We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed at the Best Western Grand Hotel Francais in Bordeaux in May 2010 together with my parents. We booked two rooms. My parents stayed in a Standing Room, which was quite large and nice. I had a much smaller Comfort Room, which was all right as a single room, but would be too small for two people (with luggage). The rooms are very clean and modern, I think that the hotel was refurbished in 2008. Location is central and within walking distance to all main tourist attraction. Breakfast was very good and I enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice.
Staff was excellent and very helpful (especially the girls at reception).

About Bordeaux - pleasant city, I would recommend taking a tour of the wine chateaux organised by the tourist office. We also went to St Emilion and took the train - the journey is long (tram to railway station, train to Libourne where you change for St Emilion, then around 25 minutes walk from the railway station to the village), but there aren't many other options (if you do not want to hire a car or take a organised tour).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Grand Hotel Francais and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    202
    67
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
254
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

The hotel is in a great location -- in the pedestrianised area very close to the main shopping area. Although that does create a problem if you are driving there -- as another reviewer has mentioned, we found it very difficult to get to it, with lots of traffic in the area, many one way streets, difficult to find the entry to the pedestrian area to take the car into etc. I guess that there is not much the hotel can do to make it easier since that is the price of the location.

Once there, the rooms were small and ok. Again, that might be to be expected in the middle of that area. We didnt get much assistance from reception; they were polite but when asked for a map, simply handed one over without a word and then resumed something else, and seemed to do their best to ignore us when we were looking at possible restaurants in the pamphlets they had there. And when we wanted to quickly check our train timetable when checking out, we were told that the computer with internet (without anyone on it of course) was 4E for 15 minutes. (I dont think any other hotel we stayed at during this holiday charged for that.)

So all in all, it was ok but most hotels we chose, often based on Tripadvisor recommendations were excellent -- at all price levels. Based on our stay, you would not have a disaster here, but would have thought that there will be places with more interest here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

We were here the begining of January and experienced Bordeaux in the snow. The staff at this wonderful boutique hotel was great with recommendations of where to go,to eat and to shop. They recommended my favorite restaurant in Bordeaux..Le Regente..... They sent us to a specialty store for olive oils,teas etc ,great museums and places to explore. We'ld come back tired and cold to have them offer tea or hot chocolate before we'ld head up to our immaculate room to rest before dinner...the kind of service you on't often receive even in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOGOAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

Great location, great value, very clean bedroom and bathroom – and so peaceful!
An absolute gem – highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catnbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

This hotel lies in a quiet area just 200meters from the main shopping street in Bordeaux.
It's about 30minutes drive from the Bordeaux Airport. Taxi cost 40-50 euros.

The hotel is small with 4 floors, small breakfast dining room and a nice little lobby.
The staff is verry pollite and helped us with everything we asked for.

Brekfast was not that good...Verry little variation, and dry bred. Its also not included. It cost 10 euros pr. day pr. person. Not worth the money! It brekfast at a brasserie is my recomandation.

The hotel is verry quiet, even though its located so close to the main streets. Great beds and a good aircondition.

The hotel has no parking and driving in Bordeaux is not that simple. Small, narrow streets with cars parked all over the place. And the public streets are closes, so you need to call a guard to get access. Taxi is recommended.

If you are going to Bordeaux for shopping, this is the place to stay.
The hotel is also close to the Tourist Office, where you can book guided wine tours.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thorsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Just beside the main shopping street, tourist office near by.
Taxi cost €28.00 from the airport, but beware the price is double on Sundays !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 12 rue du Temple, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing