We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak & frites!”
Review of Bistro Regent

Bistro Regent
Ranked #554 of 2,381 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great steak & frites!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just off a central square, Place Gambetta, you have this modern, buzzing bistro with a very nice set menu: steak, duck or salmon with delicious sauce and generous chips, and a salad starter for a very good price. Yummy and convenient!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuisnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    210
    100
    53
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Trendy, young, affordable, fun”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

For a good meal at a great price with young clientele because they offer free champagne on certain nights, limited choice of wine and food but dishes are very good and great value for money - especially for pricey Bordeaux! Its an affordable 'L'Encrecote' offering good grills of steak or salmon and good salads

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It could be so is/could/ be good”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is/was/could be so good, it depends on something, not sure what! Have eaten there several times, at least 10 visits, with friends, business, etc. Inclined to be noisy and crowded, tight sitting space, very much a slick catering operation, not so much a restaurant. But for all that, the food can be nice, the staff are excellent. Worth a try and is reasonably priced

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank duinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“OK for the very reasonable price”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Following the advice of the previous reviewer we went to Bistro Regent (rue st remi branch) as L'Entrecote was still closed (date of visit: 3 oct 2011).

Although the steak from the EUR12.90 menu (170g steak + salad + unlimited skinny fries) is not a very tender cut, and the fries are definitely not cooked in duck fat as advertised, it is still very good value for the price. All in all, dinner for 2 pax including a half bottle house red and 1 dessert came up to only EUR40. Very reasonable indeed!

You can specify the doneness of your steak. My advice would be to ask for 1 notch more than what you normally eat e.g. I normally eat my steak med-rare but I found that it was a bit too rare hence making the meat super chewy (or maybe it was just the cut that was chewy).

Restaurant was quite empty when we arrived around 7pm on a monday eve and about half full when we left at 830pm. Crowd was a mix of locals and tourists. Staff speak English and there is an English menu outside the restaurant and on the wall as you enter.

We did keep wondering how much better L'Entrecote (slightly more expensive) would have been though!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Excellent Value!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were due to eat at the L'Entrecote Restaurant today and found it was closed for refurbishment, luckily for us the Tourist Board Office recommended this restaurant which was close by, (they have 3 in the area of Bordeaux) and we had a fantastic lunch for Euro 12.90 (salad, steak & sauce, unlimited crispy fries). Bordeaux house bottle white wine only Euro 12.00 and good value desserts. Friendly staff, excellent service and great locations.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Regent also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Bordeaux, Gironde
 

Been to Bistro Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing