We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel. Ideal location for chateaux visits.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good business hotel. Ideal location for chateaux visits.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel looks old and outdated from the outside but inside it has been redone. My room looks newly renovated and is ideal for business travellers: plenty of power outlets around the desk, free WIFI, easy operation of light switches, clean and simple bathroom (complete with rain shower).

Most important of all is there are plenty of parking spaces free of charge. The hotel is perfect for visiting chateaux on the Left Bank and Right Bank since it is just off the city's ring road.

I have not eaten in and around the hotel so cannot comment on the F&B aspects.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doobeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    469
    197
    45
    30
See reviews for
409
197
41
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deauville, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

At the time of my stay, there was some disruption to traffic in the area, due to the fact that a new tramway was in the process of construction. However, when this is finished, there will be convenient low cost public transport into the centre of Bordeaux. The inconvenience was minor. There was an uneven road surface at the entrance to the hotel's access road.

I thought that the restaurant menu was a bit restrictive and lacking in choice. I would have expected to see a cold meat starter, e.g. jambon de Bayonne on the menu.

The guest rooms do not have a great deal of wardrobe/closet space. However the available space is adequate for single occupancy.

The bathrooms are also restricted as regards shelf space. This can be a pain if you have a lot of medicine, supplement, cosmetic or other bottles.

This hotel was a tranquil welcome change after the construction noise that I suffered at the nearby Mercure, from which I moved !!!

The rooms facing the lake have an excellent sunset view. I will definitely stay here again next time I visit Bordeaux.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Oktopus_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Roadworks around hotel made it a little confusing to get in but no huge dramas.

As said in previous reviews this hotel does not look like much from the outside. Inside is quite inviting. Reception / restaurant area is very nice. There is a computer corner with free access to internet and an x-box for the kids to be entertained.

Room was OK - a little run down and a little dusty but had everything we needed and was surprisingly bigger than I imagined (but I was imagining a shoe box!)
A double bed and a double sofa bed for the kids (aged 12 and 10)

Free wi-fi worked well and free parking.

Check-in and out was ok. Staff were not rude but not over- friendly and did not offer any information about hotel or surrounds.

Breakfast was satisfying - scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, bread, yogurts, fruit and juices. We had breakfast included on a special rate…not sure if it is worth full cost.

Downfalls of hotel (and all Novotels in France / Spain) - Paper cups for tea / coffee.
And also this hotel only supplied 2 bath towels in a room booked for 4.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berdorf, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice hotel outside from Bordeaux in quiet area at the lake and not fare away from the city. It's location was good as I needed to be early in the morning at the exhibition center only 5 Minutes away . The rooms are modern with very spacious bathrooms. Staff very friendly. Free carparking and easy access to motorway. Regular Bus and tram service into Bordeaux city.
Not so far away from the sea, we where visiting Lacanau-Océan, very nice 3/4 hours to drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, west mids
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a totally unexpected stop over. We were on our way back from Lanzarote when the plane captain was taken seriously ill and we had to divert to Bordeaux. We eventually ended up at this hotel about 1.00 a,m. along with about 200 other passengers.

Considering that we all arrived without much warning the reception staff were excellent and allocation everyone a room as quickly as they could.

On going to reception at 8.00 a.m. to find out what the situation was with our flight, the receptionist informed us that breakfast would be served at 10.30 a.m. and that we were due to go back to the airport at 1.30 p.m.

The breakfast that was provided was excellent. The room was also first class.

I can't praise the staff enough for the way we were looked after. I am considering a longer trip to Bordeaux.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was in Bordeaux to attend a conference in september 2012 and decided to stay here because of its proximity to the congress venue. The convention centre is only a two minute walk and there is very good connectivity to the city centre.My room had a breathtaking view of the lake.The room was spacious,beds comfortable and clean and both shower and toilet spotless. The restaurant was good and the staff very friendly and English speaking. There is another nice restaurant nearby attached to Hotel Ibis which serves excellent grills.

Room Tip: Lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
Mercure Bordeaux Lac
#38 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#17 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Pullman Bordeaux Lac
#24 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Lac 1
Le Provencal
Le Provencal
#7 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bordeaux Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bordeaux Lac

Property: Novotel Bordeaux Lac
Address: avenue Jean Gabriel Domergue | Quartier Du Lac, 33300, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
#12 Business Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bordeaux Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac is located on the shores of Lake Bordeaux in the centre to the convention and exhibition precinct. An ideal location for a business trip to Bordeaux, this 3 star hotel offers 175 airconditioned rooms. The hotel also features 12 meeting rooms for your training days and seminars for up to 100 people. Enjoy the distinctively modern ambience and friendly service at our Novotel Cafe restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Bordeaux Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bordeaux Le Lac Hotel Bordeaux
Bordeaux Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing