We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #10 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location in a beautiful city”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel has plenty of character and is well located to experience Bordeaux. Having read other reviews about this and other centre hotels in relation to parking difficulties, I returned the hire car after touring the Dordoyne and took the Jet Bus back into the city. I would certainly recommend this. A return ticket on the Jet Bus costs €12. It stops at Place Gambetta and is an easy stroll to the hotel....even with luggage. There are so many fantastic logis de france out in the countryside that I wouldn't recommend a Bordeaux centre hotel as a touring base but it certainly worth a couple of days at the beginning or end of a trip.
I stayed in a room with a wondow to the internal shaft but this was fine for my purposes of a base to explore the city. The room was conformfortable with individual controlled aircon and wifi. Breakfast is included and was a good selection.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    205
    68
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
257
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rep of ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from a great week end in Bordeaux, we stayed in The best western grand hotel francais,on rue du Temple, it is agreat location, and right beside the main premier shopping street, also quite close to the Grand Hotel, the main square, and tourist dept. The hotel is a restored town house, beautifully kept. The staff were lovely, very friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and the staff replenished food when needed. Our room was an upgrade on the first floor, in the old part of the house, the room was large, spotlessly clean,with a large french window, the only downside was, our room was over the main front entrance, so it was possible to hear the door opening and closing, this may annoy you if you are a light sleeper.
All in all it was a lovely hotel, central location, good staff...would go back again.
anne

Room Tip: Our room was right at the front, although it is just off a main road, it was quiet at night,our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieRepOfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The property is a mixed bag of rooms: poorly updated, newly renovated, view-free, street-facing, etc. The desk staff are excellent. More details follow.

There are roughly five floors of rooms. On each floor (I think they are all the same), there are 4 rooms facing the street and 4 rooms opening only to internal air shafts. Two large corner rooms are in the back, facing only the air shafts; the other two corners (also larger) are street facing. The corner rooms appear to be larger than the others. The air shafts are roughly 4x4 meters, with probably two rooms per floor opening out to them.

At first, we were in a back corner room on a lower floor. The room, particularly the bath, did not appear to have been updated for several decades. The WC directly faced the bed. The shower and sink were a separate room from the WC. The top head of the shower didn't work - only the handheld component, which was one of those elongated styles and consequently not useful as a main shower-head. The window looking out on the air shaft, on such a low floor was terribly depressing in my opinion. My wife was not as unhappy with the room. The room was very quiet. However, I would not recommend one of the low-floor, back-corner rooms for a romantic visit.

I later asked for a front-facing room, and we were able to obtain a corner, front room. This one was newly renovated. The bath (single room) was very modern. It was separated from the sleeping quarters by a high-quality sliding glass wall (the type with a translucent layer sandwiched between two panes of glass). The only complaint about the bath was that my wife felt the glass let too much light into the room when either of us used it in the middle of the night. The bed linens and towels were reasonably new. As other guests have noted, there is some problem with street noise, even though the hotel is on a small street (connecting two of the main walking avenues). I'd recommend the owners install some of the wonderful heavily sound-proofed windows available in Europe (which seem impossible to obtain in the US...).

On a downside, the maids did not clean the rooms well. We found detritus from previous guests in the bath. Also, they do not necessarily respect the "do not disturb" signs.

Although some other reviewers complained about the breakfast, we were quite happy with it. Most notably, there is an automated machine for the guests to use for fresh-squeezed orange juice. I generally prefer to get breakfast at a cafe when in France, but because of work schedules and so on, we used the hotel breakfast repeatedly, and we quite content.

Lastly, the desk staff were uniformly excellent. They helped us with several requests - more than we usually require. Not only were they always friendly, they spent quite some time helping us with a couple difficulties. Their performance was well-above what one should reasonably expect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here in July 2010. The hotel is quite difficult to find, pretty much located down a back street. The check in was smooth, we did ask for a large room but was told ''not available''. We proceeded to our room via the hotel lift, beaware this hotel lift can only accommodate 2 - 3 very small people without luggage! Our room was very clean but very small and an odd shape at that. As we'd been following the Tour de France our bike boxes took up most of the floor space. The window looked out onto the building opposite, not nice! The hotel is located in a very central location in Bordeaux, within walking distance. We had breakfast in the hotel, and this was basic. Chioce of cereals, toast and fruit, tea or coffee and fruit juice. No hot food served. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icyclebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Located almost on the edge of the heart of Bordeaux city, it was a convenient spot to get to the shopping and museums in the city.

Parking was a little challenge (when visiting first time) as there was no near parking garage, The nearest was probably the Grande Hommes.

The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlimkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The only difficulty we faced on arrival at the Best Western Bordeaux was the parking but we were informed about it. The hotel explained us how to drive via the pedestrian area so we could drop our luggage at the reception and we then went to park in the public parking, 200 min away. Bordeaux downtown is quite stressy to drive by car but we made it.
Apart from this inconvenience that comes from the perfect location the hotel offers, our stay was very nice. The hotel is cosy, breakfast was included which is not common in French hotels and the staff was totally bilingal and very helpfully with all sort of requests and information. The price vs quality is excellent, you can walk to the river, to the nice bistros and restaurants, see many points of interests by foot, etc. We could take our dog with us as well, which was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndersGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#5 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Francais

Property: Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
Address: 12 Rue Du Temple, 33000, Bordeaux, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing