We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Burdigala(Bordeaux)
$249
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mama Shelter Bordeaux(Bordeaux)
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$171
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$532
$406
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$116
$111
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Aeroport(Merignac)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seeko'o Hotel(Bordeaux)
$170
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
176
402
195
56
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
402
195
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred wallstour companiescity centrethe riverfitness centerhotel garageseparate toilet and bathroombus stopearly checkbuffet breakfastreception staffside streeteurosriversidewallpaperwinelac
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 864 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose this hotel as it has a garage and we thought it was nearer to the centre of Bordeaux than it actually is.It is a twenty minute walk. The Reception area is pretty grim with a large space offering poor lighting and inadequate seating. It is a hotel that felt like it is geared to travelling business people and conferences. The dining room is like a canteen and breakfast was abysmal. At 8.30 am the business people had been and gone and we were the only ones partaking. The 'hot' food (eggs sausages and bacon) were cool which we told the staff about and were offered to have our plate heated in the microwave. We declined. The fresh orange juice machine was a welcome surprise but was filthy with orange pith and skin all over the floor and was not cleaned up the whole time we were there. Staff in that area were poorly trained and the experience was not pleasant. The receptionist was courteous and when we explained that the 10 euro hot breakfast was cold she complimented our breakfast of croissants and yoghourt. We ate in Bordeaux the previous evening but the walk home was dark and
a little disconcerting however we were lucky to see a cab which we hailed. On arrival our first room freaked us out a bit as there was a large insect running around. This can happen anywhere but we naturally didn't want to stay in that room and the man on reception was quick to change us to another floor. The carpets are tired and the colour of our room was dark and everything felt dingy. It was not cheap to stay there and for 9 euros more we had an amazing stay at a brilliant 4 star hotel in Chartres the following evening. There are really no excuses for this. We hate giving negative reviews and mostly love to rave about great places we've stayed but this was such a disappointment and other travellers should not have to go through it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PishPash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Sophie ROBERT at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
We apologize for the inconvenience that this have may caused to you.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is a good choice and very central. Lacks a little character, though.
Positive features:
Good beds
Pillow choice
Hairdryer
Safe
Fridge
Free Wi-Fi in lobby
Good buffet breakfast
Central
Ironing facilities on request

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice d'exploitation at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your last stay in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to read good remarks and I was very happy to be able to congratulate my staff.
Looking forward to receiving you next time
Best regards
Sophie ROBERT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business. Free parking and free wifi good plus points. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious and clean and bed very comfortable . Only negative comment for the quality of the hotel the food was not the best I have eaten far better in 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice d'exploitation at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to receiving you next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Really close to city center : around 3 kilometres
We used city cycles (2euros per hour) just located in front of the hotel.
room on 1st floor located on the back and view on the hotel patio so quiet apart the air con noise.
the room is new but a little bit small but confortable with nice colors.
breakfast is also great with a lot of bakeries, bacon and fresh orange juice.
Just missing a smile welcome from the reception staff

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice d'exploitation at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time to share us your mind on your stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to receiving you next time,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Maybe it the location of my room, but I found my floor and room to be very dark. Just felt murky and uninviting. But, for the most part, the room and, in particular, the bathroom were very clean. The free WIFI in the room worked terribly for me, which was a drawback since I was there on business and needed regular access to the internet. WIFI seemed to work only in the hotel lobby. Staff was polite, but spoke seemed to speak very little English (which really isn’t their fault I suppose). I thought the hotel location was fine, we were able to walk 15 minutes easily to the waterfront and nearby restaurants without much hassle. I agree some of the surrounding area seems a little rundown, but walking towards the waterfront still felt safe. Ate at the hotel restaurant several times (mostly because sometimes there wasn’t another choice) and it was just OK. Not horrible, but nothing I’d write home about. All in all, this hotel fit a medium standard for me. Not the worst choice, but certainly there are better options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie R, Directrice d'exploitation at Mercure Bordeaux Chateau Chartrons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments on your last stay in our hotel.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our hotel.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews