We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great value, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I recently stayed at the BW Grand Hotel Francais in the middle of the shopping district in Bordeaux. The location cannot be beat and it is one street away from the tram in the midst of the pedestrian shopping district. The hotel was charming and well-appointed. The room was modern, newly renovated, and clean. It was a tiny room, but we didn't need much space as we were out shopping and enjoying the nightlife. The room was a real bargain, too. Breakfast came with the room and looked delicious, but we had to leave early to catch the train and didn't have time to try it. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovefrance72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 502 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Excellent location in the Centre of Bordeaux. Clean, comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast which was included in our price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Francais our last two nights in France. It was hard coming back to a hotel room after having a spacious 2 BR apartment is Sarlat. We had an early flight out and I chose this hotel specifically for its location as I didn't want to bother with parking - (very smart!). At first we were given a room on the 3rd floor which was so small you had to go outside to change your mind. We immediately returned to the front desk and were reassigned to #403 which was more spacious and comfortable and had a view of the rooftops. I like the location as all our needs and the sights we wanted to see were within walking distance and public transportation is everywhere. The hotel in on a quiet street, and being on the forth floor, we left the windows open to the street at night. This is not your plush hotel, but it is comfortable, has friendly staff, an ample buffet breakfast and is reasonably priced. Coming back to Bordeaux, I would have no problem staying here again, (in one of the larger rooms). Larry & Kelly

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My wife andd I stayed here 3 nights. The location is fine in a quiet street, right in the middle of everything, and transportation is nearby (buses and tram). I would recommend most visitors staying downtown to use public transportation, which is really excellent in Bordeaux.

The rooms are very different in size and quality, and our room was among the smallest I have ever seen. It could hardly accomodate 2 adults with normal baggage, and should only be used as a single room.

The breakfast was included in the rate and was nothing special, but ok by French standards.

We used the free wifi, which worked well in our room. If you do not bring your own computer there is a business center (=a computer with a printer) availabe, but at a pretty steep cost.

The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly, but if we go back to Bordeaux, we would probably try to find a hotel with more spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for five nights in August 2010. On two of these nights we were woken up in the middle of the night by the hotel fire alarm going off (without good reason). The staff did not seem to think that this was a problem and refused to apologise. Having not slept properly on the first night I went down to breakfast and was greated by scenes of chaos. There was no working coffee machine and they had run out of bread! The service was terrible. Our room was okay, but the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and so the bathroom was very damp. The nearby parking is also extremely expensive. This is a poor hotel which is clearly badly run and the staff have no interest in making a guest's stay enjoyable. There must be a better hotel in Bordeaux in the same price range. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Nice city centre hotel, quiet, helpful staff,close to shopping and resturants and attractions. Mid price range.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Grand Hotel Francais is 3* at best in terms of comfort and helpful staff only. Nestled in a small side street just of Place de L'Intendance, it is next to the high end shops and 'boutiques', and a large number of decent restaurants and bistros. Do try 'Le Regent' restaurant which is only a couple of minutes walk away. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel only provides breakfast and it is average at best. Nothing seemed to be fresh (apart from the orange juice you squeezed yourself) and the coffee was from a machine so not great either. There is no bar to have a pre-dinner drink, however you can buy bottles of wine from reception. The rooms are incredibly small but the bathrooms are nice and the bed was very comfortable, and tea and coffee facilities were available. DO NOT use the hotel internet as it is ridiculously expensive and the internet is ridiculously slow so you are stung in the tail from all angles. If you want location and small spend and can do without the trimmings of a decent hotel, then this is for you, otherwise, I would recommend the Grand Regent hotel which is only 3 minutes away and opposite the Grand Theatre.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#7 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 12 rue du Temple, 33000, Bordeaux, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $146 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing