We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would stay again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Ranked #45 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would stay again...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been staying for a couple of nights at the Mercure Hotel. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, they were very helpful and spoke good English. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom is also spacious and very clean.
Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around.
More than value for money and good location in the city. I would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aannddrraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    414
    253
    100
    33
See reviews for
137
377
66
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
france
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Unfortunately our experience in this hotel was not pleasant at all. Our room smelt like an old festering ash tray.... When we went to speak with the reception, their reply was simply that "they were full and could not do anything about it." I fully understand that it is not the receptionist fault that the room smelt disgusting, however i do believe that their customer service could be worked upon. A " sorry" or a " let me see if i can do anything to help you" would have been a good way to start! After speaking with them 3 times they did eventually give us a discount( although not very much.) However there was no real attempt to make the room smell nicer. For the price they charge, it was all very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bordeaux hotels

London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

[English below]
Comme avec la plupart des hôtels Accor, la chambre était bien équipée et avait tout ce qu'il fallait. Il y avait une certaine confusion sur le régime de parking car apparemment il faut pré-réserver le zone de l'hôtel dans l'immeuble pour profiter du mieux tariff. Ce n'est pas clair sur le site de l'hôtel et il n'était pas signalé quand on est arrivé et on a trouvé que le parking de l'hôtel était complet. Quand j'ai demandé à ce sujet, la réponse était sur la défensive, pas pour but d'aider à résoudre un problème. Quand j'ai demandé une réservation de parking pour la nuit suivante ce n'était pas un problème et le membre du personnel n'a même pas regardé pour voir si l'espace était disponible. Cela m'a donné l'impression que le personnel ne s'occupe pas vraiment du parking, qui n'a jamais semblé complet. Cela a été souligné par le fait que chaque fois que j'ai demandé quelque chose du personnel, on m'a demandé à quel groupe j'appartenais. Il me semble que l'hôtel dispose de nombreux groupes (et bravo à Accor d'avoir réussi avec ses ventes), mais peut-être le resultat est une certaine complaisance du personnel quand ils rencontrent un client individuel plutôt qu'un chef de groupe. Nous prenions le petit déjeuner chez Paul dans le centre Meriadeck qui était une meilleure qualité et une meilleure valeur.

As with most Accor hotels, the room was well equipped and had everything we needed. There was some confusion about the parking scheme because apparently you must pre-book the hotel area in the building to enjoy the better tariff. It is not clear on the website of the hotel and it was not pointed out when we arrived and found the hotel parking lot was full. When I asked about this, the response was defensive, not to help solve a problem. When I asked for a parking reservation for the next night it was not a problem and the staff member did not even look to see if space was available. It gave me the impression that staff do not really care about the parking, which never seemed full. This was emphasised by the fact that every time I asked the staff something, they asked which group I belonged to. It seems to me that the hotel has many groups (and bravo Accor to have the sales success), but perhaps this has resulted in a certain complacency amongst the staff when they meet an individual customer rather than being able to deal through a group leader. We had breakfast at the Paul in the Meriadeck shopping centre over the road as it was better food and better value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean, would stay here again. Breakfast was good, but not very exciting if you don't like a cooked breakfast.
The air conditioning was not very good, even when turned on as cold as possible and on full, the room was still too hot.
Staff at the front desk were not very helpful when asking about the location of the nearest post office, and also of how to get to the airport. They indicated a bus went from outside the hotel to the left but gave nothing further than this (it was from another road entirely), nor about how often this shuttle ran.

Room Tip: One with good airconditioning as the rooms are quite hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actuallymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Four night break in Bordeaux spent at the Hotel Mercure Centre. Hotel rooms clean and reasonably appointed apart from very poor lighting in the room itself and only one cupboard, and that on the floor. No plug near a mirror although lighting in bathroom ( shower only) was very good. Fairly handy for the centre of the city, but too far out if you have any trouble walking. Breakfast was a rather hefty 16 euros which to my mind is a bit steep for a yoghurt and a coffee. There didn't appear to be a pricing structure to hand so we took our breakfast in local cafes which was fine. One of the Paul chain bakeries can be found in the shopping centre opposite. Staff there very good.
The town itself was charming with many varied and excellent places to eat, and many lovely buildings to look at. Be warned though, if there is a religious or public holiday, the museums will be shut. Bordeaux seems to be a well kept secret. I would go again in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts. They seem to be busy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liviaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We found the staff at this hotel to be rude and very unhelpful when we were in Bordeaux to do some sightseeing. This was from check in to check out.

The rooms were fine, nothing special, bed was comfortable enough. Rooms were noisy with plenty of traffic outside.

Location was ok, easy to get around Bordeaux by foot - we had room service at the hotel which was typical big hotel food - overpriced but ok.

We'd find another place to stay if we were in Bordeaux again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Modern, clean and as a Hotel should be. The rooms were small, but effective. The rooms were all themed around famous movies, it was great for atmosphere. The resturant was very effectient, and the food servers was - good, but not excellent.
The staff was very helpful.

All the floors, and rooms, look identical. It is easy to get confused in the hotel if you cant remember the room.

Over all very quite, confortable. The bathroom is quite large for a French Hotel. The little gift parcel suppled was a great touch. cotten , needles, shoe polish.

Room Tip: stay in a higher room. If you want a double bed, ask for it clearly. I didnt have a problem, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Coolmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
#46 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#15 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bordeaux Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Address: 5 rue Robert Lateulade, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, the Mercure Bordeaux Centre hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Meriadeck business district and the city's historic center. After being elected European Best Destination 2015, 2016 saw the opening of the Cité du Vin on June 1, and the city also boasts other famous attractions. The hotel has 10 modular meeting rooms and the K'fé Lounge restaurant, which offers a modern, seasonal menu. Paying public car park and access for guests with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Centre Meriadeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing