We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Francais
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2011

According to location I don't think you can outdo this hotel. Yes, it's very average but still clean, quiet and reasonably priced. Shopping, restaurants and attractions are just outside your doorstep. If you need to go further than downtown everything is easily reachable by tram.

Breakfast was ok, the basics like yoghurt, jam, fruit and croissants - and obviously paquette.. ;) A very nice touch was freshly squeezed orange juice. This French lady at the breakfast room was so sweet guiding us on how to use the squeezer.

Service was also ok, altough some of the receptionists could make an effort to look a bit happier to serve you. When checking out receptionist did everything by the book but came across as fed up.

We had a very lovely dinner in a restaurant close to the hotel on this "restaurant street", which has a bunch a places to choose from.

BTW - Bordeaux is so much nicer than Paris...! Less tourists and the city is more beautiful and original.. not to mention how romantic it is. (Let alone prices in Paris...) Will definitely visit Bordeaux again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PoppyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 500 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at the Grand Hotel Francais in Bordeaux.
It is a lovely hotel, very well located for shopping and all the sights of Bordeaux, and has a nice setting for breakfast.
Staff are helpful & friendly.
The one disappointment was probably of our making - we had booked the basic room for our stay and, simply stated, it was too small for 2 adults with luggage. Had we known in advance, we would have opted for something a little better and our expereice would have been much improved.
Would happiliy recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bordeaux - just don't opt for "basic".

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ADM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed there with my wife. Location is excellent, downtown Bordeaux but pricey for the value you get. Rooms are outdated, and charmless. Despite of the nice building everything else seems cheap, decoration is ok. On the brighter side, bed was comfortable and surroundings were ok.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izarauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGHF, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Grand Hotel Francais, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

We are sorry to read that you have been disappointed, although we constantly keep in mind the comfort or our customers. Therefore we are renovating our hotel every year step by step. We sincerely regret that you didn't find the room convenient.
We hope to welcome you again. You can be sure that we will do our best to make your stay satisfying.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

just like other euro hotel, the room is small. but, it is clean. the location is very good, we can walk to tour center and restauants and riverside. however, we are asked to pay for the breakfast which is included in our room rate. they ask us to show the paper to prove our room rate inicludes breakfast. they said the room rate doesn't include the breakfast most of the time. they are lying. on best western websit, the room rate includes breakfast all the time. also, they should have all our booking information in their computer system. there is no way they don't know we paid for the room & breakfast. I guess they just want to make more money on us since we paid for special offer which is almost 30% discount. So, be very careful and always have the booking information w/you untill finishing check-out procedure

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edge91210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I recently stayed at the BW Grand Hotel Francais in the middle of the shopping district in Bordeaux. The location cannot be beat and it is one street away from the tram in the midst of the pedestrian shopping district. The hotel was charming and well-appointed. The room was modern, newly renovated, and clean. It was a tiny room, but we didn't need much space as we were out shopping and enjoying the nightlife. The room was a real bargain, too. Breakfast came with the room and looked delicious, but we had to leave early to catch the train and didn't have time to try it. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovefrance72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Excellent location in the Centre of Bordeaux. Clean, comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast which was included in our price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Francais our last two nights in France. It was hard coming back to a hotel room after having a spacious 2 BR apartment is Sarlat. We had an early flight out and I chose this hotel specifically for its location as I didn't want to bother with parking - (very smart!). At first we were given a room on the 3rd floor which was so small you had to go outside to change your mind. We immediately returned to the front desk and were reassigned to #403 which was more spacious and comfortable and had a view of the rooftops. I like the location as all our needs and the sights we wanted to see were within walking distance and public transportation is everywhere. The hotel in on a quiet street, and being on the forth floor, we left the windows open to the street at night. This is not your plush hotel, but it is comfortable, has friendly staff, an ample buffet breakfast and is reasonably priced. Coming back to Bordeaux, I would have no problem staying here again, (in one of the larger rooms). Larry & Kelly

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 175 in Bordeaux
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
Mama Shelter Bordeaux
#6 of 175 in Bordeaux
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Francais

Address: 12 rue du Temple, 33000, Bordeaux, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Francais)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bordeaux
#15 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $142 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bordeaux
Bordeaux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing