the river, fish and swim and given the summer climate in this part of the world, this is possible most days.

A Kingfisher visited us in the morning and evening, along with a variety of other birds together with the biggest heron I have ever seen. He was clearly visible making his way from giant tree to giant tree on his daily hunting expeditions.

The water mill itself has been renovated to a very high standard whilst retaining many original features.

Each of the three bedrooms has an en suite bathroom with excellent Italian double-headed power showers – a godsend when I was the only male amongst four females. The hot water supply is abundant.

The bedrooms are large with fantastic views of the river and the beds were comfortable facilitating everyone with a goods nights sleep.

The sleeping quarters are on the first floor with living quarters above. This allows a light and airy open plan living space.

The large kitchen area is well equipped with a plumbed American style fridge freezer – providing cold water and ice on tap.

We cooked daily with the local produce and the many tasty gifts from the Owner’s, Victoria’s, vegetable garden.

The mill is within an hour’s drive of Bordeaux and forty minutes from St Emillion. Although the best wines can be sourced from a number of chateau’s within a few miles of the mill. Most offering wine tasting sessions either by appointment or drop in.

Monsegur is the nearest town and has a charming feel in the central square, where each Wednesday there is a night market with stalls, music and dancing.

You can either relax or watch the world go by in the grounds of the mill, or organize a busy schedule of activities and places to visit each day. Bikes are available for hire locally and the boats together with life jackets are provided along with the mill.

It was fascinating to see children of the 21st century never miss TV, Netflix or their social media addictions.

I heartily commend this holiday rental property above all others I have visited over the past 20 years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and fabulous non-British weather
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect balance of peaceful surroundings and activities ”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house itself is not given any justice through the pictures online - in person it's pretty amazing. Plenty of space to have time to yourself and also lots of communal space to spend time together as a group. Kitchen was very well equipped, with a beautiful patio to sit on the warm nights and eat dinner. The large table inside also allowed us to avoid the showery nights we encountered during our visit. The BBQ is a great addition.

Victoria was very welcoming with generous gifts of her homegrown produce, both on arrival and throughout our stay - very welcoming indeed.

There are plenty of places to relax around the house and the canoes are great fun and very peaceful paddling upstream towards the next mill.

The local town monsegur hosted a jazz night in a local pizzeria which was lovely - the food and the atmosphere was perfect.
We were also lucky that the town hosted a night market on the Wednesday night we were staying - a variety of food and drink stalls and live music - again a perfect blend of good food and atmosphere.

Overall this accommodation was a beautiful house with lots of amenities and in a beautiful quiet and peaceful location. A rental car is a must if you want to get out and about but we spent a lot of nights in the house itself cooking and spending time as a group.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing